We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment, bizarre management arrangement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, bizarre management arrangement”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location is pleasant though rather removed from everything except the golf course - long drive into Perth and very little else in the area which seemed to consist entirely of ever mushrooming suburbs. The apartment was lovely, large, well appointed and clean, with fully equipped kitchen, ensuites to each bedroom and a very large lounge area opening onto a small balcony looking across the golf course. Only drawback with the accommodation was that the entry to each apartment block is a heavy security door which clangs loudly whenever anyone goes through it, so try to get an apartment away from the entrance.

There is no in-house reception for these apartments. Reception, as mentioned by others, is via the resort next door, which has a different address. Make sure you know exactly where you need to go, because on a dark, rainy night it's easy to miss the signs and if you end up at the apartments, while it is possible to walk through the resort to reception, you will need to leave a trail of crumbs so as not to get lost on the way back. Furthermore, confirmation of bookings has a contact number which is nothing to do with the complex or the resort, but is apparently an Accor call centre and is a Queensland number, so if you ring at after 3pm you will get a recorded message telling you that the lines are only manned during business hours Mon-Fri and if you leave a message they will get back to you next working day (after a few moments of utter fury you twig to the fact that they are on Queensland time!). The attitude to any gripes at the resort reception is sympathetic but "Nothing to do with us, completely different company, we just do the check in". Given all this I'm not sure how you would fare if there was a major problem with the apartments. We were told at reception that the apartments are about to be re-badged as Sebel, though whether this will make a difference is another matter.

So in the end the apartments excellent, administration poor, leaving the property as average and not a place to hurry back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the entrance door. Make sure you are well aware of the location of recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear SMTas,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the management of these apartments and for not being able to get in touch with us when you needed to. The Accor Vacation Club head office is based in Robina, Queensland, however there should have been a local number on your confirmation. We apologise for this not being on your confirmation. Yes these apartments will be rebranded as The Sebel Swan Valley The Vines in December this year. You are correct in saying that this will not change the management, although there has been a recent change in personnel which we are confident will ensure a quality service to all guests. Again, we apologise for the disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    71
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
53
78
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

What lovely accommodation, We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. It was a fabulous stay, the beds were so comfortable, beautiful linen and the villa so clean. Breakfast was lovely too everything you could want. We would recommend to anyone. Perfectly situated in the Swan Valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear corley C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the 3 bedroom villa. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Check in was fast and efficient at The Novotel and the directions to to the apartments were clear. The room itself, on the ground floor was clean and the size was just perfect for our needs. The only thing regarding the room was the lack of cupboard space. The cupboard was tiny especially as we were staying one week! The outlook onto the golf course was beautiful and it was lovely to see kangaroos and ducks!! We ate in the cafe at Novotel on one night and the food and service were great. Also used the gym which was adequate but was surprised to see unsupervised children using the equipment.
all in all a great stay and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Auldprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Auldprop,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the cupboard space have been escalated to our Senior Property Manager who takes into consideration all feedback when implementing improvements.
Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Some of the taps were tarnished and there were ants crawling along the sliding doors and up the dinning table.
The food at the Muscat retaurant was good but service was bad and even rude. Waited more than an hour for main course and when I complained to server why dinner who came much later got served before us. The answer was "we are very busy, you know" and she just walked away. I noticed another couple sitting near us walked out as they got no service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank YSP1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed for a week for our family holiday. We found the apartment to be very spacious, and had everything we needed. They are obviously getting some age to them, but still very comfortable and spacious. We loved the location. Heaps to see and do in the local area, and not too far from Perth. Nice outlook onto the golf course, lots of kangaroos around. Great pizza at the cafe. Would stay again, and would recommend to other people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Labgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Labgirl80,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We agree - a great location with lots to see and do close by.
Again, we thank you for your review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We felt that although the overall resort is much bigger than the one at Bussleton, Bussleton won hands down both for setting/facilities and quality of service.

We had an issue with an extremely bowed pill out sofa that the manager said "I don't really know what to do about it". the issue was passed on to one of the female staff who eventually arranged an additional mattress then a different pull out the following day. I don't feel the manager handled my approach well, with no real apology.

We also found that the main spa by the pool did not work properly all week.
Having a lot of ducks in and around the pool was amusing - but untidy with droppings both in and around the edge of the pool - we didn't go in.

Having said all that, the experience of kangaroos right up to the units was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplyjewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Vines
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 2 in Henley Brook
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines

Property: The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines
Address: 79 Hermitage Dr | Swan Valley, The Vines, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6069, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure The Vines, Accor Vacation Club Apartments)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > The Vines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in The Vines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Swan Valley the vines is an all apartment Hotel located adjacent to Novotel Vines Resort and overlooking the championship golf course. The rooms range from studios to 2-bedroom apartments and all are fully self contained. Located in the stunning Swan Valley famous as a wine region and with a reputation for great food and local produce. With many of Perth's top restaurants located in the Swan Valley this is the perfect getaway destination. A short 20 minute drive from the airport and only 30 minutes from Perth City it is a great base for exploring. The championship golf course is perfect for a golf getaway too. The facilities at the Novotel are available for use by the guests of the Sebel when operating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Swan Valley The Vines Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing