We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
180
320
188
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
320
188
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationdual carriagewaybeansbudget hotelthe sofa bedroad noisefree wifithe breakfast areachannel tunnelbreakfast was includedcoffee machineovernight stopquiet roomwould stay againfamily roomgood nights sleeppleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel was convenient base for us during our weekend trip to Canterbury. Good clean and well kept room and public areas, staff very polite and helpful, breakfast on the Sunday morning was a bit congested but Monday and Tuesday were fine.Stopped in hotel for meal on Monday evening and although the choice was limited the food was good. Only downside is the traffic noise from the A2 so ask for a room facing away from traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyuk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us here. Your feedback is very much appreciated in order that we can improve on the service we give our guests and enhance their stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our third visit to this hotel. Very helpful staff, good evening meal in the restaurant (always left too early the next day for breakfast) and the rooms are spotless and comfortable. The design of the bathroom, using one door to be both the door from the room into the bathroom, but also doubling as the internal door to the loo, thus isolating the toilet if someone is in the shower, is a design masterpiece - brilliant use of space and very clever. More hotels should try it! Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from any possible traffic noise, and with a good view of the bunnies on the grassy bank!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments.They are very encouraging & will be working on the WIFI system to improve the service.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was convenient for Canterbury (by car) although the trip from the wrong side of the dual carriage way is a bit of a trek up and around to get to the other side. Good clean and well kept room and public areas, staff very polite and helpful, food was ok. The shower in our room was great but as with many hotels, the staff need to learn how to make a bed properly, we had to remake ours each night. The only other small negative was the free Wi Fi kept dropping out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tivvytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us about your experience at Holiday inn Express Canterbury.
I am personally following up on the feedback you have posted & have already spoken to my team.Once again we appreciate your comments & look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday inn Express Canterbury

KiBest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are to visit Canterbury this is an ideal location,being just 5 minutes from the Centre. Good room with a good restaurant. Usual breakfast,self service with powdered egg the only moan.
Staff all very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as there is road noise from the A2.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have stayed here on a few occasions as we have family in Canterbury. All the staff here are really friendly & polite. The rooms are spotless, we have always asked for a quiet room & have never been dissapointed. My daughter has enjoyed watching all the rabbits come out in the evening from our room window! Great value for money & the help yourself breakfast is included, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, croissants, juices, sausage, egg, beans & a lovely coffee machine. It was very busy when we were there & the breakfast area was a bit chaotic at times!! We would highly recommend this hotel and it's very near to the city centre which is beautiful. Unfortunately due to our kids age we have now outgrown the family rooms, it's a shame there aren't any rooms with a double & twin beds as it's too expensive to book 2 rooms. We will miss staying here, thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask if any quiet rooms are available.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fl0ssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience.
Please do not hesistate to contact me if you decided to come back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews