We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Iceland Adventure”
Review of Volcano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“South Iceland Adventure”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We hired a car from the airport so we could tour the south coast. Within this review, I'll be discussing all hotels.

Day 1
Our first stop was the volcano hotel in Vik, which took about 3 hours. The roads are very quiet and easy to navigate everywhere. The volcano hotel is a complete gem, the rooms are nice and modern.

Day 2
The following day we went out with Johann to the Eyja......volcano. We scrambled up in the snow which was lots of fun, although we didn't make it to the top. This was definitely a memorable highlight. We then travelled 4 hours further east to Hofn where we stayed at Smyrlabjorg. The drive here was stunning with the snow capped mountains and frozen lakes. We even saw the northern lights on our journey. The hotel here was faultless. The rooms were clean and spacious. Food was also nice.

Day 3
We started driving back west and stopped off at Jokulsarlon. This is where the glacier and icebergs are. It is one of the most beautiful natural places I've ever seen. It was so calm and quiet, apart from the seals making noise. This was also a highlight for me. We continued our drive for another 3 hours to stay at hotel ranga.

Hotel ranga was the most expensive and luxurious hotel of the trip. Staff were all welcoming. We stayed in room 10, which overlooked the hot tub, which was our first stop watching the sun go down. The food here was amazing, similar price to a meal in London, but better quality of food. The staff wake you up if the northern lights come out, but they didn't.

Day 4
We drove to gulfoss, which is a waterfall partly frozen. It was very cold and windy, but worth seeing. While up there we went snow mobiling, higher up in the mountain. It was beautifully cold and fun. We then visited the geysir where the main one spouts water in the air every 20minutes.

We spent another night at hotel ranga. Unfortunately, we still had no wake up call.

Day 5
Drive back towards the airport. On our way, visited the blue lagoon. It was very packed and touristy. I think it would be ideal if perhaps you went later in the day when quiet.

Overall, we had such an amazing experience in Iceland and will remember this adventure forever. I definitely recommend a road trip rather than going with a group as you can so much more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenzyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear JenzyEssex.

Thank you kindly for your detailed review of your travel and I am sure it will be a lot of help for our future guests.
It was lovely having you staying with us at the Volcano Hotel and I do hope you visit us again someday!

Kind regards
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    66
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
255
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We loved the big family room we stayed in and our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed the dinner prepared for us and so did our children.
The hotel is situated in a beautiful scenic part of Iceland with a view of the volcano. It was easy to find and great for visiting Vik, the Sólheimajökull glacier tongue and many breathtaking waterfalls. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBOCONNELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear SBOCONNELL and family.
Thank you kindly for your review - we love having families staying at our place and it makes us happy you all liked our little place :).

Hope to see you all again someday!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

we stayed only 1 night, it was fairly quiet, and although they didn't tell us, going by the photos of the rooms it seems they had given us an upgrade which was very nice. rooms are beautiful, great bathrooms too, big comfy beds and big picture windows. just a little bit cold, though, more so in the bathroom. we had a meal in the hotel and it was lovely, very good quality for the money. would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Paul_Yvonne.
Thank you kindly for your review and I am really happy you liked staying with us and gave yourself time to write the review.
The room is one of two of the superior rooms in our hotel and has as you point out an amazing window with great view to the south and the ocean in the distance.
I agree with you that it can be a bit cold, especially in the bathrooms but we have been working on improving that in January and February 2014, so next winter it will hopefully be better :).
But I am sure that the comfy eiderdown covers, came in handy during the night ;).

We hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is about 12km out of Vik, just off the ring road. It was originally a school and has been converted to a small hotel. The owners make you feel most welcome and can tell you about Iceland and the area in general. The rooms were large and clean with opening windows. Tea and coffee are available all day long in the lounge area. We also had dinner here on the first night as we were unsure what would be available in Vik. As it turned out there was quite a lot of choice to eat in Vik itself, so we ate in Vik on the second night. We found it a good base to explore the area. Wifi was also included.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greynomad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Greynomad16
Thank you for your review, we really apreciate it.
Vík the village has a lot to offer and it is a good thing you mentioned that there are many options to dine there - especially during the summer time. The locals have been doing a lot and increasing the service for possible visitors and they´re doing a good job :).
And you are right about the location of Volcano hotel, even though we are in the country side, it is a great base for exploring the south.

Hope to see you again and all the best to you!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Volcano Hotel for one night in November.We were pleasantly surprised as we were upgraded to the room facing the Atlantic Sea.Thyri really made us feel so welcomed and prepared a delish meal during dinner.
The room was huge and very clean.another plus point was having a strong connection to the Wifi.
Breakfast?oh what a spread we had..in a nutshell,we will definitely stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for the room that faces the Atlantic Sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashekee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Dashekee.
Thank you so much for your kind words towards our little place - we are so happy you enjoyed staying with us :).
And thank you kindly for posting the photos as I and my co-owners feel it is very important that our future guests can see what they might expect.

Hope to see you again!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel was truly one of the highlights of our trip in Iceland. - We loved everything about the hotel: cleanliness, room, the breakfast, the location but above all the service from the owners/staff. - I recall Thyri was specially courteous and helpful. She provided recommendations on places to visit like the black beach, and other relatively close attractions. Everyone made an extra effort to ensure we had a good time, and that everything was nothing if exceptional.

We are planning another trip to Iceland to see the northern lights, and I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book with time. - This is a gem boutique hotel that fills up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponchohg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear ponchohg
Thank you kindly for your review - we are thankful that you liked staying with us.
We truly make our best so our guests feel welcomed and it makes us extremely happy, when we succeed ;).
Hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay here in November 2013. Our room was spacious and comfortable with fast wifi. They provide a helpful list of local attractions, and we visited all the sights they recommended- enjoying each and every one if them.

We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights. The first night was arctic char and the second was chicken. Both were delicious and the Arctic char was by far the best meal we ate in Iceland the entire trip. Also, they served amazing homemade bread before the meals. Breakfast each morning was very good and they have coffee and tea available all the time (which was appreciated after a cold day of sightseeing).

The staff was kind and friendly and we were lucky enough to see an amazing display of Northern Lights on our second night. We hope to return to Iceland in the summer sometime and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Likesthecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Likesthecold.

Thank you kindly for your great review, we are really happy you liked staying with us.
Thank you for mentioning the points of intrests that are to be found in the rooms, it is important that our guests get to see the most beautiful places in the area - you can get the photo of your life and shouldn´t miss it ;).
We take pride in our meals and like many other guests you mention the arctic char as nr. 1 meal in whole Iceland. Well, it is very easy to make it delicious as it is as fresh as one can get it, from a fish farm just minutes away from us.
We do hope you visit again, it would be lovely to see you!
Kind regards
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
5.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
8.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
532 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
274 reviews
21.6 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
273 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hotel

Property: Volcano Hotel
Address: THjodvegur | Ketilsstadaskoli, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Hotel is a very nice country hotel in the area of Mýrdalur valley, by the southern most tip of Iceland. We have only 7 spacious and beautiful rooms at the hotel, the rooms are decorated in Scandinavian style, with hard wood floors and light interiors. All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, shampoo, soaps and a hairdryer. There is a nice lounge/dining room with a bar at Volcano Hotel and dinner is available for our guests, if it is booked in advance - latest the morning of your arrival. We take price in offering a personal service and know the importance of meeting a local, so do chat with us and ask us about anything in Iceland - we're happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing