We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, modern, friendly”
Review of Volcano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A fantastic overnight stay at this bed & breakfast. Great food, fantastic wifi, modern and unique interior, and a super-friendly owner couple who took us around the area to the coast, glaciers and took great care of us ..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Dan.
On behalf of the owners and our small group of staff, I would like to thank you for your kind review. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying with us and be sure we´ll take as good care of you next time you visit ;).
Kind regards
Thyri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We really enjoyed our second hotel in Iceland, we thought it could only go down after our first very good hotel (fire and frost), but Volcano was great too! The staff was very very friendly and helpful, room was spacious and very clean, beds were perfect. Evening dinner was good value for money. Breakfast was good, quite some choice, oh and home made bread, also for dinner. We just really love these small hotels with so much personal touch, you feel the positive atmosphere from the staff (blond and brunette on wednesday aug 7th) reflecting in everything. Thanks for a great stay.

Rob and Monique

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank robertmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear reviewer.
Thank you for giving yourself a time to write about us. We are thankful that you liked the stay with us and the food you got during your stay ;). And we are also fans of Fire and Frost, and we often recommend it to our guests when their heading back from us and haven´t booked anything. We certainly hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was a great choice for a one night stopover during our one week Ring Road itinerary!
We left Reyjavik in the morning and did the Golden Circle Route, stopped at the Seljalandsfoss and Skógarfoss waterfalls and Dyrholaey to see puffins and felt this was the perfect location to end the day’s drive.

This hotel is small and isolated but right on Rt 1 and very easy to find.
Although the rooms are basic and sparse, they are super clean, modern and spacious.
There was no coffee/tea in the room but there was a coffee/tea maker in the public area 24/7 (hot chocolate as well).
The wifi was free and reasonably fast.
The beds and linens were comfortable. The bathroom was nice, spotless and the shower was great!
We stayed in room #6 which was on the end and had it’s own separate door leading right out to the parking lot. This was convenient since we were able to park our car right outside our door which made for very easy loading/unloading luggage since the lot is gravel (not good for rolling suitcases).

Our room did have curtains and shades to block out the light....previous reviews said some rooms don’t - so bring a sleep mask in case in summer ;)

The included breakfast was good with a decent selection of breads, crackers, cereals, fruits, cheese, cooked eggs and waffles.

The staff spoke English and were very friendly and helpful with sightseeing tips.

We especially appreciated the tips of making sure to see Reynisfjara and Fjarðárgljúfur.

Reynisfjara is a black pebble beach with towering basalt columns. This was a real treat! If you’re a rock collector you could spend hours here! And the columns are so unique!
To get to Reynisfjara from Volcano Hotel travel east on Rt 1 for 6.6km, turn right on Rt 215 and take it 5.6km to the end (the beach). There is a car park and you’ll see the basalt columns after a very short walk.

And Fjarðárgljúfur is a beautiful hidden gem of a canyon that is apparently often overlooked by locals and tourists alike but you should make time for a stop of 30 minutes at least!
From Volcano Hotel to Fjarðárgljúfur, travel east on Rt 1 for about 77km. There is a sign on the south side of the road that says Fjarðárgljúfur but the actual road to get there is further up on the north side of Rt 1. Look for the sign that says Hunkubakkar (it will be on your left if you are driving east) and turn left. Drive about 2km and you’ll get to the car park where you will see a beautiful river. There is a trail to view the canyon from above and you can also walk a bit along the river or even cross it as the water level is only about mid-calf deep (or at least it was when we were there).
Special thanks to the woman at reception (sorry I didn’t get her name) that gave us these two tips! We loved these 2 sights!!

One other tip...do not miss Dyrholaey! Some beautiful cliffs and arches along the coast and lots of puffins!
It is at the end of Rt 218 which is 1km west of the Volcano Hotel then a 6.4km drive to the end of the road. We went in the afternoon before arriving at the hotel and saw many puffins and other birds in the water. Since it is so close to the hotel we went back the next morning and saw a whole colony of puffins nesting in the rocks right off the car park!! We were able to get really close and get some great pictures of them!! It was worth the extra trip back!

This hotel is an excellent choice for a stop along the Ring Road!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you so very much for your kind and thorough review - it will be a huge help to our future guests as the tips concerning the area and spots to visit are great!
On behalf of the owners and our little group of staff, I am happy you enjoyed staying with us as we always try our best to make our visitors feel comfortable and at ease when staying at our place :). We honestly hope you visit us again someday!
Thyri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We drove past at first as it doesn't look like a hotel, pity we didn't just carry on driving. It is grey, drab and looks like an old English sanatorium from the 1950's. We checked in and the first impression is "it's okay" with rather quirky flooring made from what looks like lava dust covered with a shiny top. Then we got shown the room! No wardrobe just a hanging rail dead opposite the door. No mirror in the bedroom either. There were dead flies hanging from a cobweb in the window and a further couple dead on the window sill (still there when we left two days later) The windows in the bathroom were filthy, but this isn't surprising as they are so high up you couldn't reach to open and close them let alone clean them. The shower was the length of the wall with a ghastly curtain, the water after a shower was all over the bathroom and stayed like that all night so in the morning we had to paddle and use the rug as a mop. The shower area was slimy and nasty and the ceiling very mouldy. The receptionist told us dinner was charfish and at 7.30.!!! The dining room (restaurant is too good a word) consists of three tables under the window and big table in the middle of the room all sporting a vase of artificial flowers. At the side is a settee and coffee table. The military style meal was actually delicious but on the second night we (obviously) chose to go to Vik to eat (good choice) Having said that, the staff are very nice and there is a constant supply of coffee and sometimes biscuits in the dining room. The breakfst was disgusting, cold fried eggs and we had to get our own cutlery, plates and serviettes as the'd all gone by 9.15. (Breakfast was supposed to be until 9.30)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear guest.
On behalf of the owners and the staff, I am very, very sorry to read that you did not like staying with us. I wish we could have done something for you during your stay, to make it more positive and comfortable experience, as we truly always try our best to do.
The house is actually built in 1967 and used to serve as a primary school for the area - there for the house looks rather simple on the outside as you rightfully point out. And having experienced volcanic eruption and the ash falls afterwards, we wanted somehow to link that experience into the interior design. The floors are actual volcanic rocks from the black beach in the area and we have found it to be appreciated by our guests, especially when they ask about the idea behind the floor design.
I agree that both the window and the bathroom ceiling in the room needs to be repainted and we haven´t been able to repaint it during the high season as the strong smell of lacquer might be even more of a bother to our guests. But I assure you we will fix it and make it nicer for our future guests. The simple design of the "closet" is related to the whole design of the room - and on our website it is described as an "open wardrobe" - travelers have liked the idea as it is very easy to pack and unpack. But of course it is very understandable that some like other and more traditional design of a closet, as one taste is different to the other.
We do say on our official website, that we are NOT a restaurant - we simply offer "course of the day" to our guests for their own convenience - so they won´t have to drive to the village when staying with us. And being such a small unit as we are, we have limited number of staff and there for dinner is always served at the same time for everybody, at 19:30 - which might not be everybody´s favorite timing for dinner, we understand that completely.
We are more then happy to fry new eggs, bake fresh waffles, make warmer coffee or what ever our guests might need during breakfast hours and I am very sorry our staff member did not notice that the table needed newly fried eggs. But if she would have been asked she would have been happy to do that, with a smile on her face.
Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy the stay with us - but we certainly take note of your points and we´ll fix what need to be fixed to be sure that our future guests will have positive experience with us.
I do hope you enjoyed travelling around our beautiful country and wish you all the best.
Thyri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on or second night in Iceland and it lived up to all the positive reviews. The location is excellent, near to the puffin cliffs and just of highway 1 (which is very very quiet). We ate in the hotel (Arctic char) and the food was excellent, with them going out of the way to handles my wife's dairy intolerance. They are very welcoming and the rooms are very comfortable. Out daughter didn't want to leave. Oh yes, and waffles for breakfast yum.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you kindly for your review, we are thankful that you gave yourself a time to review us.
I am also very happy to hear your daughter´s point of view as we try our best to treat the little ones with all our respect. And if we know about any dietary matters one might have, we try our best to meet and solve that in anyway we can ;).
Hopefully you will all come again for a visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This place is great! The rooms are very nice and modern, the setting is beautiful, the service is warm friendly and helpful and the food was good too. I arrived late to breakfast and the owner was nice enough to offer to make fresh eggs and waffles. The place is just 10 minutes west of Vik off of highway 1. All in all you can't ask for a better accommodation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie3613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you for giving yourself time to write a review - and thank you for your kind words towards our little place :). Two of the things one requires when travelling, is a good bed to sleep in and good nutrition for further travelling. We try our best to provide our guests with this and if one sleeps in, we are more then happy to provide him with freshly baked waffles and warm eggs ;).
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My family of 4 stayed 3 nights, ate in the hotel on 2 of the 3 nights and went on the volcano trip run from the hotel. Don't be put off by the outside of the building, the inside of the hotel and the rooms are lovely and imaginatively decorated. Both the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. The owners and all the staff were very welcoming, helpful and nice people to be around. The trip up the volcano was as special as you would expect and perfectly pitched for our group. This hotel and its owners deserve all the praise they get.

Room Tip: We used two rooms and from what I could see there are no ones to avoid. The front rooms have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you kindly for your review and we are happy you enjoyed staying with us.
Your kind words towards us the people behind the place are so appreciated and we hope you will visit us again someday. We are also happy you were able to go on the Volcano tour, as it always relies on weather if it is possible to go up there or not - so we are happy you got such great day :).
Warmest regards from all of us at the Volcano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
5.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
8.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
568 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
294 reviews
4.8 mi away
Guesthouse Carina
Guesthouse Carina
#3 of 14 in Vik
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hotel

Address: THjodvegur | Ketilsstadaskoli, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range: £146 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Hotel is a very nice country hotel in the area of Mýrdalur valley, by the southern most tip of Iceland. We have only 7 spacious and beautiful rooms at the hotel, the rooms are decorated in Scandinavian style, with hard wood floors and light interiors. All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, shampoo, soaps and a hairdryer. There is a nice lounge/dining room with a bar at Volcano Hotel and dinner is available for our guests, if it is booked in advance - latest the morning of your arrival. We take price in offering a personal service and know the importance of meeting a local, so do chat with us and ask us about anything in Iceland - we're happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Volcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing