We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Altinkaya re re visited.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altinkaya Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ozankoy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My third visit to the Altinkaya in just over 12 months I think that sums up my overall satisfaction of the complex. Got back to the UK this morning and have had a lovely two weeks. There is something very special about complex that draws you back.I love; the surrounding well kept gardens,easy location to the beautiful town,the amazing views of the mountains and the feeling of being safe.
All the staff are wonderful,friendly,caring,kind and respectful. They also have a great sense of humour.
That also applies to many of the guests who are frequent visitors to the complex,some have been returning for a number of years.
If you take note of the previous review woodward2 you will not go wrong.
Had a great time for a very reasonable price. Hopefully will get another visit later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife & I have been to this hotel 7 times in 6 years - and we look forward to going back again in the near future.
Having said that - it may NOT suit everyone...so here are the facts so that you may make up your own mind..and decide if it is suitable for you.
Firstly...The location is excellent - with a good selections of good cafes/bars & restaurants all within 10 minutes walk. There are also 2 good supermarkets within 5-10 mins walk, selling English newspapers. Kyrenia is a steady 35 minutes walk - or you can take the courtesy bus which runs 3 times per day. Taxis are 10 lira (that's about £3) each way.

The hotel is set in beautiful well maintained gardens with a lovely pool & plenty of sun beds.
The staff are excellent, and very attentive. There is absolutely no reason why anyone should say anything against the waiters - they do a superb job and they are all popular with the many returning guests.
There are about half a dozen cats around the grounds...but generally they are not a problem.

There IS a mosque next door - and there is a call to prayer several times of the day - the earliest being about 5am. I really don't know what all the whinging is about...you are in a Muslim country & not in Blackpool..! If you have your air-con on & your windows closed you can hardly hear it. We were in a bungalow - my wife NEVER heard it once...I heard it about twice - the rest of the time I slept through it. It is not a major problem.

Some of the hotel rooms are a little 'tired' - and need a bit of a face-lift. Bungalows have been re-furbished...but to Cyprus standard - not Uk standard. But they are clean and offer an excellent base..
Any problems in the room are usually sorted out by reporting the problem to the excellent reception staff.

I would suggest Bed & Breakfast only and NOT half board. Because as stated earlier there are many good restaurants locally & in Kyrenia in the harbour and in the back streets.
You can get a good 2 course meal & a drink for between 70-80 lira per COUPLE - that's about £20-£25 per couple!!!

Meals at the hotel are poor. Small buffet breakfast offering mostly Mediterranean style breakfast ...plus fried/boiled eggs/toast/cereal etc. (There is no 'Full English style breakfast'' there is no bacon or pork sausage ).
Half board guests do NOT get a choice of main course. It's a daily set meal....buffet starters (meze) followed by a Main course & sweet....that is why B & B is the better option in my opinion.

So despite the moans and groans by some reviewers - this hotel boasts many, many return guests... So it must be doing something right.
Just remember - this is Cyprus - and - this is NOT a 5 or 6 star hotel. Just a very nice, well run establishment offering very good value for money.
We WILL be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank woodward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is on a main road and suffers from traffic noise. It's virtually impossible to keep cats out of the bungalows which can be annoying as they get into the waste bins. In the bungalows 'across the main road' a chorus of stray, barking and howling dogs kicks off with the call-to-prayer from the local mosque at about 3.30 - 4.00am and carries on for a good hour EVERY night!
We found restaurant staff very unhelpful and waited over 45 minutes for a simple salad. As well as disrupted sleep every night with the noise etc. the bed sheets were so small they were just laid on top of the bed and resulted on the floor and being forced to sleep on a bare mattress. Did not expect to have to clean the bungalow - as it was dirty and grubby. Not a good place.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the bungalows across the road and make sure your bed sheets fit! A good supermark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChrisDK6315HE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have just returned from 2weeks stay at this resort.
Wonderful, very relaxing. Staff were brilliant and always ready to help.
Will certainly return , hopefully in a few months.
Very central for Kyrenia with free shuttle bus. If you don't like cats then rethink but they are not a problem.
Staff can't do enough for you and always so accommodating.
The whole atmosphere is so relaxing. Met some very interesting people. Reception staff were one of the best. Always ready to help.
Sheila Richards

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alicemay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our second stay in six months. The location is ideal, the staff are very friendly and efficient. We had a room in the hotel rather than a bungalow both times so don't know what they are like. The room was adequate, with a hair dryer and kettle but no tea and coffee but we had brought our own on this occasion. A couple of things could be improved, the shaver sockets don't work in any of the rooms and the bathroom could do with improvement. The breakfast again was adequate with something for everybody. The dining room is decorated and furnished very tastefully and is very a relaxing place to enjoy your breakfast, or you can sit outside overlooking the lovely pool. There are a lot of cats but we like cats so was not a problem and if nobody gives them titbits they are not a nuisance.

Definitely would always stay here when in Kyrenia.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Danon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed in Altinkaya 4 times over the last two years - why do I keep going back?
Well! It is very well located for one - Girne (Kyrenia centre) only a stones throw away!
The staff are ALL lovely - they can't do enough to ensure you have a happy stay.
I have stayed in the bungalows and love it - my own little living room with an outside bit with table and chairs (and umbrella - not for rain - for sun)!!
The pool is fabulous - the food is great - and the whole atmosphere is very relaxing.
I have met a lot of people there who are both interesting and fun.
You have to try the Excursions - very well organized - affordable and leave you with so many lovely memories. This hotel is affordable - friendly and comfortable - who could ask for more!

Room Tip: I love the bungalows - but its a preference thing - the rooms are just as nice and all have balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ilch_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice staff who speak to you and treat you nicely. The food is OK and the rooms were a bit cold during this period. AC is noisy fields and is located between the two floors of apartments. 0 chance for disabled people because of serveral stairs, difficult and at times dangerous stairs. You should also like cats for walks on the sofa, at breakfast and dinner and they will be where the tourists stay. Could happily expendable cats then.

Room Tip: Likte best personalet og hotellet ser pent ut fra utsiden. Du skal ikke kjøpe med drinker eller mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norwegians2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozankoy
3.1 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellapais Monastery Village
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
462 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altinkaya Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altinkaya Holiday Resort

Address: Ozankoy - Girne, Ozankoy, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Ozankoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ozankoy
Price Range: £33 - £1,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altinkaya Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Altinkaya Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altinkaya Holiday Village Hotel Karakoumi
Altinkaya Holiday Village Kyrenia
Altinkaya Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Altinkaya Holiday Resort Cyprus/Ozankoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing