We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop on the southern coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stop on the southern coast”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel Edda is a good place to stay on your journey from Reykjavik to the Glacier lagoon. The rock formations in the ocean are spectacular. The room was nice and warm with great covers that we appreciated on the colder nights. Breakfast was not included in our reservation and we decided not to spend that amount for just a bit of food, which we required for breakfast. The staff was helpful and gracious. The restaurant across the highway was good and was about the only choice nearby. I would choose to stay there again if the opportunity did arise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne_desert_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    213
    152
    41
    11
See reviews for
70
277
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel was easy to find given that it's right off the ring road (look for the flags saying Hotel Edda). It's in quite an interesting looking setting. Arriving to the hotel at 8pm we just wanted to drop our bags & get dinner as we were starving. We certainly did not anticipate check in to take 45mins! It was an absurd amount of time to wait. There was only one guy on reception, he was dealing with a customer who had an issue with their booking. Granted this was an unusual situation however a long line of guests all arriving for the evening started to form & rather than checking in other ppl he continued working through the issue which took about 30mins, then 15mins to serve other ppl in front of us. So he didn't have the best customer service or multi-tasking skills. Luckily we just got in at the restaurant behind the petrol station & can recommend this as a place for dinner. In the morning there was quite a wait to check out too, more signs of understaffing (and it wasn't peak season either, or maybe this is why).

The room itself was simple, clean & decent, however no wifi (reception area only). Breakfast was not included in our rate. For the price paid these things surprised us & it was an ok stay just not all that impressive or memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed here twice in the cottages and loved it. Loved being away from the main building and had no issues with noise from our neighbor.Breakfast was probably the best selection we had on our trip. it was fun to make your own waffles and the smoked salmon was excellent. Loved hearing the sound of the pounding surf too!

Room Tip: get the cottage
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
807 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after visiting the beautiful skogafoss, the receptionist gave us a choice between a cottage and room 219 as there were plus and minus to both- the cottage is around 2 mins walk from the main building and when we entered it was filled with mold smell. There was construction above room 219 and the work won't stop before midnight ( as claimed by the receptionist) anyway we took this room as it was newly refurbished. We had set dinner and it was very nice. I loved the soup!

The only thing that I would like to see added is a toilet roll holder!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in the new part of the hotel, which is still partly under construction (but no complaints about noise etc.). Room was brand new and very comfortable; good shower with great water pressure (as is the norm in Iceland), a comfortable bed and of course a water cooker with tea and coffee at your disposal.

Wi-fi in the new part of the hotel worked perfectly on my Samsung tablet, but for some reason the iPad couldn't connect, meaning we could only use the iPad near the hotel's reception area.

Breakfast was good, offering a wide variety (for Icelandic standards) including make-them-yourself waffles. Don't let them bake too shortly, otherwise they are still goo-ey inside :-)

We made the same mistake as others, driving past the hotel at first wondering "hmm, this doesn't say Edda, where is our hotel?", but as it is the only hotel in this street, I advise you to stop at the first hotel you see.

Wouldn't hesitate to return here.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new part
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages, which was very nice, if a little crowded for three, as we had an extra bed put in. The view out to the ocean was lovely, though, and the main building was a few steps away and very comfortable. Staff were helpful and breakfast was excellent. Nothing to more to ask for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It was a great one night stay in the hotel's "Summer Cottages", a cute wooden cottages located right next to the hotel's main building. The room was cozy and well equipped with a small but clean shower. We had a great view of the sea and the cliffs. The breakfast is in the main building and is very nice and diverse. The only downside is that there is no wi-fi in the room, we used it in the lobby of the main building.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterYoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
503 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
111 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
252 reviews
5.2 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Property: Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Address: Klettsvegur, Vik 870, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing