We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest hotel in Iceland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hofdabrekka

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is the best family hotel in Iceland.
I have been several times with them, and the place, service, food is just superb.
They are always trying to help as much as possible, always with a smile and everything for a very fair price.
I really recommend it if you need to sleep in Vík.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChusMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    155
    83
    11
    2
See reviews for
52
171
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went with a 100 women choir and stayed the weekend. We had excellent food, superb service and the room was very nice. Everything so clean and the staff so attentive. Couldn´t recommend it enough. We used the big hall for choir practise and a party on saturday night. This is a great hotel for big gatherings. Since we were very busy we didn´t get to use the gym but we used the hot tub late at night and watched the stars.

Room Tip: I stayed in house nr.3, room 58.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eydis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night during the first week of Sept (just outside peak season). The hotel is set up in several long buildings with an entry into a central social area with couches and tables. Rooms are off a long hallway on either side of the gathering area. The noise people complain about is probably from groups gathering in the social area in each building. When we were there, there was a tour group staying in our building. Our room was about 1/3 of the way down the hallway. We did hear a little conversation after dinner and heard our neighbors bumping into furniture, but things quieted down after 10:30. The rooms were large, clean, and he area was quiet. Being that it was the cheapest hotel in the area by far, I think it was a great deal. The hotel is 5 km East of Vik and the restaurant looked questionable, so I suggest having a car ready so you don't get tethered ti staying at the hotel for anything other than breakfast. Breakfast was enjoyable -there's a waffle iron!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The touring in the south is just simply amazing and this hotel was perfectly located where little options are available. Its location made touring a little easier for planning and rest. The rooms are located in out buildings - pre-fab'ed. Our room was very clean to include the bathroom and the bedding was fresh/updated. No air-conditioning but windows can open - but no screens (This seems everywhere though). We had a nice view of the mountainside. We were greeted very nicely at check-in and after a long day of driving, we went directly to the bar. Nice staff. The buffet dinner food was a little disappointing as we expected a large variety of fish given our surroundings. We inadvertently had "horse" that was not well marked as an appetizer from the buffet while at the bar (a bit disturbing for me). The chef also encouraged us to try whale (mink). Not sure why they want to push this given we are all tourists. The breakfast was much better with fresh baked special breads, etc. Overall, I would stay there again because of its location, clean rooms, and bar. Given other reviews about the buffet dinner, I recommend to the owner they add more local fish and lose the horse and whale unless there is a large draw for this by those visiting.

Room Tip: Mountain view better than ocean view as its across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroadlesstaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is for large tourist buses and large groups. Rooms are set in what looks like military base buildings. Rooms are okay, very noisy, thin walls.
They had a nice hot pot, breakfast was not appealing and staff was not overly friendly.


I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Located in the country at a very nice location out in the middle of nowhere.
Couple buildings each with several rooms, each very clean and comfortable with wood panelling. Beds great. Large room. Lovely bathroom.
Restaurant had a nice dinner buffet (pricey like all over the island) and excellent breakfast. Items labelled so you knew what interesting choices were made of.
Huge outdoor hot tubs. Staff friendly.
Would definitely recommend this property. It is different & attractive just like Iceland is somewhere different and beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel Hofdabrekka in the south part of Iceland is a good place to stay. Is in a nice location, rooms are comfortable and clean and stuff friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is good enough and dinner also. The place is quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zettaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
0.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
8.0 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofdabrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofdabrekka

Property: Hotel Hofdabrekka
Address: Hoefdabrekka, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofdabrekka 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hofdabrekka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofdabrekka Hotel Vik
Hotel Hofdabrekka Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing