We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel environment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vik HI hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vik HI hostel
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Vik
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hostel environment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

My friend and I traveled throughout Iceland for 8 days in October. This was our favorite place to stay as it is very homey and friendly. The staff was always nice and helpful and the other guests were the same. The rooms are basic hostel rooms. The hostel itself isn't that big and because there are not a lot of accommodation options nearby, it was fully booked one night we stayed there. We were not traveling at a high season at all and not staying on a weekend either so it might be a good idea to book ahead.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newplacesnewfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    62
    42
    17
    5
See reviews for
24
50
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed 1 night in September in this fairly nice hostel with friendly staff. We had a private double room. Our room was very small, but adequate, although noisy at times in the night because it shared a wall with the bathroom. I think rooms number 8, 9, 10 or 11 would be better. Paid about 55-60gbp for the room with breakfast, we had our own sleeping bags though so sheets would incur extra cost. We ate at the pub in Vik, there are only a few choices, which was fine, but nothing special, 2 mains and 2 drinks were about 35gbp.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Very clean place with friendly and helpful service. We had a double room which was priced very well (in low-season September). The place was not quite full booked, but the kitchen was very small and bathrooms were few, so at popular times there was a queue for the showers and the stove. Proximity to hiking spots and glacier tours is the main draw of Vik, and for that it is well worth rubbing elbows with boisterous Germans while trying to cook dinner. Warning to all: The bottle shop in Vik is open only one hour per day (5-6pm) in "winter" (Sept-May).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuquesouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I was hitchhiking all around Iceland in the coldness of April, and this place was one of the most friendly place I saw around the country, since it was one of the first time I met people on my way... ahah. You will love it if you are looking for a good quality / price rate, as a backpacker, solo (like me) or between friends. It could be a little bit more problematic for the intimacy of a family or a couple. But you have to remember that it is a YOUTH Hostel!
The area is cool as well, my advice would be to go at the top of the cliff just next to the village and go in the opposite direction of the sea at the top. If you survive to the wind, you will be the last guy of the world, with an amazing view on the Eyjafjallajökull and the glacier if the sky is blue! (no difficult points to pass, just need good shoes & correct weather).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valdotkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Cute place with a rustic feel. Take your shoes off in the corridor and make yourself at home. Dining area makes it easy to socialize with other travelers. Not much else in Vik, but this place is totally fine and suitable. We booked a glacier hike through the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audiotransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Vik was the only hostel open for miles around in November. The staff were friendly and attentive (and cooked excellent pancakes for breakfast). The hostel was clean and warm despite the exposed and very cold and windy location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittiwakeKittiwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Before I went to the Youth Hostel in Vík, I read some of the comments here in the internet and, to be honest, expected the worst.
But then I entered the warm, cozy lobby that looks more like a living room than like a lobby, checked in at the reception with the very young lady who owns the hostel, who told me about what they had for breakfast (fresh waffles! homemade sirups! mhhhh) and about the price for the breakfast, which is lower than in the other hostels I've been to and the breakfast itself was a lot better than the breakfasts I've had in those - and I wasn't that convinced about how bad the hostel really is anymore.
I took one bed in a dormitory room for one night. It is just what a youth hostel is like - there's a pillow and they leave it up to you if you want to rent bed linen or not. There's nothing special to say about the room, except for the stunning view you have from the big window in room no.9.
I really got on well with the hostel staff, was very satisfied with everything I found and think that the negative comments about the hostel are not really justified. Unfortunately, I was only able to stay one night ... but I would've loved to see some more of the cozy little village Vík and its beautiful black lava beach, surrounded by cliffs with the glacier Myrdalsjökull in the background.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarigueya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
0.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Carina
Guesthouse Carina
#4 of 14 in Vik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.2 mi away
Guesthouse Vellir
Guesthouse Vellir
#8 of 14 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vik HI hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vik HI hostel

Property: Vik HI hostel
Address: Nordur-Vik Sudurvikurvegur 5 | Mýrdal, Vik 870, Iceland (Formerly Youth Hostel Vik)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Vik HI Hostel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing