We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and beautiful”
Review of Vik HI hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vik HI hostel
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Vik
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Friendly and beautiful”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

6 beds dorm room is not too small with a big window overlooking the beautiful hillside, just a min drive from the Vik town (petrol station) up to the mid of the hill.

Share bathroom on each floor, fully equipped and good size kitchen. They have 3 lovely dogs .The hostel itself is beautiful and cozy... Wifi can only be connected outside the room.

Highly recommeded

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    63
    43
    17
    5
See reviews for
25
50
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Location was excellent. Facilities were average, with one bathroom per level (3 levels in total). Due to the nature of the building, noise was easily transmitted.

Wifi only available in the main lobby which was quite small.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I wanted to like the Vik hostel. After reading all the reviews I had no worries about this stop on my journey. I was sadly disappointed though. I'll start with what was good since I wasn't miserable staying at this little hostel.
Good things:
The staff was very warm and friendly.
Large common areas and adequate kitchen.
Easy to find. Just look for the flag, or the hostel's name painted on the side of the building.
Inexpensive.
Hot waffles at breakfast with dandelion syrup.
Fast, reliable wifi signal from the common room.
A refrigerator full of skyr in the reception.

The not so good:
There were 3 bathrooms for the whole hostel. Everytime I wanted to use the bathroom I had to wait. And because so many people were using them the cleanliness was less than stellar. And the toilet seat was falling off the toilet in the bathroom I used. The hostel was full the night I was there. That means 12 people per bathroom. (36 bed capacity). One of the bathrooms was right next to the dining room, which meant bathroom smells during breakfast. Yuk.
I was also there on one of those typical June days in Vik where the weather was miserable. Blowing rain and cold. So we couldn't open the windows in our dorm room. The room got very hot and stinky at night.
The furniture in the common area was worn out and uncomfortable. You could feel the springs poking your butt when you sat down.

I feel bad not liking this hostel, as the staff was so nice. But I got out of there as fast as I could the next morning. Having that many people in one building just made for a stinky hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great location and a lovely little village. Stunning views all around. Nice friendly and helpful staff.
Small kitchen with only 1 sink and no oven but nice dining room with good views. Bedroom was small but cozy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Hostel was a little hard to find, but once there it was nice and clean with a well organised kitchen and nice communal eating areas. The rooms were fine, but could have been bigger, and the whole place could do with a facelift but the problems were superficial only. As always, good free wifi.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I booked a double room here with my husband, which was more like a cupboard with one of us mashed against the wall and eves. Room so small there was only a bed and a chair - but hanging a mirror wouldn't have taken any space. Whole building is shabby, run down and shower door is still broken. None of this would be a problem if it was reflected in the price, but it's really very expensive for what it is. Hopefully their monopoly will be broken by new hotel we can see under construction nearby: more options for travellers might raise everyone's game.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Vik for one night en route to the east of the country. Had to make a last minute booking and went for this hostel. The staff were accommodating and facilitated us with a private double. It was spotless and, though small, plenty big for the 2 of us. Don't be put off by its shabby exterior. The facilities were great, really good kitchen and sitting room. Have your shower early though as their was no hot water after 9. The location is spectacular and there were some lovely chickens there too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyJRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
0.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
3.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Carina
Guesthouse Carina
#3 of 14 in Vik
101 reviews
6.1 mi away
Guesthouse Steig
Guesthouse Steig
#4 of 14 in Vik
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vik HI hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vik HI hostel

Property: Vik HI hostel
Address: Nordur-Vik Sudurvikurvegur 5 | Mýrdal, Vik 870, Iceland (Formerly Youth Hostel Vik)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Vik HI Hostel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing