We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good if you have a car - but beware of tour groups” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
272 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good if you have a car - but beware of tour groups”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent two nights here in order to spend a day touring Canterbury. If you have a car, it is convenient (on the A2 outside of Canterbury). Many English towns have a Park-and-Ride service - there it costs 2.50 GBP to park for a day and take a bus into town (up to six people). We chose this option over staying in a hotel in town - many of which don't have parking unless they are expensive, and for our purposes it was excellent. We spent the day in town covering the sites we wanted to see (Cathedral, St Augustine Abbey, and others). The hotel is in an isolated spot (the only close-by business was a gas station) which means that if you want dinner you either have to drive or eat at the hotel. Since we like a bottle of wine with dinner, driving was out. The hotel, however, had three separate tour groups that took up all the dining room (and two other meeting rooms). We had to eat in the Lobby (which was noisy). The next morning there was a half-hour wait in line to get breakfast and it was hard to find a table. It was so bad we almost checked out to find another place for the second night, but in the end decided it would be too much trouble. The next night we brought back sandwiches (from Pret a Manger) and a bottle of wine to "dine" in the room. The positive of the hotel was that the breakfast was fairly good (it said a "continental breakfast" but it had scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage - as we found in many other English hotels that promised "continental breakfast.")

The room was very comfortable for the price - which, incidentally, seemed to be much cheaper by reserving at the hotel chain website and using AAA or AARP rates than using any of the many other web services. If it were not for the tour groups, I would have given this another star.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your time taken to right to trip advisor about your stay at Holiday In express Canterbury. I really appreciate your positive & negative comments about the stay. Which will be taken very seriously & actions will be taken not to repeat them. I am sure you will give us another chance to serve you better.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    292
    166
    49
    29
See reviews for
185
265
23
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We had a two night stay visiting family. After a mix up with the room card we got in to a neat tidy room. The hotel was busy the first night with a bus load of French students in the hotel. The kids were sneaking up and down the hall to each others rooms all night and then the teachers were knocking on their bedroom doors at 6am to get them up so we didn't get much sleep. The breakfast buffet was warm and a good start to the day. The second night was much better with the bus load gone and we slept like babies. Overall not a bad hotel, the front desk staff were not overly friendly but the kitchen staff were lovely.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jfs_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments posted to tripadvisor about your recent stay at holidayinn Express Canterbury.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked this hotel, quite simply because of the price. We got a great deal including breakfast, which was advertised as continental but also served a hot menu of sausages, beans and scrambled eggs, as well as pastries, fruit, cereals etc.
The room was spotless, powerful shower and a sofa bed in the room too.
The hotel has an agreement with a local taxi company to charge hotel guests a flat rate of £10 in/out of Canterbury which was great for our night out in Canterbury.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted to tripadvisor about your receint stay at holiday Inn express Canterbury.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel was convenient base for us during our weekend trip to Canterbury. Good clean and well kept room and public areas, staff very polite and helpful, breakfast on the Sunday morning was a bit congested but Monday and Tuesday were fine.Stopped in hotel for meal on Monday evening and although the choice was limited the food was good. Only downside is the traffic noise from the A2 so ask for a room facing away from traffic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyuk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us here. Your feedback is very much appreciated in order that we can improve on the service we give our guests and enhance their stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our third visit to this hotel. Very helpful staff, good evening meal in the restaurant (always left too early the next day for breakfast) and the rooms are spotless and comfortable. The design of the bathroom, using one door to be both the door from the room into the bathroom, but also doubling as the internal door to the loo, thus isolating the toilet if someone is in the shower, is a design masterpiece - brilliant use of space and very clever. More hotels should try it! Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from any possible traffic noise, and with a good view of the bunnie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments.They are very encouraging & will be working on the WIFI system to improve the service.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was convenient for Canterbury (by car) although the trip from the wrong side of the dual carriage way is a bit of a trek up and around to get to the other side. Good clean and well kept room and public areas, staff very polite and helpful, food was ok. The shower in our room was great but as with many hotels, the staff need to learn how to make a bed properly, we had to remake ours each night. The only other small negative was the free Wi Fi kept dropping out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tivvytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us about your experience at Holiday inn Express Canterbury.
I am personally following up on the feedback you have posted & have already spoken to my team.Once again we appreciate your comments & look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday inn Express Canterbury

KiBest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are to visit Canterbury this is an ideal location,being just 5 minutes from the Centre. Good room with a good restaurant. Usual breakfast,self service with powdered egg the only moan.
Staff all very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as there is road noise from the A2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing