We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice, just a bit costly, considering”
Review of Hotel Hofdabrekka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vik
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Quite nice, just a bit costly, considering”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, where we stayed for one night, to anyone: it's warm, clean, and comfortable, the rooms are large, it has a decent number of amenities like a coffee pot and hairdryer, blackout curtains, tv with a fair number of channels, plus laundry service for 40USD per bag (!), and it has a fantastic view of the troll stacks on Vik beach, the knotty pine is also pretty, and each room is on the ground floor with a well-appointed great room. It's a good place to recharge, in short. Also, the restaurant is convenient for breakfast and is included in the hotel price.

But there wasn't all that much that I can point to that was particularly special about this hotel, and for the price, I therefore cannot justify giving it four stars. While it didn't perform bells and whistles, it was a good hotel with pleasant staff. I thought the hot pot was so small as to be a bit silly and didn't use it. The large front yard is actually pleasant to spot birds in at night. A fine hotel overall. Lots of tour groups, but they did not trouble us any due to how the rooms were divided up over a good deal of space.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    158
    84
    11
    2
See reviews for
52
171
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is located just 3 kms outside of Vik. Very scenic location, good breakfast which is included, large modern rooms, WiFi included. Hot tub. About 3 kms fm Vik city center & from blck sand beach. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Look: Vik will be destroyed any day now. Meanwhile, the Hofdabrekka is a lovely place to stay. Easy parking, clean sheets and whatnot… Great breakfast. I wanted to tell the lady at the front desk that

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment I contacted them I found the warm welcome atmosphere from the staff that you look for when travelling away from home. Located few km. from the nearest town has disadvantage for those that want to walk around town but for those that like to be in the quiet countryside, this is the place. The rooms were clean and spacious not the modern type but the beds were very comfortable and I slept well. The breakfast table was with some variations, traditional for Icelandic country hotels. Don't forget the hot tub, perfect relaxing after an active day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BjarniBryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The first appearance might be deceiving and often is. Inside the buildings there are comfortable rooms decorated in knotty pine paneling with comfortable beds and a good WIFI. Outside it was rainy and windy. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was hearty including make it yourself waffles which always involves pouring too much batter into the iron. Even in cold and windy conditions there was always a group of hardy souls in the hot tubs. The walls are thin and it is possible to hear conversations or loud chatter in the next room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here after hiking Fimmvordehals - we wanted a hot shower, a hot pot, and a soft bed. We got all three. The highlight was the hot pot for sure, beautifully situated outdoors, and a great place to swap travel tips with other guests. You can have a drink there if you like too.
The room we had (#39) was on the small side, and the wood panels could be either musty/old or charming, depending on your mood. But beds were comfortable and the shower was fine, so no complaints there. The breakfast spread was generous, with good fresh bread, porridge, skyr, etc.
We thought it would be a cheesier sort of place because it's geared for tour buses but we ended up being happy with the stay and feeling like it was good value in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkielpinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We chose this because it was one of the more affordable options between Vik and Skaftafell Park, and we enjoyed the onsite hot pots (with a drink from the bar in hand, gazing out at the sea). The dinner and breakfast were excellent, and the rooms were comfortable enough. The only downside to this place is that it's built for the tour bus crowd and can get busy quickly when the bus arrives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
1.7 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
533 reviews
4.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
4.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
275 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
147 reviews
168.3 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#4 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofdabrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofdabrekka

Property: Hotel Hofdabrekka
Address: Hoefdabrekka, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofdabrekka 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hofdabrekka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofdabrekka Hotel Vik
Hotel Hofdabrekka Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing