We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Not in Canterbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hotel Not in Canterbury”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were arriving in London for a 30 day cruise during the recent riots and for safety reasons decided to switch to Canterbury instead. We arrived by Taxi and thought he was getting gas when he pulled into our hotel. We paid over 100 pounds for the taxi ride and felt stranded. I must refused to stay as we were with another couple and wanted a convenient place to tour from. They were so far out they had a deal with a taxi to take you into town for 10 pounds each way.

We didn't stay, but I must say they did find us another hotel convenienty located and ordered a taxi. This place would be acceptable if you had a car. If not, forget going here.

Our trip got off to a terrible start as the Travel Lodge we went to said we were 1 hour early and charged us 10 pounds to put our suitcases in our room. In addition, we were given one extremely small bar of soap and no shampoo in the hotel. Guess we are spoiled in America.

Once we started touring, the bad things were forgotten as Canterbury is a charming place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Veryseasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on Tripadvisor and I really hope your cruise was a good one. I was the Manager on duty the day you arrived and remember how very disappointed your were by the fact that we weren't where you expected to be. I am really pleased we managed to find you alternative accommodation that was more central to your needs but also sorry to hear that the check in was not as smooth as I would have hoped it would be under the circumstances. Whilst our location is obviously something we cannot control I would just like to apologise again on behalf of the company for not having adequately explained our location when you booked the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    301
    176
    51
    33
See reviews for
197
272
23
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I like the Holiday Inn Express brand , a Holiday Inn bedroom without the added frills - but at a rate without frills too. Access from the northbound direction a little difficult as access to the hotel is via the southbound A2 only. No lift so if you need to travel with much luggage ask for a ground floor room. Breakfast good value and included in the rate. Staff helpful. Car park over full when we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_marshall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We always appreciate feedback, in any form. I am pleased to hear that your stay was a good one and that we have succeeded in satisfying you with meeting expectations, which our guests expect to have met. On the issues with the carpark, whilst we do have a carpark that under normal circumstances would be adequate enough to hold cars for all our guests when we are 10% full, we did have an exceptional case on the weekend in question, resulting in more cars and coaches than we would normally expect. My apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced as a result of this.
Thank you aagin for your comments and we look forwar to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saxmundham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The entrance is off the service station,and carpark on a steep slope. The check in was ok - but the is no lift and no assistance to get heavy bags up the stairs. the rooms are cleanish and relatively comfortable - but there is a distinct lack of power points to charge your phone etc and the wifi is patcht - no existant in some rooms even though they insist there is no problem! The bathrooms are not so clean - I found hairs and the tap was covered in fingerprints, as was the mirror. Beds are comfortable and the choice of hard or soft pillows is nice. Food and bar prices are outrageous, breakfast is ok. Overall, acceptable, just - and that's about it!

Room Tip: make sure you can get wifi - they say you can in all rooms, but you can't
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmp1968uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for your honest review about ouf hotel. I am obviously disappointed to read that your stay with us was not a good one. I would like to respond to a couple of your valid points:
We are a hotel that is advertised as a motorway hotel, unfortunately the lay of the land in this area dictates that we have only one option for an entrance and like many other motorway hotels, we aer easily accessible from a motorway or service station.
Unfortunately when we tookoover ownership of the building, there was no provision for a lift and no planning was made as the design does not allow for a lift to be installed. We are more than happy to assist with luggage should a guest of ours request this, and have done so on many occassions.
With regards the WI-FI, we do have a problem presently with signal in this area as we are in a dip. Our owners and IT managers are looknig into alternative methods in which we can boost the signal and strength. As you have mentioned, our WI-FI is free to all in the hotel, so we are also having to put in place methods to protect our users and the system so this could also cause a small delay in accessability.
I would like to thank you for bringing the bathroom issue to our attention and can assure you that I have taken this up with our Housekeeper for immediate attention and I can only sincerely apologise as this is most certainly not our normal, nor accepted standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were told that our rooms would not be available, despite arriving around the check in time.

The rooms were spartan and equipped with old facilities (kettle/tv/etc.) and the bathroom was quite utilitarian (with a single door being used to alternately close the bathroom off from the main room or the toilet from the bathroom)

We purchased a 'Canterbury Bundle' room package which included a 'Canterbury Passport' to cover the cost of all attractions in Canterbury, but when requesting only two of these were available: the staff did not realise what we later found out that the passports were discontinued and unable to be purchased. We were not refunded the original cost of the passports allocated to our second room, but a token £15 refund was provided (this does not cover more than 2 attractions)

We were told on our booking that we had paid for the room. We were told when we arrived we needed to pay again and we hadn't really paid the first time, just reserved out rooms. When we went to charge a glass of beer to our room, we were then told that we couldn't because the room was already paid for - but then the next day we were asked to pay AGAIN! Complete lack of communicative skills by all of the front-end staff.

Breakfast was sordid - powdered eggs, no bacon, awful pastries and felt more like a school dinner than something we'd pay for the event.

The room was suitable and there was nothing wrong with that, the facilities were very spartan throughout the facility and given the equal cost of staying in the flagship business in Greenwich was quite disappointing.

Room Tip: Request an inner facing room, the one facing the motorway are loud/bright at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Upper Harbledown hotels

Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Spent 2 nights during trip through UK. A taxi to Canterbury central is 10 pounds and saves the hassle of parking etc. Free internet and very good coffee. Hotel restaurant ok, and a snacks location in petrol Station about 100 meters away. A it out of town and a little hard to find, but otherwise, it was very clean and recently renovated with well-groomed rooms. Melvin, the duty manager was extremely helpful and very proud of his hotel.He is a definite asset to the business. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavnfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England UK
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I am aware this is marketed as a no frills version of Holiday Inn.

I am sorry but as a basic addition to any average hotel room you would expect air conditioning - just a fan here.

The breakfast was poor but acceptable considering it is included in the rate.

The hotel served it`s purpose of providing a stopover close to Dover with a car park.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Well we stay here each year en-route to France with our caravan and park up no problem.eat in the evening we arrive and breakfst before we leave,we have always had excellent service from all staff we encountered and the rooms are clean and comfy,sadly just tried to book again and can't get in. As a travel agent would absolutley reccomend this hotel and have to clients and friends and feel that a lot of feed back is unjust! Keep up the good work .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,879 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
2.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing