We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds!”
Review of Guesthouse Steig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Steig
Ranked #4 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in April. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The location was great for us to see the attractions in the area while giving us a comfortable place to stay at. The breakfast was high quality and plentiful, it helped starting the day with a full belly. Plus they have a couple a dogs that are nice to play with.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Corolla5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Steig
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place was perfect: great location off the Ring road on the way to Vik, lovely comfortable room with a nice bathroom and large flatscreen tv, large communal kitchen area and lounge that were homely and well-maintained. The host was very welcoming and warm, and breakfast was excellent- especially the waffles! Good price in keeping with other similar guesthouses. Overall, very enjoyable stay and would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

No much choices at Steig. The price is high but a very good hotel. Its off the main road and with 2km unpaved road. A great place to see sunset in summer evening. Breakfast is very good but don't be so early. A full kitchen on site for you to cook. A breakout room with comfortable sofa provide a relax area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnnyGou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A good clean place to stay. It's fairly close to the Skogarfoss waterfall and the Dryholaey peninsula but a bit remote from the main town of Vik. The breakfast was good.

I was going to stay here again later in my trip but suddenly the room price had doubled so I stayed instead in the hostel in Vik which was a lovely place to stay with the most helpful owner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great location very near Geyser and other natural attractions. Try dinner in the restaurant. There's a big glass window that overlooks the feeding area for the cows (this is a working farm) everyone was so nice. And the property has been in the family for generations.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. The guesthouse is on a farm about 16 kilometres out of Vik. To get to the guesthouse you need to drive for about 2 km on a gravel road off the main ring road. The rooms were quite spacious and nice. Friendly staff. Got to breakfast late and there wasn't much left, except for a bit of toast. A nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Arrived here 10pm at night and the owner was still awake and extremely friendly. She didn’t mind that we came that late, she was actually worried for us. We were soaked after walking behind Seljalandsfoss and she told us we could use the shoe dryer at her place. We even told her that we were going to check out at 7am the next day and she said we would have to pay for the place now and she would give us breakfast now even though it started at 8am the next day. She gave us prepared sandwiches and fruits. Very accommodating of her and her husband. Her husband gave us fresh coffee. This place is really nice. They have wooden floors, dressers, and tables. The windows block out the loud winds very effectively. I couldn’t hear anything while sleeping at night. There are also tons of plugs in the room. Definitely have no issues in charging ALL of your devices. The bathroom is very clean. I did not see any mildew anywhere in the shower stall. Only thing you have to be aware of is that there’s no door for the shower stall. It’s just a curtain that separates the shower stall from the sink and toilet. Also, there is tons of kitchen counter space. Other than that, this place is awesome. No password for the internet and they have at least 2 routers that covers the length of the entire building. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again!

Garmin GPS Coordinates: N 63.45555° W019.17915°

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mystiqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
6.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
9.1 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
550 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Farmhouse Lodge
Farmhouse Lodge
#2 of 11 in Vik
107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steig

Address: Steig, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range: £113 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated on a farm in Steig, 5 km from Dyrholaey Cliffs. It offers a communal kitchen and TV lounge, plus traditional Icelandic food in the restaurant. Guesthouse Steig’s rooms are decorated in light tones. Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathrooms. Some rooms offer views of the Eyjafjalla Glacier and Atlantic Ocean. A free internet computer is found at reception. Outside, children can see sheep, hens and ducks up close. Skogar Museum is 20 km from Steig Guesthouse. Shops, a swimming pool and Vik's black, basalt sand beach are 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Steig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Steig Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing