We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oakside Lodge(Upper Harbledown)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Willow Down(Upper Harbledown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
183
326
191
60
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
326
191
60
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationdual carriagewaybeansbudget hotelthe sofa bedroad noisefree wifichannel tunnelbreakfast was includedovernight stopquiet roomfamily roomwould stay againgood nights sleeppleasant staypark and ridemain road
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 797 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here with my family during half-term. The hotel has a warm, homely atmosphere and is fantastic value for money. The room was clean, warm and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the buffet breakfast exceeded our expectations. For what is classified as budget accommodation, this is a great place that we would definitely return to.

Room Tip: Some rooms are close to the A2 so it might be worth checking about road noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments posted on tripadvisor.We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Good, clean hotel for the money. The breakfast was good as well. It is a busy hotel, but the rooms are quiet. Great for groups. If you have teens, or younger kids they need to go in groups to the lobby. We felt a little uncomfortable with so many people that were sitting around in the lobby to let kids hang out down there. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments posted on tripadvisor.We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is a typical budget chain hotel.Basic rooms not spectacular. Found rooms to be very warm but due to the location being next to the main A2 dual carriageway you could not open windows due to traffic noise which could be heard clearly in the room with windows shut.
Buffet breakfast was provided which again was basic and not particularly attractive. Choice of cooked was chipolata sausages which were clearly value ones, baked beans catering standard tasteless and scrambled eggs clearly made from powdered eggs the industry standard. Museli was very sweet and not nice. Toaster was help youself which took forever and required you to run it through twice to tast it, why they cannot have amember of staff feeding this I do not know would have made things far quicker. Not enough tables to go round, as most seated 4 but had only one person seated at them due to lots of individual customers. Would not stay here again unless I had no choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the very back away from road traffic noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for your experience. I have taken note of your comments regarding our breakfast area and the quality of the food.I will share these to our management team to be addressed accordingly. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel was good value for money. Stayed one night in the area, rooms were very clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and knowledgable. The breakfast was great, good choice and plenty of it to set you up for a good day out.
The taxi company organised by the hotel for us was excellent value and service, the driver even managed to get us back to the hotel late at night when the A2 was closed!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed in a family room on a Sunday night before crossing the Channel.
We have stayed in this hotel before and were more than happy to return.
Clean rooms and friendly staff.

We had dinner at the hotel in the evening, and the standard buffet breakfast in the morning. The dinner menu is a little limited, but what we had was tasty. It's the same with all Holiday Inn hotels - why is there no bacon on the breakfast menu, it would make such a difference?

I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on trip advisor.We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express canterbury in near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews