We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Clean rooms comfortable but thin walls, room and reception staff were all very good (but disappointed not to see ANY english)
Dining room and Buffet area are a bit small and basic, breakfast is ok (no Bacon and only scrambled egg ?) .
WIFI didn't work, when i questioned the receptionist she said nobody else had trouble, but there were others in the reception with the same complaint (so she told porky's, silly)
The Barman will always give you a large drink unless you tell him otherwise. (can be expensive)
Its a short drive to Canterbury but a long way round the houses to return.
Overall, armed with my now previous knowledge i would go back again for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your positive and constructive feedback.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the poor wifi connection. This issue has been addressed in order to avoid any future occurence.
Your comments have been shared with the team and we hope to see you again soon!

With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Rooms are fine ! Foods ok ! Staff are nice !

Oh regards the breakfast that takes a bashing!

Yes ok its not great as one guest said no bacon , Buts its free with the room so get over it

for £50 a night in Kent/Canterbury I thought it was great

Locations rubbish I suppose but this is clear before you book!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brighty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We chose this hotel because of close proximity to the University of Kent which we were visiting for an Open Day. Found hotel very easily but we were on the right side of A2, which helped. We ate dinner in the restaurant in evening which was reasonably priced.Room was lovely & clean,plenty of hot water.
Breakfast next morning was ok.all part of room rate.
Overall a good stay , will definately stay again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raindrop_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback as well as the time taken to comment about your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was our last nights stay in England after an intensive driving holiday that started in Spain and before setting home via France the following morning We knew the location of the hotel after doing some research on the 'net',which surely most people can do nowadays. The hotel was everything that we expected from this brand . Our room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the premises .This a property where a car is a major plus as a taxi is required to visit Canterbury which is a must if you are in the area. We had dinner in the hotel and and the quality of the food was first class. Our wi-fi was a bit on the slow side ,but bearing in mind that this is a free service you take the rough with the smooth. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear ,where there is no chance of road noise ,but also a charming colony of ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrispee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your positive feedback.
It is a great pleasure to read positive comments like yours.
I look forward to welcoming you back to HolidayInn Express Caneterbury in the near future.

With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had chosen over other hotels because of its Brand & cost. Though we were not disappointed, however the one thing every traveller choosing this hotel will be its accessibility from the main town. since its situated on the Motorway & no direct local Bus connection.
The room was nice. The hotel was clean & perfect for a 3-5 days stays. Also had free wi fi. Staff were courteous. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the motorway or parking for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shankhas003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate feedback from our valued guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you to our hotel in the future if you are travelling in this area again.

Warm regards
Wendy Holme
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were arriving in London for a 30 day cruise during the recent riots and for safety reasons decided to switch to Canterbury instead. We arrived by Taxi and thought he was getting gas when he pulled into our hotel. We paid over 100 pounds for the taxi ride and felt stranded. I must refused to stay as we were with another couple and wanted a convenient place to tour from. They were so far out they had a deal with a taxi to take you into town for 10 pounds each way.

We didn't stay, but I must say they did find us another hotel convenienty located and ordered a taxi. This place would be acceptable if you had a car. If not, forget going here.

Our trip got off to a terrible start as the Travel Lodge we went to said we were 1 hour early and charged us 10 pounds to put our suitcases in our room. In addition, we were given one extremely small bar of soap and no shampoo in the hotel. Guess we are spoiled in America.

Once we started touring, the bad things were forgotten as Canterbury is a charming place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
2  Thank Veryseasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on Tripadvisor and I really hope your cruise was a good one. I was the Manager on duty the day you arrived and remember how very disappointed your were by the fact that we weren't where you expected to be. I am really pleased we managed to find you alternative accommodation that was more central to your needs but also sorry to hear that the check in was not as smooth as I would have hoped it would be under the circumstances. Whilst our location is obviously something we cannot control I would just like to apologise again on behalf of the company for not having adequately explained our location when you booked the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I like the Holiday Inn Express brand , a Holiday Inn bedroom without the added frills - but at a rate without frills too. Access from the northbound direction a little difficult as access to the hotel is via the southbound A2 only. No lift so if you need to travel with much luggage ask for a ground floor room. Breakfast good value and included in the rate. Staff helpful. Car park over full when we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_marshall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We always appreciate feedback, in any form. I am pleased to hear that your stay was a good one and that we have succeeded in satisfying you with meeting expectations, which our guests expect to have met. On the issues with the carpark, whilst we do have a carpark that under normal circumstances would be adequate enough to hold cars for all our guests when we are 10% full, we did have an exceptional case on the weekend in question, resulting in more cars and coaches than we would normally expect. My apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced as a result of this.
Thank you aagin for your comments and we look forwar to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,029 reviews
3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: £39 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing