We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guesthouse Steig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Steig
Ranked #3 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Big rooms”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This guesthouse is not in Vik---it's about 15 K East of it. Be sure you have good directions. It's in the middle of nowhere at the end of dirt road.
We had a very large nice, bright room with a sink. There is a large kitchen available for cooking & a cozy living room for guests to use. Very clean.
Breakfast is just OK...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    85
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
114
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Travelling with a baby, we needed a hub for several nights while we were exploring Southern Iceland. We've booked a room with a private bathroom, which was tidy and spacious. The owners and staff were extremely nice and helpful. We made good use of the possibility to dine at the place in the evenings, and when our crying baby didn't allow us to join the restaurant, the food was simply delivered to our room - very practical. We also took advantage the possibility to hike in the mountains just behind the guesthouse and truly enjoyed the serenity of nature that hasn't been discovered by any tourists. A couple of afternoons we had to return to the guesthouse to give our baby an opportunity to sleep properly while we could sit on the guesthouse's terrace overlooking Eyjafjallajoekull mountain that erupted in 2010 but looked very peaceful at the time of our visit. Very nice stay indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulaOla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I strongly recommend Gesthouse Steig to those visiting Vik area. It is 10 min. from Vik and located in a very nice environment. It is a real farm but with a new hotel area. The hotel building annexed to the farm is quite new. Rooms are spacious and very confortable. It has the charm and warm of a farm but the confort of a modern city hotel. The owners are very friendly and they provide an excellence service. They pleasantly printed for us some voucher pages we needed. When we said that we were leaving soon in the morning (before breakfast) they spontaneously proposed to prepare for us a "take away" breakfast to have in our way. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

It's very easy to find this charming guesthouse. The first impression may be bad but the guesthouse is very nice inside with extremely friendly people. Our room was big and it didn't disturb at all to share the toilet and shower ( totally 2) with other guests. Be aware of the warm water in shower (this is very typical on Iceland).
We ate a good dinner and we warmly recommend the good breakfast. Would like to overnight here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here back in December 2012 with my partner for one night while we travelled the southern tour of Iceland. Location was great. It's just off a long road in between 2 of the famous waterfalls and has a little lake out front. Really nice setting and the guesthouse was pretty too.
The people were lovely but make sure you know what you're booking. We thought we had a normal room but had to pay extra when we got there to have our own bathroom and even had to pay extra for quilts... The room was clean and the communal kitchen and TV room were nice. They also had a computer that we used to research if we would be able to see the northern lights which was useful.
The place had a very homey feel to it, with the family all helping out and their friendly pet dogs running around outside and in.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as a stop off while seeing the sites. It's a fair drive from civilisation though so wouldn't stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Make sure you're clear on what you have paid for as duvets and own bathrooms aren't provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Driving up we were a little skeptical. but the rooms were super clean, staff very friendly. great view of the mountains and great location. There is free Wi-Fi and a computer for all the guests to use. There is a common area and a kitchen for all the guests to use.. We had a room without a bathroom- the bathroom was right across the hall and super clean. really good water pressure. breakfast buffet was fantastic. rooms where huge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justyna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A very relaxing guesthouse within easy access of lots of amazing attractions in the Vik area. The rooms are clean, bright, spacious and comfortable. There is a common living room for guests to use as well as a kitchen to use if you want to make your own meals. You can use the fridge to keep your food and drinks cold and freeze your cooler packs. Breakfast is included and is fine, dinner is available and is well worth the extra cost. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming and so are the dogs. The guesthouse is very quiet and the views over the countryside are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
6.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
9.1 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
473 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
1.5 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guesthouse Vellir
Guesthouse Vellir
#8 of 14 in Vik
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steig

Property: Guesthouse Steig
Address: Steig, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated on a farm in Steig, 5 km from Dyrholaey Cliffs. It offers a communal kitchen and TV lounge, plus traditional Icelandic food in the restaurant. Guesthouse Steig’s rooms are decorated in light tones. Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathrooms. Some rooms offer views of the Eyjafjalla Glacier and Atlantic Ocean. A free internet computer is found at reception. Outside, children can see sheep, hens and ducks up close. Skogar Museum is 20 km from Steig Guesthouse. Shops, a swimming pool and Vik's black, basalt sand beach are 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Steig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Steig Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing