We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oakside Lodge(Upper Harbledown)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Willow Down(Upper Harbledown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
183
326
191
60
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
326
191
60
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationdual carriagewaybeansbudget hotelthe sofa bedroad noisefree wifichannel tunnelbreakfast was includedovernight stopquiet roomfamily roomwould stay againgood nights sleeppleasant staypark and ridemain road
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 797 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

me and my partner stayed here for one night as a stopover after travelling down from cumbria to london by train, it was a very quick and efficient check in staff were pleasant ,we had a double room which had a large ensuite shower but no bath shower was very powerful though with nice hot water. tv was a nice plasma with plenty of choice of freeview channels,bed was comfortable although the pillows werent as good.i ordererd our food at the bar as there was no room service and my partner was very tired after travelling all day, so the staff just rang my room when it was ready and i brought it up to eat in our room..the food was very tasty and reasonably priced,breakfast was buffet style but there wasd no bacon no mushrooms ,there was only sausages ,beans and scrambled egg,which to me is not a breakfast but it was tasty and there was plenty of cereal,fresh fruit,bread rolls etc,,overall this hotel was cheap at 51 pounds for the two of us and it was clean and accomodating i would stay again if i was in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments posted on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to HolidayInn Express Canterbury.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here when visiting Kent Uni with my daughter. Very welcoming after a 6 hour drive. The food was very pleasant and the staff were really nice. Breakfast was good as well. Great value for 3 of us in a big family room

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank textiletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for a night after a 300 mile journey and prior to joining a cruise from Dover. It was our first experience of Holiday Inn Express and we found it to be on a par with Premier Inns but without a decent restaurant. That was not a problem since Canterbury has plenty to offer and was only a few minutes drive. Breakfast was adequate but no more. Value for money was acceptable with an advance non-refundable rate.

Room Tip: A room at the back away from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelH694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We spent three nights here, and it was a perfect location for exploring the area. We got the room for an extremely good price and it was great value. We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back of the property - there was no problem with traffic noise. It IS tricky to find!
The room and bathroom were very clean, but the bed was uncomfortable, and the pillows were very hard. We asked for softer ones but they were no better! Breakfast was fine, pastries etc. were fresh and enjoyable. We didn't eat dinner there, as Canterbury has many lovely restaurants. Overall at the price it was ok, but only ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlossieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Recently stayed here when we took my sons uni stuff up to him. I had read quite poor reviews but when we got there I couldnt fault this place. The receptionist was very helpful and polite, the room was spotless and they had given us a ground floor room due to my mobility problems. We stayed for two nights and had a meal on both evenings, beautiful home cooked food at good prices too.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent, everything you could wish for from cereal,s yoghurts/fruit to hot cooked food. plenty of toasts and unlimited frothy coffees. If I could be hard pushed to find any faults one would be that it is quite hard to find (thank goodness the holiday inn express flags were flying above the high trees!) its on the A2 heading towards Canterbury so if you miss the turning into the Texaco filling station you have to go right down to the roundabout, turn around then go another few miles back up the A2 to turn back onto the road as its a dual carriageway, the only other small issue was the room walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from next door but nothing that's a major problem, We would definitely recommend and stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant stay Holiday inn.

Room Tip: Ground floor is easier and non smoking
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewlyweds2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor,We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews