We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University Visit - Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We used the hotel as a stop over the night before a visit to the University of Kent. I was surprised by the location as I had not expected it to be part of motorway services. We received a warm welcome from the staff on duty and our room was ready when we arrived. The room is practical, clean and had everything we needed. The noise from the motorway was noticeable but didn't disturb us during the night. The evening menu wasn't very inspiring and you have to look carefully at the choices available. Unless you are prepared to travel into the town you have a restricted choice. Breakfast was good with all of the usual options and it is complimentary!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pickle085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments posted to TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at Holidayinn Express Canterbury.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

I work in local Indian restaurant Raj Venue, when my family came to visit Canterbury from London I stayed their with my partner and little boy. He liked the room. It is standard and clean. Comfortable accommodation and friendly service. When ever I called to intercom for any advice or service they helped me very gently. At the time of check out I spoke to the manager and staffs and had a very warmly good bye.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shams h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed for a 2 night break - the Holiday Inn Express (HIE) is located a couple of miles from Canterbury which takes 5-10 minutes to drive and the route is very direct on the A2. The return journey - due to the location of the HIE requires a 2.5 mile detour via the Dunkirk turning (just after an esso garage). The HIE is tucked behind a texaco garage and given it's location to the dual carriageway it is surprisingly quiet. Parking is free.

The HIE reception itself was always manned with polite and welcoming staff, there is a bar selling alcohol (and hot nuts) until midnight - as there are no pubs locally this was good and prices are reasonable. There is a vending machine in the lobby for those midnight hunger pangs along with free internet via PC/complimentary newspapers.

The room was reasonable size with the double and sofa bed and equipped as expected - towels/spare duvet/hairdryer, clean and towels changed daily. Complimentary toothpaste/razor/etc., are said to be available at reception if anything forgotten.

Breakfast served for good period of time (upto 10am at the weekend) with ample choice including cereals/pastries/yoghurts/juice/hot beverages/beans/scrambled egg and mini sausages - toaster is a bit ineffectual!

Room Tip: No lift - so may want to choose a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bitesizebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments.we look forward to welcoming you back to HolidayInn express canterbury.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

my partner is disabled we booked a disabled room for the 26th to 28th of December 2012,the room was ok. The bathroom was not it did not have the none slip flooring it should have had on it,my partner fell and hurt her side. On conplaining we was told that as it was only a Holiday Inn Express and not a Holiday Inn Hotel there was nothing that could be done about it. Because we were paying for our stay with cash and not a card we had to pay a deposit of £40
I think expecting us to pay a deposit is wrong.
I think that if a Hotel offer's Disabled rooms then everythink should be to the right standard not only at selected one's very disapointed. my partner is still in a lot of pain. I DONT WONT ANY DISABLED PERSON TO STAY AT A HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS THEY ARE NOT SAFE

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I am truly disheartened about your experience in our hotel and I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.
All our rooms are been provided with non slip floor mat according to our Brand standard. Also Shower mats are available on request. It’s our hotel policy that all customers leave a deposit by card or cash due to very bad experiences we have encountered in the past. I do apologize again if this has incontinence you. I assure you that this is not the level of service we strive to provide you with. I will certainly follow up with the appropriate departments to address this concern.
Thank you and I hope you will give us a chance to serve you better.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The hotel itself was very good, clean, decent sized rooms, very nice breakfast. The location is less convenient, if you want to reach it coming from Canterbury or Dover, you have to drive to a next exit, and then come back...No fun when just popping out in the evening to a store or restaurant... But all in all very much value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments posted on trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We always stay overnight in the Canterbury area before we head off across the channel. This is very handy both for a trip into Canterbury and then the ferry/tunnel. These room are excellent value at around £43 p.n. Decent sized rooms, small but perfectly adequate bathrooms and breakfast thrown in. The staff were very friendly. Please note no lifts here so if you have loads of luggage or not good with stairs request ground floor rooms. I believe disabled room available too.

Room Tip: No lifts so request ground floor if necessary
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments posted on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury in the New Year.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Last time I stayed here I was disappointed with the Customer Service but on a return visit am pleased to say much improved.
A genuine warm welcome, spotlessly clean rooms, good basic facilities and a bargain price make this a good choice for Canterbury. Its only a 10 min drive to the centre of town. Despite being beside A2 the road noise cant be heard from ground floor room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skywalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments posted on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury in the New Year.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,956 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing