We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT FOR A STOP OVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Recently stayed here when we took my sons uni stuff up to him. I had read quite poor reviews but when we got there I couldnt fault this place. The receptionist was very helpful and polite, the room was spotless and they had given us a ground floor room due to my mobility problems. We stayed for two nights and had a meal on both evenings, beautiful home cooked food at good prices too.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent, everything you could wish for from cereal,s yoghurts/fruit to hot cooked food. plenty of toasts and unlimited frothy coffees. If I could be hard pushed to find any faults one would be that it is quite hard to find (thank goodness the holiday inn express flags were flying above the high trees!) its on the A2 heading towards Canterbury so if you miss the turning into the Texaco filling station you have to go right down to the roundabout, turn around then go another few miles back up the A2 to turn back onto the road as its a dual carriageway, the only other small issue was the room walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from next door but nothing that's a major problem, We would definitely recommend and stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant stay Holiday inn.

Room Tip: Ground floor is easier and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewlyweds2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night after a shopping trip to Canterbury. Great hotel,location a bit confusing! Enter and exit at the Texaco garage on to the A2 (i think) but when you come back from town you have to travel up the A2 to Dunkirk and double back on yourself...
Breakfast plentifull..Toasters were naff,as you had to put your bread through a couple of times to get it brown...but heyho if your not in a hurry you will be okay :)

Room Tip: Do not have rooms at the front by the entrance! It can be very noisy when people arrive at stupid o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with in laws and children. Place is very busy but staff couldn't have been more helpful opening up conference rooms for extra space and still providing excellent quality evening meals and service. Food was delicious including the breakfast sausages although do not expect more than a basic choice for evening meals, it is not a city centre hotel. Rooms were clean and good standard of cleanliness in bathrooms and comfortable beds.Bit of noise from the road but not a real problem.
Best bit of this hotel is the staff and even the cook who really cares about his job and the guests comfort.
TV only had 5 channels and CNN and Sky News and was bit basic CRT old style TV but free internet and hard work of staff in busy times really made it worthwhile.
Hotel is located behind Texaco garage and easy to miss going down A2 . Fans in room provided for hot weather but only 17C for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are all fine but get down to breakfast before 8am and grt in early for evening meal to avoid a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very encouraging comments posted to TripAdvisor.I am very happy that you had a enjoyble stay with us. I have sheared your thoughts with my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I know this is a basic hotel and that was what I was expecting for the price, however I did not expect the walls to be paper thin such that I heard every word spoken by the occupants and a lot more besides, which went on all night long!!! I know that is not the fault of the hotel, but perhaps soundproofing is required. I have stayed in this type of hotel and cheaper hotels on many occasions and this has never been a problem. The bathroom floor was dirty and the towel was stained. Breakfast was a great disappontment. The coffee machine was broken, the orange juice tasted like it had been watered down and the only thing I could eat was warm bread (supposedly toast, but came out like warm bread after 2 trips through the toast machine) and cold baked beans. Overall impression is that it's fine if you're travelling by car and desparate for somewhere to stay, but it was a £15 taxi journey from the nearest station. I personally think I could have found a better situated and cheaper hotel elsewhere. I wont be staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience and the service you received during your stay. Please rest assured I will discuss all the points with my team to avoid future occurrence.
If you would like to contact myself directly at the Hotel to discuss this further, please feel free to do so.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel on business back in March and apart from the bother getting to the place, my stay was perfect. The rooms are basic but clean, tidy and modern whilst the restaurant caters for most pallates. On my first evening, I had the Tikka Chicken which was well cooked and of a decent portion for the price. The bathroom was a little tatty compared to the room itself but on the whole, an excellent place to stay - but perhaps a little too far out of Canterbury for those staying without a vehicle.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments.We look forward to welcoming back to HolidayInn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Very friendly staff, very comfortable room and a very reasonable price for bed & breakfast. The food was delicious and we had supper there every night too. All round excellence, but unfortunately we had a room right up against the road & very warm weather, so had the window open - so traffic noise very bad at night.

Room Tip: ensure you ask for a room away from the road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted to TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Holiday Inn Express here ideal for overnight business stays or for a short break holiday. We are a mature couple in our sixties and have been to Kent on many occasions for short breaks and holidays. Although this is not a hotel with a view because of the location, for a short break this does not matter. Rooms are clean and comfortable and modern, and serviced every day. The complimentary breakfasts are excellent, so much choice and all hygeinically presented. Staff were all pleasant and polite. We could have gone elsewhere for evening dinner but decided to dine at the hotel. Food was excellently cooked and presented and reasonably priced. During our short 3 night stay we revisited areas round the coastline, all easily accessible as hotel is beside the A2. We had asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel and although we had our window open each night, traffic was not a problem. Would recommend for family and friends for short break holidays.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 125Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to HolidayInn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,974 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing