We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Willow Down(Upper Harbledown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
183
327
191
60
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
327
191
60
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationdual carriagewaybeansbudget hotelthe sofa bedroad noisefree wifichannel tunnelbreakfast was includedovernight stopquiet roomfamily roomwould stay againgood nights sleeppleasant staypark and ridemain road
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for a night after a 300 mile journey and prior to joining a cruise from Dover. It was our first experience of Holiday Inn Express and we found it to be on a par with Premier Inns but without a decent restaurant. That was not a problem since Canterbury has plenty to offer and was only a few minutes drive. Breakfast was adequate but no more. Value for money was acceptable with an advance non-refundable rate.

Room Tip: A room at the back away from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelH694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We spent three nights here, and it was a perfect location for exploring the area. We got the room for an extremely good price and it was great value. We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back of the property - there was no problem with traffic noise. It IS tricky to find!
The room and bathroom were very clean, but the bed was uncomfortable, and the pillows were very hard. We asked for softer ones but they were no better! Breakfast was fine, pastries etc. were fresh and enjoyable. We didn't eat dinner there, as Canterbury has many lovely restaurants. Overall at the price it was ok, but only ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlossieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Recently stayed here when we took my sons uni stuff up to him. I had read quite poor reviews but when we got there I couldnt fault this place. The receptionist was very helpful and polite, the room was spotless and they had given us a ground floor room due to my mobility problems. We stayed for two nights and had a meal on both evenings, beautiful home cooked food at good prices too.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent, everything you could wish for from cereal,s yoghurts/fruit to hot cooked food. plenty of toasts and unlimited frothy coffees. If I could be hard pushed to find any faults one would be that it is quite hard to find (thank goodness the holiday inn express flags were flying above the high trees!) its on the A2 heading towards Canterbury so if you miss the turning into the Texaco filling station you have to go right down to the roundabout, turn around then go another few miles back up the A2 to turn back onto the road as its a dual carriageway, the only other small issue was the room walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from next door but nothing that's a major problem, We would definitely recommend and stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant stay Holiday inn.

Room Tip: Ground floor is easier and non smoking
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewlyweds2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night after a shopping trip to Canterbury. Great hotel,location a bit confusing! Enter and exit at the Texaco garage on to the A2 (i think) but when you come back from town you have to travel up the A2 to Dunkirk and double back on yourself...
Breakfast plentifull..Toasters were naff,as you had to put your bread through a couple of times to get it brown...but heyho if your not in a hurry you will be okay :)

Room Tip: Do not have rooms at the front by the entrance! It can be very noisy when people arrive at stupid o'clock! Or go outside for a smoke!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with in laws and children. Place is very busy but staff couldn't have been more helpful opening up conference rooms for extra space and still providing excellent quality evening meals and service. Food was delicious including the breakfast sausages although do not expect more than a basic choice for evening meals, it is not a city centre hotel. Rooms were clean and good standard of cleanliness in bathrooms and comfortable beds.Bit of noise from the road but not a real problem.
Best bit of this hotel is the staff and even the cook who really cares about his job and the guests comfort.
TV only had 5 channels and CNN and Sky News and was bit basic CRT old style TV but free internet and hard work of staff in busy times really made it worthwhile.
Hotel is located behind Texaco garage and easy to miss going down A2 . Fans in room provided for hot weather but only 17C for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are all fine but get down to breakfast before 8am and grt in early for evening meal to avoid a wait.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very encouraging comments posted to TripAdvisor.I am very happy that you had a enjoyble stay with us. I have sheared your thoughts with my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews