We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extremely noisy Location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Stamford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An extremely noisy Location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

An awful experience staying here, due to poorly sound proofed rooms, an extremely busy road outside your window. Windows poorly fitted letting lots of draughts and noise through. Room was adequate inside, good level of towels, although I had dirty sheets for 2 days. Electrical work being carried out in reception even in the early evenings. Inadequate seating for breakfast. Poor breakfast advertised as hot breakfast, you should advertise that a full English breakfast is not offered. Does not compare with Travel lodges, premier Inns etc in any way. I made the mistake of assuming the words Holiday Inn represented some type of quality. Don't think this is central for visiting Canterbury, a real pain getting back to it at night as it takes you miles out your way. I did like the free newspaper though at Breakfast.

Room Tip: Watch out for the new premier inn they are currently building in Canterbury, location is good for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Judith M,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the inconvenience the noise, your room accommodation and the service you received had caused you. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    292
    166
    49
    29
See reviews for
185
265
23
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
porthmadog
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yeah second time here, as before nice and clean and friendly,
A bit of up grading was going on during our 2 night stay but caused us no problems, I like the free wifi, Buffet breakfast very good although the muesli has far to much sugar in it,
We will stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for the night of 25th October 2013 having booked a family room.
On our arrival the Reception Staff were very pleasant and most helpful and cooperative.
Our room was clean and very adequate. The fold-away bed was already in place and made-up and all bed linen was of a good standard - white being white and not grey-white.
The bathroom again nicely appointed, very clean and again plenty of towels provided.
There was a varied supply of coffee/tea etc.
We had dinner in the evening in the Restaurant - and again tables were cleared promptly and wiped, and the food was good.
Breakfast buffet the following morning and included in the price proved a good selection of the usual continental type and also English if required. It was a nice surprise to see good quality yoghourt provided - a nice touch as it showed a thoughtful attitude towards the standard the Hotel was aiming for.
This Hotel can be recommended and we found our short stay surprisingly good and value for money.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as this was our first introduction to this Hotel, but our room was screened from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPD338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Pleased to see that it's still a good place to stay as are most of the Holiday Inns.The reception staff brilliant and very friendly. Rooms small but always clean and comfortable One slightly annoying feature though is at breakfast time all the food and juice/ coffee machines are crammed into a stupid alcove bit. Everyone seems to be crashing into each other with hot drinks and plates of food causing utter mayhem! A nasty accident waiting to happen for sure! This Hotel is a short cab ride from the city(£10) don't attempt taking your car into Canterbury the traffic is a nightmare and finding parking is hell!

a short cab ride away from the city

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
157 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked this hotel for 1 night, in a family room. We arrived around 8:30 and found the hotel quite busy. The front desk lady was sharp and we were in our room within minutes. I liked that the room had plenty of towels, not always the case in Europe. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The room was a little small given that one of the beds was a fold-out sofa bed. The beds were comfortable.

Be sure to ask for your wi-fi code at the desk when you check in. We arrived, went to our rooms, got settled for the night and then discovered a code for each person was needed to access the free wi-fi. This meant that one of us had to get dressed again and go out to the front desk. We would have appreciated someone mentioning this before we left the desk.

Breakfast was good. Plenty to eat. It wasn't anything spectacular but it is included in the price of the room and that's a good deal.

Now, as far as getting to the hotel from Canterbury -- be sure to look carefully on Google maps or a similar site to familiarize yourself with the location. Coming from Canterbury, you don't even need to start looking until you pass the Texaco station on your right. At that point, look for an exit to your left. Go over the bridge and follow the road around to access the highway again, going back towards Canterbury. We kept getting off the highway before we passed the Texaco and we were lost in the dark several times. We ended up asking directions at the Esso station and they kindly directed us.

As for the comments others have made about noise at the hotel, we did hear passing vehicles during the night on the highway but it wasn't anything that kept us from sleeping well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeparee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very good just outside the city of Canterbery Kent. Location is very good if you have a car. If you dont have a car you have to walk for 10m to the nearest bus station to go to the town. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Breakfast is fine. Staff is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichalisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing