We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

The Vines Avenue Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vines Avenue Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 The Vines B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fantastic hosts and a gorgeous house. Stayed there with family for 4 nights and was great to have lots of space to relax. Really good set up with lovely rooms, bar, kitchen diner, fab outside space and lounge. A couple of improvements would be to have another bathroom (1 was not really enough for 8 people) and to ensure the bathroom was cleaned each day (wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there). Was also a bit scary having a baby with us and a bee's nest right outside our room (we had 5 in our room on the first night). We couldn't use the pool for the ducks either. Overall a lovely place to stay though

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for The Vines Avenue Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Vines Ave Guesthouse. Great place to relax with family and friends. Beth and Gordon were very helpful and kind, and at the same time uninterruptive. Was a short stay this time, but will certainly return...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed over for one night with another couple and there two month old son, pool table and t v area is great place to relax.
Great place to stay highly recommend hosts could not of been more helpful.

Such a shame we could only spent the one night there

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Thanking Gordon and Beth for a awesome two week stay. Having our two young children Beth went the extra mile before our arrival setting up a porta-cot and single bed for the kids. The house is in remarkable condition being very hygeinic and clean in all aspects. Not once did we use the bathrooms/toilets when they weren't clean. In the pool was a great way to spend the afternoons with the kids. The kitchen facilities had everything you could possibly need to cook whatever you wished, "with your own food of course". The highlight of the trip was waking up to the freshly baked muffins baked by Beth each morning for breakfast, "so much for the diet" lol.The house was always a great place to relax being fully-airconditioned watching the footy on the big screen tv in the guest lounge drinking some icy-cold ciders. With the kids going through their clothes at a fast rate the laundry was a god send being able to keep up with the demand, along with the constant usage of towels for the pool happily provided by the house. I could go on and on about the Vines Avenue Guesthouse but i highly recommend you try it for yourselves, you won't be disappointed....also a special thanks to the chickens for the kids to pat and the beautiful fresh eggs every morning

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I'm Not sure If i can find The right words to describe How much i Enjoyed my stay in this guesthouse(because i'm german) but i Try :) The area is wonderful in the middle of the swan valey you have good possibilities to enjoy the area and relax. But also in the house you can spend a lot of time, using the excellent spa and swimmingpool, playing dart or billard or make some music. You have all things in the big kitchen you need to prepare your own meals and the muffins, freshly made every morning by beth, are seriously the best I ever had. Beth and Gordon know what to do to make your days wonderful. It was such a pleasure to stay with them and having some chats. If you are looking for a place where you can feel at home this is exactly the right place. And sharing the bathroom facilities is not too bad there, because they have two extra toilets and there will be mostly 8 guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We've stayed at the guesthouse a few times and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the house itself is very big and spacious, it has a huge kitchen and dining area, a music room and 2 lounges. It has a very big back yard with a pool, spa and lots of very cute chickens and chicks!
Our room the white room was very nice, it had a double bed, TV and a sofa. We have also previous stayed in the Mezzanine room, which has a double bed, a sofa, awesome A/C unit, and it's own fridge. And the teal room has a huge comfy king size bed. The whole house has air con and fans in every room, so it was kept nice and cool. There is a shared bathroom and toilet, both of which are kept very clean.

Beth, the owner, supplies eggs and muffins in the mornings, and also tea and coffee free of charge. We also had full use of the large kitchen.

Overall it was a great stay, good value for money, you wouldn't find anything as cheap as this for the location and what is on offer. It is close enough to the city, but far enough away so it has the feel of the country.

Great guesthouse, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The teal room is my favourite, because the bed is huge and so comfy!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinesAvenueGuesthous, Owner at The Vines Avenue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We have enjoyed hosting your stays with us, and take the repeat bookings from you and your partner as an indication that we must be doing something right.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit from down south.

Warm regards,
Beth and Gordon Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hello Beth,
I want to let you and Gordon know that after our recent stay at your guesthouse, myself and two of my friends woke covered in a red itchy rash. After consulting a doctor, we were advised that we had folliculitis which we had contracted via your spa.

It is very uncomfortable and not pleasant to look at.

We expected a safe swimming environment to be provided considering the substantial amount of money we paid to rent the house. We did advise that the spa did not look clean and were assued by you that it had been tested and was safe to use.

I hope you will take a look at the information contained at the following link.
Http://www.cdc.gov/healthywater/swimming/rwi/illness/hot-tub-rash.html

Hopefully no one else that stays at your guesthouse will have to suffer.

Amanda Groombridge

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Amanda Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinesAvenueGuesthous, Owner at The Vines Avenue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Amanda, we take the safety and comfort of out guests very seriously. As I'm sure you will recall, one of your party added at least two full cups of powdered Pool Chlorine into a Bromine sanitized spa, thus rendering the spa unusable till the imbalance could be neutralized.

When your party was asked why they had added chemicals themselves rather than seek us out with any concerns, the answer given was that the spa did not smell of chlorine (natural for a bromine Spa) and therefore could not be safe. While we understand the mistaken logic behind the initial concern - this should have been brought to our attention to address, rather than taken into your own hands.

As you also know, we had the water tested at our local pool and spa shop, within an hour of you adding the chlorine, and the levels indicated 6 to 8 times the recommended level of chlorine. This level of chlorine is certainly high enough to give a nasty rash, and chlorine levels that high would most certainly also have killed any suspect bacteria that your review suggests as the cause of your unfortunate rash.

When the pool and spa shop initially analysed the spa water and discovered the extremely excessive chlorine, we added the recommended amount of chlorine remover to neutralize this imbalance, (as per the computer analysis given by the pool shop) and also rechecked the Ph level of the Spa to ensure that it too met safe chemical parameters. These measures should have rendered the spa safe for normal use within a few hours.

However, from this incident it appears that although a chemical concoction can produce the desired chemical test results, the dermatological effects in this case produced less than the desired results within the time frame of your two-day stay.

This has been an expensive and unfortunate learning experience for us, and in future we will ensure that ALL pool and spa chemicals are locked away and only administered by the owners, or their approved maintenance personnel, and not by guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Vines
0.4 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines
0.9 mi away
Swan Valley Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Swan Valley View B & B
Swan Valley View B & B
#1 of 1 in Herne Hill
3 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luxury Apartments @ Brookleigh
6.9 mi away
Kellers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vines Avenue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vines Avenue Guesthouse

Address: 128 Vines Ave, The Vines, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6069, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > The Vines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in The Vines
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vines Avenue Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT OUR GUEST HOUSE:Our lovely executive home in The Vines Resort functions as a guest house, and as such the room fees for short term stay are on a per room basis. As the owners, we have a retreat on the 2nd floor, and live on-site as care-takers; much as you would find in a bed & breakfast. We are here to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.ABOUT OUR ROOMS:We currently have 4 comfortable, fully furnished bedrooms available for short term stays of from 1 day to 2 months. All of our rooms are let on a per room basis – with no additional fee for a second adult in the same room. There is also the option of booking the entire guest house. We have two portable infant's cots available for children under the age of 2 years at no additional charge, a high-chair, and a small child-sized table and chairs.* The Teal Room – currently has 2 king single beds which can be zipped to make a massive King-sized plus bed (7 feet wide). This spacious room has a 32 inch flat screen TV, a reading nook, and a double wardrobe.* The Garden Room – queen-sized bed (which can unzip to make 2 single beds) with private garden access through French doors, 32 inch flat screen TV, and triple built-in wardrobe.* The White Room - Queen-sized bed, spacious room that gets dappled morning sun - with, 32 inch flat screen TV, and triple built-in wardrobe and a fold-out double sofa bed.* The Mezzanine Room – Double bed, a quiet and spacious room with high ceilings, 32 inch flat screen TV, small bar fridge, 2 wardrobes, and a comfortable sitting area.These 4 bedrooms share a large double bathroom with a full-sized bath tub, double basins, separate shower, and heat lamp for those colder winter mornings. Towels and basic soap/shampoo are provided. There is a separate toilet in the north wing and an half bath near the Games Room for your convenience. We have no private en-suite rooms at this time, but upgrades are in the remodelling plans for 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Vines Avenue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vines Avenue Guesthouse Swan Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing