We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable. I felt like they were clean but not as clean as other hotels that I have stayed at. The bathroom is tiny. Be careful not to touch the shower curtain while showering as it clings to your body. The breakfast was very nice. Overall, I recognize this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    204
    139
    37
    10
See reviews for
65
255
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

First, make sure to book at Icelandair Hotel, which is the new part (new building) of Hotel Edda.

Located in the heart of Vik, we found this to be the best hotel to discover the little town. The place is brand new and very modern, with a nice lobby and pleasant lounge.

We stayed one night in corner room 201 and enjoyed it so much we wished we could have stayed longer. Unfortunately we arrived around 9pm, having spent the day at Jokulsarlon, but we loved it. With floor to ceiling windows, the view is absolutely gorgeous - beach/rock stacks on one side and vegetal wall on the other. Thanks to the midnight sun, we were able to make the most of our short stay in the room!

Room Tip: Definately ask for a corner room, with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in April 2014.

We stayed in the newer part of the hotel that has floor to ceiling windows that faced the Atlantic Ocean. We arrived late at night and it was dark so we had no idea of what the view was like from our window. When I opened the curtains in the morning, the view was incredible. A perfect view of the Black Sand Beach and the Reynisdrangar rock formations. WOW!

Room was new, clean and modern. The bathroom only had a shower, no bathtub. There was a coffeemaker in the room, which was a nice bonus. We had breakfast at the hotel and had to pay extra for this. Selection was quite good.

Would stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a newer room with the floor to celing windows that faces the ocean. There are older rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I staid at Hotel Edda a few weeks ago and with me there were people that had a booking at the the new Icelandair hotel that is located behind the Edda hotel. This people had though been by mistake of their travel organiser at the Hotel Edda. The response and effort made by the people in the reception for both hotels was really admirable and even, after they had been able to "half" solve the problem with an acceptance by the travellers, they continued working for a full solution, which, at the end they did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Pall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. Our room which was in the main part of the hotel was pleasant, a bit on the small size but clean. Dinner was included in our stay and was very tasty and portion size was good. As usual with the hotels in Iceland, drinks were very expensive. Staff was pleasant and friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and right on the mean view spot in Vik. The reception is very well decorate and the service same good. Rooms spacious and very gently soft painted so you feel really relaxed. Beds comfortable and on the bathroom just recommend to have some soap stand cause is little annoying to put up the soap out of the shower because is no place to leave the soap inside. For those that use internet was not connection at all, very basic. We all need internet at this time :). The electric connexion is right behind the beds, so if you want sleep and connect your phone to charge you'll need to move the beds. iPhone problems...but this is just a minimum detail as the hotel is well located and the service and rooms are really good. Food at the restaurant was good and breakfast little basic buffet but also well done. Thanks. Will definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in Hotel Vik i Myrdal in May 2014 for one night whilst travelling the ring road in Iceland. This hotel impressed me. Decor was modern and up to date, very trendy!! Stayed in the part which was being refurbished so although works were still going on whilst we were there, the room and corridors leading to it were exceptionally clean and quiet. We had gorgeous floor to ceiling windows where we could admire the beautiful black beach and sea stacks from the comfort of our bed. Amazing little town with an amazing little hotel. The only reason I didn't give a five star was because refurbishments were still going on at the time of our stay therefore we didn't have access to the lovely new reception area as well as the new dining room. Internet connection was stellar. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and polite. Location was amazing, just across the road from the gorgeous black beach. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDeb0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
0.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.0 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guesthouse Steig
Guesthouse Steig
#3 of 14 in Vik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Property: Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Address: Klettsvegur, Vik 870, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing