We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst nights sleep and hotel Ive ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The worst nights sleep and hotel Ive ever stayed in”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Firstly, when I checked in the heater was broken so was cold in the night and TV didnt work. I was tired so decided to sleep in the room, for the night and change the following morning. I couldnt sleep at all during the night the motorway was so loud it was very difficult to sleep.
So in the morning when I ate the full english breakfast(which was 3 items sausage, scrambled eggs and beans). I changed the room the following night, when I tried to use my mobile phone guess what it didnt work no coverage, due to the inconvenient location. This was later confirmed by the other guests whom I asked whom had the same problem.
When I decided to leave requested for a a taxi waited for 1 hour, and than went down and she said theres a traffic jam and in the background was smiling staff, it was like they knew that they didnt bother calling for a taxi. When I called the taxi and asked the taximan he said there was no traffic jam and they only received the call 10 minutes ago and that I must have been mistaken.
Honestly, Ive never stayed in a hotel like this, this hotel is just like faulty towers.
Only stay in this hotel if you have no choice and everywhere else is booked, as this is a terrible hotel and there are better hotels out there. Dont be put through the horrible experience I went through.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Guest
I am very disappointed to read your review especially that it has taken almost 6 months for you to post your comments on your stay which was in October 2011? I would expect after reading your review that it would be beneficial to post such comments sooner.

We strive to provide each Guest with a good experience and our staff is truly committed to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay; they are all friendly and professional.

Over 93% of our Reviewers have been satisfied with their stay.
We are committed to ensure that all our Guests have an enjoyable stay and we would be very grateful to hear of this as soon as possible and to be given the opportunity to rectify any shortcomings during your stay.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    296
    173
    51
    30
See reviews for
187
272
23
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
felixstowe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We normally stay in Canterbury city centre but there were very few rooms & what there were seemed expensive so we ' took a chance ' on the Holiday Inn & were not disappointed .
The staff were excellent , check in was quick & pleasant - nothing was too much trouble .
The room was large , very clean & everything worked well . The breakfast was really good & there was plenty of choice .
We normally pay £100 per night plus in Caterbury but were charged £175 for 3 nights - a real bargain . Will definitely stay there again - certainly the cleanest & the best managed hotel we have stayed in for a long time anywhere . Free newspapers were available plus free local papers which made the break which was a nice touch - didn't feel we were being 'ripped off ' all the time with ' extras '.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Agree with most comments - it was good value for money - with a very decent breakfast
only 2 not major issues we had:
1. Noise factor- could hear the water in next room, and some very noisy people in the parking lot- ask for a room thats better insulated/away from parking lot noise
2. was very close to canterbury centre- but being off a motorway slightly obscure - not much to do!
the beds werent the most comfortable, but ok for 1 night
overall was a good stay :)

Room Tip: ask for one without noise of parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Too_Much_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.
I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Customer service was excellent, all areas including our room were clean and spotless, food was excellent, nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Would use the hotel again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

For the price, you can't beat this hotel. As a family with 4 teenagers, cleanliness and a great breakfast are top on our list. This hotel is in a convenient location off the motorway. Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable with lots of pillows. For our family, two rooms worked out well( each having a double bed and a pullout sofa). Two rooms at this hotel were half the price of one room at any other hotel. Breakfast was fantastic - eggs, sausage, beans, croissants, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and cuppucino to name just a few items. Location was fine - 5 minutes from downtown Canterbury and 1 hour and 20 minutes from London. The Ferry at Dover is only 30 minutes from here, so this is a great stop for those crossing the channel. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68Transport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Convenient as in maximum 10 minutes from canterbury, clean, wi-fi in room, lovely breakfast, polite staff and so reasonable - 3 of us in one room (double sofa bed for teenage daughter)cost about £80 inc breakfast - bargain and we are not easily pleased. Unlikely to go to canterbury again - not that much to see for a regular visit but would stay again for port use to break the journey perhaps as its so convenient for the route - as for the noise thing we couldn't hear a thing - our room backed onto woods and the only noise was from the birds

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny321123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments.It was our plesure having you at Holiday inn Express Canterbury.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We chose to stay here due to the location of the hotel on the approach to Canterbury.

We had a family room - double bed and pull out sofa bed.

Following check in at 9pm we ventured to our room, to find it a good size and equipped with what we would expect of this type of accommodation. TV, Kettle, Wifi etc.

The only negative was that when I pulled out the sofa bed, the bed linen was inside it and the sheet had a large stain in the centre of it. The sheet was clean but was obviously left stained following a wash. I went to reception to ask for another and the manager/deputy was apologetic and fetched a clean sheet. Wasn't really an issue for me to be honest as the rest of the room was clean, so finding this issue, didn't leave me questioning the rest of the rooms hygiene.

We were the other side of the hotel to the A2 so had no road noise at all. The only noise was some from other guests chatting after the football had finished. Again stopped at an appropriate time, so no issues there either.

Breakfast the following morning was better than expected. There were scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. Toast, Cereal, Yoghurt, fruit, Croissants, Pain au raisin, mini rolls and bread that could be toasted. There was also tea, coffee and the standard fruit juices. You could help yourself to whatever and how much you could get through.

In short we paid £44 for 1 night for the 3 of us including breakfast and had very little to fault. We would stay here again no problems.

To access the site from Canterbury you have to go passed the Travel lodge on the northbound carriageway to exit the A2 to travel south (though if you read the review of the travel lodge, driving passed is better than staying!). To go north we exited at Canterbury, U-Turned and headed north on the A2. We were told taxi's were £10 each way, so we parked in the centre for £1 per hour instead. The park and ride operates up to 7.30pm so no good if you are out for an evening meal.

Room Tip: We stayed in 234 and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davejneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.
I really do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing