We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my stay in this beautiful house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boronia Lodge Burwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Burwood B&B and Inns
Shellharbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved my stay in this beautiful house”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Had to search for a motel recently due to a major event in Sydney meaning most accommodation was booked out. My search was well worth the effort when I fund this lovely place. Buwrood is only 10 minutes from the city (on express train) and the lodge is a 10 minute walk from the station. The house is a lovely old building full of charm and character. Jen, the manager was very accommodating, moving me to a quiet room after I mentioned that I was a light sleeper. It is more like being in a friends bedroom than a motel room.
There was milk and cereal in the room for brekky, although there was only full cream milk not skim so I skipped brekky.
The bathroom was a bit on the tiny side, but as I was staying by myself it wasnt an issue.
I stayed in Room 12, which wasn't air conditioned, again this wasnt an issue as the weather was fine, however, if you were staying in the warm weather, you might like to ask for one of the air conditioned rooms as due to the style of the windows, they dont have screens to keep bugs out at night.
I would definitely recommend this motel and if I were attending an event at Olympic Park, Homebush this would be my choice of accommodation. Thank you Jen for a wonderful stay :)

Room Tip: If the weather is warm, ask for an air conditioned room; windows can be opened but have no screens t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnabee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    21
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
13
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were staying overnight Saturday night to attend the football at ANZ Stadium. We arrived around 1.00 pm and checked in, then walked to the station (only a few hundred metres) and caught the train into Sydney. Later in the afternoon we caught the train back out, only problem was that not many trains seem to stop at Burwood, so we ended up getting off at the station after and catching a taxi back to Burwood. Later we caught the train to Strathfield and changed to an express to Olympic Park. After the game we caught the train to Lidcome and then changed and got off at Burwood and walked back to Boronia Lodge, which was pretty easy. The room was nice and clean and had everything that we needed. It had a small kitchenette and bathroom and the bed was very comfy. We had a good night's sleep until the alarm went off at 6.00 am. We were able to park the car off the street and left very early on Sunday morning. Cereal was included for breakfast. Great value and a good location, I would highly recommend Boronia Lodge whether you are attending an event at Olympic Park, or if you want to commute into Sydney it is much cheaper than staying in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a great boutique hotel. The most comfortable sleep ever. Our hostess was very friendly and helpful. The room was great , great ensuite, and kitchenette. Lots of hanging space in wardrobe. We will definitely be staying again. Quiet street close to Westfield mall and train station. Best location. Overall great stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubberlegs1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Boronia Hotel is located in a very peaceful street. A very short walk to the train station and a Westfield Shopping Centre. My husband and I (both in our 50's), felt both comfortable and relaxed on entering this beautiful old house. Our bed (double) was the most comfortable I have ever slept in re hotel accommodation (we travel overseas on a regular basis). The en-suite was quite spacious and very clean. Our host 'Jennifer' was very helpful in our reservation booking and also on meet and greet. On check out we told Jennifer we would definitely be back again when we were next in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcurran55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst NSW
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed hre again on a recent trip to Sydney for concerts. The booking process was seamless, and the whole experience, wonderful. Not a standard hotel, and not a B&B, but rather a unique pleasant, very comfortable, welcoming accommodation option, located in a central Sydney aea (Greater Sydney, not the CBD) 10 minute drive from downtown. Short 10 minute, comfortable, flat stroll into Burwood main street and shopping centre.

Stayed in an ensuite twin room, on fhe front verandah, and were very comfortable, with a mini kitchennette consisting of a bar fridge, microwave, kettle, coffee, tea, cereal, and plunger coffee! There in a full size kitchen in the building also, as this establishment is a converted, beautiful old home in a quiet, safe, leafy street.

We'll be back... what more can I say!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Boronia Lodge for 3 nights. We found the accommodation to be comfortable and had all the facilities that you required. The thing we liked about Boronia was that it was in the middle of a busy suburb, but the area it was in was very quite, especially at night. It was very convenient to Westfield Shopping Centre and restaurants. The selection of restaurants within walking distance of Boronia was impressive.

You could walk to the railway station within 15 minutes, and then you could travel to any part of Sydney. We went to the football at Olympic Stadium and it was so convenient getting there by public transport. As I said we were there for 3 nights and hardly used our car. For the price of the rooms I think it is excellent value for money in Sydney.

Jenny, who managed Boronia was very friendly and more than willing to help, if you had any issues. Even though the accommodation is definitely not 5 star, it has a great cosy feel about it. You definitely get a good night sleep. WI Fi is available if required.

I would definitely recommend Boronia to anyone who is looking for a budget option in Sydney. You will definitely get value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
730 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Our room was in front facing the road, but the surrounding area was very quiet in the night. A good place for sleep quality.
The room was clean, nice, with flat screen TV, the ensuite bathroom is small but clean and the only problem was how to adjust the hot shower correctly and quickly, otherwise the others were OK. Nice and comfy double bed.
It is a walking distance to two railway Stations, Burwood or Croydon Stations in Inner West Line.
Once reach the railway station you can go to CBD and greater Sidney area by trains, bus and ferry networks.
Shopping and restaurant are in walking distance at Burwood centre and near Croydon Station, still open until 11pm.
One bus route goes to Burwood centre from Airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burwood
0.9 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burwood
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Enfield
Ibis Budget Enfield
#1 of 2 in Strathfield South
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cambridge Lodge Guest House
0.9 mi away
Strathfield Hotel
Strathfield Hotel
#3 of 3 in Strathfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boronia Lodge Burwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boronia Lodge Burwood

Property: Boronia Lodge Burwood
Address: 7 Boronia Ave, Burwood, New South Wales 2134, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Burwood
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boronia Lodge Burwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boronia Lodge Burwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing