We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but don't stay in 112 unless you like lorries.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value but don't stay in 112 unless you like lorries.”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Arrived late at night and first impressions were not great. The guys behind the counter seemed too busy to acknowledge my presence for almost five minutes there was also quite a lot of soiled glassware around which suggested they may have little staff on.
Upon arriving in room 112 all seemed great as it was of a very high standard of cleanliness and the powerful shower was a great de stress.
Around 02:00 it became aparant that we were on a throughfare for wagons.
I chose to rectify this with ear plugs and this and the comfortable bed provided a prosperous rest.
Breakfast was as expected and cleanly presented with the only exception of the chef and back of house team waliking past guests to get a cup of tea / coffee.
All in all a good one night stay but nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAH250583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    295
    172
    51
    29
See reviews for
186
271
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Part of a chain, so what you get is as expected in terms of the room and furnishing. Clean room with shower room (no bath). Friendly staff and we got a good deal with food included on first night. Food absolutely fine, if not particularly special. Good buffet breakfast with some cooked items. Spoilt on the second night by a group of (I assume) lads coming down the corridor at 2am shouting and swearing, which carried on for about 20mins. Would have thought reception might have noticed them coming in and asked them to keep quiet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us except the noise from some groups on second night.I am already aware about this and have taken the CCTV footage of the lads who made the noise and is under investigation.

Hope this will not deter you choosing us again

Looking forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Having booked a budget hotel we expected a very basic experience. How could we be so wrong. The hotel was was far from basic and came complete with bar and food service. Although menu was limited it was of good quality and served promply. Drinks a bit expensive.The bar area had a large TV with all Sky Sports. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Our room was very clean and surprisingly large with 2 double beds. One a sofa bed but with sprung mattress. The bathroom was clean and had a large shower, no bath, with an ingenius door that allowed a private wc whilst your partner showered. Hand wash and shower and hair gel complimentary.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent and now includes cooked items. Sausage and scrambled eggs for us but bacon is also available on a rota we understand. The coffee machine was of great quality with a complete range of options including chocolate. Seperate hot water dispenser with wide range of teas for an alternative. limited cereal choice but fruit, yoghurt, cheese, rolls and toast with many spreads also available. It was very busy when we went for breakfast at 9.00 on A Sunday morning but a second room was opened to ensure eveyone had a table. Food stations were topped up without the need to ask.
The only drawback was the distance from city centre, approx 4.5 miles and taxi would be expensive as you need to pass hotel cross a mile up the dual carriage way and come back the mile. If you are prepared to drive into town or like us just stopping the night this would not cause the same problem.
Overall a 4 star stay for a 1 star price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeG104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Thank you fro your feedback.We value your feedback and this will help us measure where we stand and improive our customer services and quality.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us .Just to let you know that we have a disocunted rate with the local taxi company which is only £10.00 each way to canterbury city centre.

Thank you for your feed back and I look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards

Anoob Saban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

The girl on the fron desk was very welcoming Room clean and modern as all holiday inn expresses, and also has a bar and restaurant facilities. Breakfast was adequate for our needs, you cant complain when it is free.
Only down side was that the cleaner wasnt too impressed with us leaving the room so late as it must have interfered with her day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for your feed back.I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.I will speak to the Housekeeping department and will educate how to handle the late check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I stayed here while traveling with a large group and it was very clean, nice place to stay for a night or two. It was an express hotel, so definitely not a vacation destination, but as a stop along the way it worked out well. We really appreciated the free computers in the lobby. Our group had dinner here also, I'm not sure if they do that often for large groups, but it was really good!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akehl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for your feed back .I am delioghted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.We do cater for large groups and we are flexible with the menu.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Anoob Saban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peronne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This hotel is a nice one, our room was clean, well furnished. It was not noisy at all ( double glazing do work ). Breakfast is lovely, you can use the internet for free, read the complimentary newspaper.. what more can you ask for ?.Also, we found it quite easy to reach , once we knew we had to pay attention to the signs !
I will happily use this hotel again on my next trip to canterbury !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loperon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and would choose us again while visiting the area.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Anoob Saban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Arrived late and dined at the facility's restaurant. Friendly service with one of the best Indian curries I've ever eaten, so good I had a second order after the first. Very good hot continental plus breakfast included in room price. In agreement with what most other reviewers have written. Just be aware that the entry to the lodging is not well signposted. Look for the Texaco petrol station and hard left turn into it IMMEDIATELY. Do not pass this entry point or you will have to turn around and return on the other side of the dual carriageway. Another visible landmark is the Little Chef Restaurant on the other side of the dual carriageway

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing