We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baenir & Braud
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Stykkisholmur
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Breidafjordur(Stykkisholmur)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Egilsen(Stykkisholmur)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Framnes(Grundarfjorour)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langaholt(Snaefellsbaer)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laetrabjarg(Orlygshofn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
132
29
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubb bthe ownerfamily roomshared bathroomlarge deckwonderful breakfastshort walktwo nightsmidnight sunhousechurchtownferrycurtainscharm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We arrived in Stykkisholmur on a snowy afternoon and immediately felt warm and cosy in Baenir & Braud. The room was on the 2nd floor, isolated from the family and there were no other guests, so shared bath was all ours. Being offseason the terrace was closed, so no jacuzzi or chairs/tables, but there was a bench behind the house, which made a good place to enjoy the view. The only problem was that they do not allow guests to use their kitchen or fridge, and offseason there aren't many places open for dinner, especially if you arrive late or it’s a holiday.

Loved the breakfast of course, especially the bread, but also everything else offered was fresh and mostly organic. Perfect slow-food morning! Though the whole stay was a bit pricey (breakfast costs extra), I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor have more privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank at0mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the apartment beneath the main house. It's of a good standard, clean and relatively modern. There's a tv with one channel, not that you should need it, the house is an excellent base to explore the surrounding area which is just beautiful. Greta is a wonderful host and just a lovely person, her English is fantastic. Take no notice of those complaining about breakfast. It may look small but it's really not (unless your comparing it to a Las Vegas buffet!), it's filling and wholesome and absolutely delicious - were back home trying to recreate it as we speak!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank haylo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

If you don't have the budget to stay at Greta's sister place Hotel Egilsen (greatest place of all), then choose this place because it has great views of the town overlooking the harbour, and it's really charming and incredibly comfortable to make you feel better than your own home, breakfast is delicious andGreta will go out of her way to please your every need - what a fantastic family owner of hotels. It's just a few minutes walk from the center street, but very well worth it and a nice walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithbenyayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a spotless and pretty room on the first floor. Greta was wonderfully friendly and knowledgeable. As others have said, the breakfast was great, a highlight of our trip to iceland, particularly the homemade bread and biscuits. We ate a lot, which kept us fuelled for our drive round the peninsular.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Greta is a great host and helped us create a wonderful itinerary for exploring the snaefellsnes peninsula. She also served a fantastic breakfast complete with freshly made bread, fresh fruit smoothie, and more food than the two of us could finish. The B&B was located within walking distance to everything in town, and although the room on the ground floor was maybe a little small, the bed was very comfortable and we basically had a private bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdoublel8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews