We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get There Early”
Review of Sudur Vik

Sudur Vik
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We offer fresh meals made with love and local ingredients. The restaurant is located in an old and charming house on the top of a hill with amazing view of the ocean, town and surrounding mountains.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Get There Early”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived at the restaurant for an early dinner and I'm glad we were early. By 6:30 - 6:45, the place was packed and people were waiting to get a table. Service was fast and friendly. The artic char was delicious. The chocolate cake we had for dessert was yummy as well. Nice atmosphere and would definitely recommend. Prices were average for a nice Icelandic dinner

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    330
    73
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, no wait”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Everything we had here was pretty tasty, and we didn't have to wait to get a table, they just put us upstairs. Very comfortable, quiet enough for conversation, and the service was respectable. We liked the atmosphere upstairs, exposed beams and a little bar.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bmbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Superb Icelandic pizza”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were the last dinner guests to arrive at the Sudur-Vik rather late one evening. Realizing that we were hungry, the hostess led us upstairs to the last vacant table. The restaurant is located in a beautifully converted old Iceland two story home. Although we had to wait a while until the meals of the guests who had arrived prior to us were prepared, we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing and listening to carefully selected music. The view from the window next to our table was of the Atlantic Ocean. When our pizza arrived, we knew that we are in for a taste treat. Oh, my goodness, but it was delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volcanotrekker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Bad services, not happy with the food. ”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Hi, we came there at nine and there were not many people in there.
We ordered soup of the day. We waited 10min for the serves and 15min for the soup.The waitresses were rude and acted like we were
disturbing them like when we asked them for water on the table.

Helpful?
Thank Vilborg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“refuge on a rainy day”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My son and I went in for a late lunch and found the dining room cozy and pleasant after a day in the rain and cold. We ordered a pepperoni pizza, and it was delicious! I had an Icelandic beer as well. The waitress and manager were very kind and allowed my son to practice on the piano upstairs (during the daytime the upstairs is not so busy). I would recommend this place for the food and friendliness.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorothea57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sudur Vik also viewed

 
Vik, South Region
 
Myrdalshreppur, South Region
 

Been to Sudur Vik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing