We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Guesthouse Steig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Steig
Ranked #4 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A nice alternative to staying in Vik -but only if you have a car. Plenty of room to stretch out in private and common areas. We only stayed here one night but you could easily stay here long term as there's lots of places (inside and out) to lounge around. The location is near many interesting sights and just a few miles west of Vik. The accommodations look fairly new and were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good -plenty of food and coffee to keep you going.

Room Tip: You can get a room facing either the hillside (not much of a view but darker for long summer nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in june with our boys, age 6 and 8. The property has many opportunities for little boys to play in the river in back, take a walk in the hillside, and play with the dogs. The owners and staff are incredibly friendly, rooms are comfortable, and the access to a full kitchen at the hotel was fantastic for a two week trip. My family didn't want to leave. The location is a bit of a drive to Vik, but it is centrally located to hit other areas such as the waterfalls and several hikes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This guesthouse is just off route one near Vik, the location is quiet and near some important bird nesting places. We found the prices reasonable and the service perfect. They provide a nice simple but complete breakfast and allow guests to use a common area kitchen space to prepare their own meals. The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. I would stay here again. An added bonus is the family dogs also greet you when you check in. They are well behaved and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in April. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The location was great for us to see the attractions in the area while giving us a comfortable place to stay at. The breakfast was high quality and plentiful, it helped starting the day with a full belly. Plus they have a couple a dogs that are nice to play with.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Corolla5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place was perfect: great location off the Ring road on the way to Vik, lovely comfortable room with a nice bathroom and large flatscreen tv, large communal kitchen area and lounge that were homely and well-maintained. The host was very welcoming and warm, and breakfast was excellent- especially the waffles! Good price in keeping with other similar guesthouses. Overall, very enjoyable stay and would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

No much choices at Steig. The price is high but a very good hotel. Its off the main road and with 2km unpaved road. A great place to see sunset in summer evening. Breakfast is very good but don't be so early. A full kitchen on site for you to cook. A breakout room with comfortable sofa provide a relax area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnnyGou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A good clean place to stay. It's fairly close to the Skogarfoss waterfall and the Dryholaey peninsula but a bit remote from the main town of Vik. The breakfast was good.

I was going to stay here again later in my trip but suddenly the room price had doubled so I stayed instead in the hostel in Vik which was a lovely place to stay with the most helpful owner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
6.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
9.1 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
580 reviews
6.1 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steig

Address: Steig, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range: £113 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated on a farm in Steig, 5 km from Dyrholaey Cliffs. It offers a communal kitchen and TV lounge, plus traditional Icelandic food in the restaurant. Guesthouse Steig’s rooms are decorated in light tones. Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathrooms. Some rooms offer views of the Eyjafjalla Glacier and Atlantic Ocean. A free internet computer is found at reception. Outside, children can see sheep, hens and ducks up close. Skogar Museum is 20 km from Steig Guesthouse. Shops, a swimming pool and Vik's black, basalt sand beach are 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Steig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Steig Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing