We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathrooms and food area. Sort it out!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altinkaya Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ozankoy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel on at least 4 occasions. Hotel is fine. Nice setting and great location.
Staff are great. Value for money, you can't fault it. BUT, I don't understand why they don't cover the food at the breakfast buffet area. Everything is left in the trays or bowls uncovered, from the cooked items to the breads, cereals, jams etc and attracts flies for breakfast as well. The hotel is clean and tidy but I won't touch any breakfast that you have to shoo off a bunch of flies before you tuck in. Come on altinkaya, sort it out. Get some covers on the food. Mentioned this when we were there but didn't change anything.
Also the bathrooms are very tired, they need a bit of tlc.
These are my only complaints and could be easily sorted. I will def stay here again, it is a nice and convenient hotel with nice staff.
If you don't want flies for breakfast, don't be put off, as you can get a fantastic breakfast at the new lemar for £3. Only 2 mins away.
Full English breakfast and tea. Fab.
Overall the hotel is very good. They don't claim to be 5 star. It's very good value for money. Just wish they would sort the things I mentioned.
Tony.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Tnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Altinkaya Holiday Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

From the outside, this place looked great! We were disappointed at the old, tired rooms that looked like they could use a good scrub. They are clearly clean too quickly as we discovered empty water bottles and other rubbish from previous guests in our room. Wifi only available in reception. Fortunately there is a large lounge with lovely open fire. Be careful leaving your breakfast unattended as the cats jump up on to the tables to help themselves!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Have stayed in a few different in the past but found this one on a recent visit to see fronds. This hotel is very good in all aspects and excellent in some. It is in walking distance of Kyrenia tow centre. It is very clean, the breakfast is excellent and the staff very efficient. Will always choose this hotel on our future visits.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are best, overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We've just returned from a week's break at the Altinkaya, having enjoyed a fortnight there 10 years ago. When we arrived around 10pm we were delighted to be allocated to a room in the Armonia - their name for the new building which was just being finished off 10 years ago. We were also really pleased to be offered a proper meal, despite the lateness of the hour. We found the staff really helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, sorting little problems, ordering taxis etc. Some things puzzled us. Eg. Our room had an electric kettle, cups and teaspoons. But no coffee, tea, milk, sugar etc. so we could enjoy making our own late night or early morning drinks. Also, conspicuous by its absence at breakfast - bacon, (and decent non-spiced sausage). It was strange having slices of spicy spam-type "meat" (probably some sort of pork) with eggs, tomatoes toast, cereals, fruit etc - even fried potatoes. Each to their own, I suppose. At this time of year there's nothing to do in the complex in the evenings except watch TV or sit at the bar; or go elsewhere - which is what we did, and it looked like others had the same idea as the bar always seemed empty when we returned. All in all, the Altinkaya still gets our vote, and we would have no hesitation in recommending it, or returning to it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

**There is a lovely young black dog in a cage at the rear of the hotel who is very friendly, I have left a pink lead attached to her cage as she would love a walk, so if you are a dog lover or missing your own pooch please go and see her, she will jump up in friendly excitement, and would so love a walk with you! A very special girl. She likes to paddle her front paws in a bucket of water after her spell of freedom before she goes back in her cage, there is a water tap on the wall down the steps. Please go and see her :o) **

This hotel has a certain charm. It is a perfect place to relax and unwind, it has a chilled atmosphere and everyone chats to everyone else. Friendly but not obtrusive. The staff certainly are a credit to the hotel and are always on hand to assist you. There is a genuine sincerity to do as much as possible for you to enjoy your stay.
During our stay there were several 'old timers' who stay at Altinkaya frequently, which is a recommendation in itself.
There is a variety of food at breakfast and I fail to see how you couldn't find something to eat, something for everyone and every taste. Accommodation can be changed if unsuitable, there are rooms in the main hotel and a variety of apartments or split level around the grounds. The gardens are really lovely and well kept. Car hire across the road Is cheap, although I felt like I was in wacky races in the car I had, it all adds to the fun. The location is great, and is not far from kyrenia centre. Wifi available around the reception area which reaches out to the terrace but not available in the rooms as yet. Nice lounge area indoors with TV, books and comfortable sofas and chairs.

I prefer this kind of hotel to the numerous casino hotels, there is a more personal service. It is not 5 star and does not claim to be. This is not a slick and glossy hotel chain. There are a few quirks but this makes Altinkaya more charming, and I would definitely stay there again.

The pool area was very clean and well looked after. The group of cleaners were very sweet and cheerful, they did a good job. I believe there is further accommodation over the road and another pool but I didn't see this myself to comment.

Other people have complained about the cats...I wouldn't consider myself a cat person but I really enjoyed their company and watching their antics and different characters emerging during my stay. They did not jump on tables on the terrace or on the dining tables so what's the problem?

In summary, I like this place, I will stay again and I am hard to please. My only niggle is that the Pool is not heated and I was not brave enough to plunge into its icy depths, although others managed to...

Room Tip: I stayed in 205 which was more than adequate, my son stayed in the main hotel and said it was fine w...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Reviewed_for_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It is not as flash as some of the other Casio hotels but it is a lot cheaper and friendlier. The first time we stayed here was 4 years ago and the breakfast was a joke. They
certainly have gone up a gear with the food. There is a new extension being built on the hotel but we were not aware of any building works when we were there. But worth checking

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It seems many guests have been going to this hotel for the last 10 years and seem to enjoy sitting round the pool in the sun and doing little else. If that is what you want then it is fine.
Car hire is readily available but driving in Cyprus is ok but not relaxing. While we were there an English woman had a serious accident. We did have a car for a few days and enjoyed visiting the sights, but there were lots of complaints about the poor standard of hire cars available in the area . There are trips available if you don't want to drive though (approximately £25-£30 per person).
Food was excellent. Plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal. But the cats were everywhere - so if you don't like cats don't go. We ate out some nights which was a change but the evening meal in the hotel was fine. Huge choice of starters (salads, cheese, olive hot and cold dishes) then a main course (sometimes 2 choices) served by a waiter . If you want choice 2 you need to tell them by midday and get a voucher otherwise you can't have it. No-one told us about this until we were half way through the holiday.
It did remind us of Faulty Towers some days and we had a real laugh as depending on the mood of the waiter depended on how quick you got served and whether they remembered to give you a knife and fork. Waiting for a drink was a waste of time so we just got ours from the bar. However, would not say it was 4 star service, rather hit and miss. But it was lovely to sit outside on the terrace and eat the meal and not be bothered by insects.

Like others, we were told we had a "free upgrade" to a hotel room in the main hotel even though a bungalow had been booked. We were not happy about this as the room was poky and noisy so next day got moved to a lovely bungalow across the road in the small complex. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily and well equipped as was the pool and surrounding area. It was nice in the evening to go to the small bar in the complex and have a few drink before walking a few yards to our accommodation. Then getting up in the morning and open the door directly onto the pool area.
We managed to play "table tennis" twice but then the one single ball went missing and that was it - we were promised that more would be brought in but never were. So there is not much to do during the day.
The hotel is away from main Kyrenia - but is walkable (30-40 mins) but is rather warm in the heat of the sun. There is a bus but that does not leave until 10.30 am and we were usually down in Kyrenia well before then. We went a few walks in the area (again very warm) and hiking in the mountains which was lovely but not much else to do and not somewhere where you can walk along the front.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozankoy
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#4 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,173 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellapais Monastery Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
439 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altinkaya Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altinkaya Holiday Resort

Address: Ozankoy - Girne, Ozankoy, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Ozankoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ozankoy
Price Range: £30 - £2,324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altinkaya Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus and Cancelon so you can book your Altinkaya Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altinkaya Holiday Village Hotel Karakoumi
Altinkaya Holiday Village Kyrenia
Altinkaya Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Altinkaya Holiday Resort Cyprus/Ozankoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing