We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Guesthouse Gardakot
Ranked #2 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love our stay here!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place is soo cosy that you wont even realise the storm we had outside in the month of November..After arriving late in the bad weather, the guesthouse was just what we needed.
For a farmhouse,this place is very modern and spotlessly clean!
Dont you get me started on the breakfast...everything was home made...the pancakes..bread..rhubarb jam...everything...It was the most beautiful spread we have ever laid our eyes on..
Best part was..it was also the cheapest accomodation we paid compared to the other lodgings we stayed in our 8 day stay in Iceland.
We highly recommend the guesthouse to those who plans to stay a day or two in Vik.

Room Tip: We had the room next to the stairs on the first floor.It had its own private toilet unlike those ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dashekee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
118
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived late in bad weather and we were greeted by Eva and a warm, comfortable and cosy home from home for the night. Really clean, lovely shower and the BEST breakfast. It was a full house but plenty of space for us and three other couples. Clearly a lot of thought has been out into the detail of the house and it was all the lovely little simple touches that made this place so special. Great location to the sights of vik and the black sand beaches.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Eva and her husband were great hosts. Both came by to greet us after we had arrived. The bathroom and linens were really clean. The common area was nicely put together. The breakfast was homemade and quite delicious.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we highly recommend staying here if you're travelling through South Iceland. It was a charming farm house that has a recently renovated guest house. It was so comfy and welcoming, we loved out stay there. The breakfast is amazing! Eva made fresh rolls, pancakes in additional to the home made jams and other yummy goodies. My favourite breakfast for our entire trip! The bed was very comfy too and the room was just gorgeous! We didn't mind sharing the bathroom upstairs as the other room was taken by a couple too. Didn't have any issues.

I left my google nexus in the room and received a super quick phone call so we could go back and pick it up.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are brillant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aust_abroad592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Amazing B&B. Beautifully located next to the black beach and loads of different places to visit. Very friendly family and newly decorated rooms and bathroom. Excellent breakfast. We will return again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Almost at the end of our touring holiday we stayed here for one night.Having been in Iceland for over a week we had the measure of Icelandic quality and welcome ... but this took another step forward! The accommodation was exceedingly clean and comfortable ... a bit like staying in someone's guest room. A mmory foam matress made for a very comfortable nights sleep! Breakfast was a special treat with freshly prepared pancakes and freshly baked rolls. Vik beach is not far away for photo opportunities and there are a couple of scenic outlooks which are easily accessable within a short distance. It's 3 hours or so from here to Jokulsarlon Glacier so there and back in a day is achievable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 1. The room was spotlessly clean and simply decorated. We had a very warm welcome, complete with homemade cake and tea/coffee. The breakfast was gorgeous, with freshly cooked pancakes and freshly baked bread. It was nice to meet other guests around the breakfast table and chat to them about places to see. Overall we had a lovely stay here and it was great value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
5.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
8.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
503 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
1.2 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
470 reviews
2.5 mi away
Guesthouse Steig
Guesthouse Steig
#4 of 14 in Vik
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Guesthouse Gardakot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Guesthouse Gardakot

Property: Grand Guesthouse Gardakot
Address: Gardakot, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Guesthouse Gardakot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Guesthouse Gardakot Iceland/Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing