We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage in beautiful countryside”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Walnut Cottage

Walnut Cottage and new bedroom extention
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walnut Cottage and new bedroom extention
One of the many places in the garden to relax and unwind Shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Walnut Cottage and new bedroom extention
One of the many places in the garden to relax and unwind
Shower room
Maybe try Al fresco dinning under the pergola
From the pond at the bottom of the garden walking through to the pergola
Children enjoying the tube at Lake Chambon
Watersports at the Lac Chambon.
Gargilesse
Gargilesse One of France's most beautiful villages
The ruins of Crozant
The Sedelle, valley of the painters
Enjoy canoeing on this beautiful river at Fressline
Crozant
Saint Gaultier
Saint Gaultier One of the many Chateaux of France
La Sel Dunoise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Sebastien, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Larry B
1 review
“Charming cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed our stay in this guesthouse that is located in the calm of the countryside in central France. The cottage, combined with the surrounding garden, makes for an ideal home base to
explore several "plus beaux" villages and other interesting sites. But perhaps more important is the personal charm of the owners, Vivien and Fred. You can't meet two nicer, more helpful people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interaction with the owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
It was our pleasure to meet you and all the way from America maybe one day you will pass this way again and share more of this beautiful part of France.We wish you both well
Kindest regards
Vivien and Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
791mj
Middle East
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay..”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a very nice time at the Walnut Cottage.

The cottage and the locale is as described by other reviewers, and with such warm hosts like Fred and Vivien to make you feel at home, what more can one ask for?

Highly recommended, and we would certainly love to visit again...

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Hi our much welcomed guest it was our pleasure to meet you and to see your kind words we were thrilled you chose Walnut Cottage please do tell your friends
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We did not want to leave”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Walnut Cottage is tucked away in the French countryside. We chose it as a place to visit the wetlands of La Brenne from but found so much more when we got there. Vivienne and Frank were perfect hosts - there for a chat or to ask a question but unobtrusive otherwise. The cottage is behind their house - a converted barn - in the little hamlet of Pouchimabard and we had the run of the garden as well. The bakery and shop in St Sebastien where great for our daily croissants and bread and other food. The valleys of the Creuse and little Creuse rivers were fabulous. Lovely walks, canoeing, visiting the villages of Fresselines and Gargilesse. We really did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: We had to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
we were so happy to show you our little piece of heaven we are so proud of where we live you got to see so many beautiful places and when you said you didnt want to leave you could'nt have paid us a bigger compliment thank you and the door is always open to you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat g
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Because I like peace and quite, I will be back next year.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our second trip this year, to a beautiful part of France . The accommodation and the owners were were the best ever, nothing was too much effort for them. Not being able to speak french didn't make things difficult as we were told about local restaurant's and given direction's to see some beautiful scenic and historical sites.
Thank you Vivian and Fred.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
We were thrilled that you so enjoyed your holiday we so enjoyed having you stay you were always interested in finding out more about the area and excited about what you found thank you for telling others about your holiday and hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene-Lee...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic cottage on the French countryside”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The kind owners of Walnut Cottage are very friendly and helpfull. The cottage is sweet, comfortable and well equiped. It is situated in small hamlet between farms, meadows and patches of forest.
It is worthwile to explore the neighborhood and hire a canoe on Lake d'Eguzon or to take the tourist road to Aubusson. But you don't need to go far to enjoy the countryside, just cross the road for a sweet little walk or take your bike for a tour in the neighborhood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owners and the authenticity of the cottage.
Liked least: We should have brought a really good roadmap as the signage on the French roads is sometimes difficult to comprehend
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
It was our pleasure to have you share the beautiful countryside you are right you only have to walk a few metres and the beautiful scenery is waiting for you we always hope those who wish to relax can do and for those who want to experience canoeing water sports cycling and many more can also enjoy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weixiao82
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The ideal hideaway”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I visited with my husband and 10 month old baby. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday :) The cottage is just pure magic! In the hamlet of Parchimbaud (thankfully St Sebastien locals had heard of it!), the cottage was definitely off the beaten track, along winding one track roads past the corn fields and watchful gazes of the Limousin cattle, but this all added to its charm. Set in the beautifully landscaped grounds of the friendly and hospitable owners, the former barn conversion is picture perfect and exactly what you're looking for in a holiday home. The gardens were a particular highlight - lots of different areas for sitting, relaxing, lighting the bbq and enjoying time together.
The area is stunning. Surrounded by sweeping valleys, sparkling lakes and pretty medieval villages, it's easy to understand why so many Brits come here and never leave! St Sebastien is the nearest village but you end up driving most often to the SuperU in Eguzon (a 6 min drive) We went on wonderful trips to Lac D'Eguzon, Lac Montocuco (a quieter lake for swimming) Argenton-sur-Creuse, Gargillesse, St Benoit du Sault, Crozant, walking in the Sedelle Valley - all within a 20min drive. There were lots of festivals going on at this time of year e.g. fete du cheval and a Medieval Festival in Crozant that were a lot of fun. There seemed to be a classical concert taking place somewhere pretty much every evening. A great time to visit even though lots of the shops in the larger towns were closed as the owners were on holiday down south! We also headed a bit further afield to Zoo Parc du Beauval - well worth the 2hr drive past the sunflower fields.
One piece of advice - if planning to avoid the toll roads on the way to/from Calais leave PLENTY of time! It took us over 11 hours!! On the way to the cottage, we chose the toll roads. It cost around 40 euros in toll fees and took around 7hrs though not as pretty!
Could somewhere really be as good as these reviews make it out to be - YES!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Loved everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2013
Where do we begin to say a massive thankyou for your amazing comments they meant so much we know it is our piece of heaven we just wanted others to feel the same. We so enjoyed your company and of course your little one he has the cutest smile maybe one day in the not to distant future you will travel this way again until then take care of each other
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
953Eamon1...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Parchimbaud is a small rural community blessed with peace and quiet - there is no traffic noise.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The magic of Walnut Cottage is that it is put together with a sensitivity for the vernacular, appreciation for the original and a generosity of spirit. It is a really lovely place to stay. There's no traffic noise. Parchimbaud is a small rural community blessed with peace and quiet. Such pleasure wandering down the dirt tracks that lead from the house where my little dog went into overdrive with all the new smells while politely leaving a few of her own. Yet a short drive away from all this you have everything you need.
Walk through the stunning Sedelle Valley a place much favoured by artists of the Impressionist, Fauvist and Sureallist styles, in particular Monet. Visit the beautiful villages of Crozant, Fresslines and Gargilesse. Twenty minutes away by car is Argenton-sur-Creuse with it's captivating medieval quarter. Glorious scenery, OMG!
On a practical note, Vivien and Fred, the couple who run Walnut Cottage have made and make available a beautiful garden, leave an unexpectedly generous welcome pack, have excellent tips on the local area and fully understand privacy and discretion. I have no hesitation in recommending Walnut Cottage. A genuinely refreshing experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage and it's environment. Well managed, good atmosphere, own parking.
Liked least: I can't fault it. It's another world.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful comments, we so enjoyed your company and the enthusiasm you showed to our wonderful part of France , you were always positive in your findings and even with the unlucky weather it didnt deter your explorations , we sincerly hope one day you may travel this way again and we can carry on where we left off chatting once again and by the way the strawberries are now producing faster than we can eat them....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing