We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home in Stykkisholmur”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stykkisholmur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hofdagata Guesthouse
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Hofdagata last week. Ella was most kind and ensured that we reached Hofdagata even though it was well past midnight. Once she had provided us directions to the Inn she came racing (!) in her car to ensure that we were comfortably situated in our room. Ella is very cheerful and helpful. The breakfast the next morning was very good with ample options for my husband and myself as we are vegetarians. Hofdagata is a very short drive to the Harbor where we took the ferry to Flatey Island (highly recommend). We wish we could have stayed at Hofdagata a bit longer! Thank you Ella

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saratogalakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in the self-catering bungalow next to the guesthouse and had breakfast in the guesthouse. We could not have picked a better spot and Ella is very welcoming. Self-catering is worth it as the limited number of restaurants in the town are very expensive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartmoorTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful B&B for only one night during our stay in Iceland. We were traveling with another couple and we all remarked how we wished we could have stayed longer. We shared the house with another couple and a single traveler so 7 guests total and it never felt crowded.

Our room was a nice size with an available dresser. The bed was really comfortable. We had a wonderful view. The shared bathroom was right outside our door and, while small, was certainly clean and adequate. The living room was very cozy with a beautiful view as well.

We enjoyed the hot tub outside that evening. The wi-fi was a nice perk as well.

Breakfast was fantastic! There was so much food! A nice mix of traditional Icelandic foods and some American stuff (cornflakes, toast). I encourage everyone to skip the cornflakes, the rest is so good.

Before we left, the owner gave me a map and marked some of her favorite places on it so we could visit on our tour.

There is also a wonderful bakery and community swimming pool within walking distance that are both wonderful.

Room Tip: Don't be worried about sharing a bathroom, the rooms are bigger than the one with the attached b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMacMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were very pleased with this B&B. Staying there, you have to make some trade-offs. The larger rooms come with shared bath. We opted for the room with the ensuite bath, and the room itself is small - just large enough for a bed that is pushed against the wall. This means if the person who sleeps on the inside needs to get up, they have to climb over the other person. And if you have a lot of luggage, it's a challenge to stash everything. One of the guests in a room that did not have an ensuite bath mentioned that the sink in their bath was extremely small. The other bath that was shared by several parties had a normal-sized sink and shower (can't remember if possibly also a tub).

However, the place is really nice, with beautiful views of mountains and the modern church, the rooms are clean and nicely furnished, the common areas very comfortable (large living/dining room, fabulous terrace and great kitchen.) Guests can use the kitchen to make meals and put some items in the fridge, which is great to help stay within a reasonable food budget. We did not sign up for breakfast (trying to control our weight), but heard from other guests that it was excellent. And Ella was so generous to let us try her wonderful porridge/Muesli. She is very helpful in figuring out plans for activities.

You're right in the middle of town and can walk to restaurants, sights and shopping. A convenient and nice place, very friendly and good value for the money. We also enjoyed meeting other guests, which is easy with people congregating in the comfortable common areas. And we loved the Nespresso machine in the living/dining room and our very comfortable mattresses!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My boyfriend and I spent two nights here while visiting the Snaefellsbaer peninsula. The location is very close to the main road and a short walk to the pier. Ella, the owner, was very welcoming as she showed us around the guesthouse. She was also very helpful in giving us tips on what sights to see in the area.

We were very lucky that we had the entire house to ourselves the first night. The house was so cozy and we felt so comfortable there, enjoying the views from the living room. We also appreciated the Nespresso machine that was available at all times, such a thoughtful extra to have for the guests. The bedding was so comfortable I later emailed Ella to ask where she got it from.

The next morning Deanna came by with breakfast (FYI not included in the room rate) -- we were amazed at the amount of food that was prepared for just the two of us! Meats, cheeses, assortment of bread, jams, fruit, cereal/yogurt, and of course the famous porridge. So delicious!

Thanks Ella and Deanna, for a lovely stay. We had a wonderful time in the area and were very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: There is one room with an en-suite. It is a little tight but perfectly fine. It also has it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omgerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This beautiful B&B is a 3 minute walk from the main street, and is a real gem. The owner is genuinely warm and welcoming and was a great help to us in planning our driving route North. The room was absolutely gorgeous, with a private bathroom and large double bed and there is also a large and well-maintained kitchen for guests to use. We had breakfast the next morning which was also great- a broad selection of buffet style cereal, breads, cheeses, fruit and cold meats. The thing that makes this place so special is all the little extras: the Nespresso machine in the lounge for guests to use, the many coffee table books on Iceland, and of course, the Hot Tub! Our one view of the Northern Lights during our 9 day trip was from Ella's Hot Tub on the back porch, an unforgettable experience. Of all the places I stayed in Iceland, this B&B had the real "home away from home" feel in a distinct way. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: Go for the double room, it's slightly pricier but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Höfðagata 11 in January of '14, unfortunately only for one night. We had the place to ourselves, which was a special treat! The house is light and clean, furnished in a stylish mix of '60's Scandinavian and old antique stuff. We called the owner, Ella Birna,when we got to town and she met us at a gas station on the main road and led us to the house. For some reason Höfðagata didn't show up on my GPS, and though Stykkishólmur is tiny the streets do twist and turn a bit. The hot tub outside was great. Kitchen was fairly well-equipped, though no microwave. Beds very comfortable. Ella gave us lots of tips and info about the area. The street and front walk was very icy when we arrived, so Ella called the town maintenance crew and in minutes they came with a front-loader full of salt and spread it around. I think she has some pull in town!

Stykkishólmur is a really beautiful little town. There are stunning views from the top of the basalt rock that creates the little harbor, and also from the top of the Helgafell south of town.

I'd definitely recommend Höfðagata 11 if you are thinking of staying in the area. It's a little pricier than some of the other options, but has a very upscale-feeling.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wawawayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stykkisholmur
0.2 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fransiskus Hotel
Fransiskus Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Langey Guesthouse
Langey Guesthouse
#9 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
31 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Snaefellsbaer
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hostel
Harbour Hostel
#1 of 7 in Stykkisholmur
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofdagata Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofdagata Guesthouse

Address: Hoefdagata 11, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stykkisholmur
Price Range: £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hofdagata is a cozy guesthouse in the historical town of Stykkisholmur with a long running history. The location is central and only a short walk away from restaurants, museums, the swimming pool and other services. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing