We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow.....”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

One of the best stays I have ever had! Thank you to Anoob Saban and his team! Stay in room 125 so all you have to do is stagger down one corridor! Peroni on draught! Room spotless, but TV had a mind of its own and wanted to talk to me in any language except English, radiator also has been mistreated, but some tlc sorted that out, ditto the shower! But, wait for it - the Breakfast - the best ever, scrambled egg to die for, sausage ditto, warm croissants and rolls, fresh fruit salad and grapefruit. Perfect decaf coffee and so on! Sat for nearly two hours with free wifi and papers, heaven. Thank you Maria and the chefs and the reception ladies and the Romanian chamber maid! The Premier Lodge in Aldershot should take lessons from this team ....

Room Tip: Stay in Room 125 away from the traffic, find a nice corner table for Breakfast.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romeo017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    295
    172
    51
    29
See reviews for
186
271
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed here on a HI reward night before heading off on a short break to Europe. Its hiden behind a Texco garage and only accessible from one side of the dual carriageway. It wasnt the easiest to find. Check-in was great and friendly and breakfast was typical for this chain. The room was slightly largert than some and pretty modern and well turned out. THere was an evening meal on offer ( not much in the way of local restaurants and a fair way out of Canterbury), but I didnt dine here. Overall Recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegroundsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked two nights. Arrived with GPS directions, could do with GPS co-ordinates on website. (mind you that is something we have found lacking in the UK in general).
Check-in fine, ground floor room just near reception. After having read reviews I checked the room but all was good - until we came to boil the kettle - had to move it onto the desk as no power point for it. Great shower pressure. Yes we faced the motorway but it did not disturb us - and I am a light sleeper.
Dinner first night was ok. Hubby had what he described as one of the best lasagnes he has had but way too much cucumber in the salad, my pasta was fine. Chef's specials fish and chips and tomato soup.
Dinner next night was a fiasco! Main dining room was cleared with something being made on the floor by two people. Advised dinner was to be taken in the Dover room as the dining room was required for a special function. On the door of the Dover room it said the dining room was being readied for renovation!
There were two staff on. One was obviously making flasks of drinks for 'the function', the other was trying to check-in customers as well as dealing with guests wanting their dinner. Not enough seating arrangements! One customer who was a regular was complaining that every week she comes and every week she has the same room and she had not been given it this time so was not happy and what a terrible mess, there should be. And once again the chef's specials were fish and chips and tomato sauce. I saw the fish and was pleased I hadn't ordered it - I would have sent it back - it was so overcooked the batter was very dark brown. Hubby had oven baked salmon which he said was delicious. I had the pork medallions with pasta and broccoli, though very little of it - the broccoli I mean.
Breakfasts were the usual hotel free for all. Very helpful chefs who were doing the clearing away as well, took our tray for us both mornings when they saw we were about to go.
We found all staff helpful - though all were foreign which surprised us.
Found it handy for Canterbury. Drove to the Wincheap park and ride and hopped on a bus to the centre of the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here for one night on business, although many of the other guests were staying on their way to the Channel Tunnel. The hotel is good value for money. The rooms are good and a nice choice of pillow, although my bed was a little lumpy and could have done with a new mattress. The room was clean and quiet, and the shower was excellent.
The location was good, but not ideal if you wish to visit Canterbury town, but this is reflected in the price, which offers very good value.
I had dinner which was perfectly adequate and the breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed at HIE a few times, but this was our first stay at this one. It is one step up from a basic budget hotel, having a bigger and better standard of room and facilities. It has to be remembered that the breakfast they offer is free, so therefore to have this included in a total price of around forty pounds is very good. It is all a matter of expectation…if you go here expecting a full English, you will be disappointed. But if you have the attitude…’it’s free…and there are SOME hot items…you will probably enjoy it more. If you put the focus on what there IS on offer, rather than what there is not, your experience could be improved!! Having said this, we only stay at HIE’s when they have a special offer and if we were paying seventy or eighty pounds a night, we would not be happy with the breakfast.

Our room was very good- clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Make sure you get your free wi-fi code for each user on check in. Staff were friendly and helpful and the location was very good.

The worst thing for us was the mayhem at breakfast which was caused by the silly positioning of the coffee machine in a corner which created a ‘people jam’. They really need two machines here, and to have a re-think about where they are positioned. The machine needed frequently attending to as the beans ran out and it needed emptying. It was neither big enough nor powerful enough to match the demands of the amount of people using it. The staff were calm when they were attending to the machine, but could have improved the situation by offering a smile and some humour to the waiting queue.

All in all, we would definitely use this hotel again, if we weren’t on such a tight schedule as we were this time, so that we could avoid peak time breakfast. But only when they have a special offer on price.Where else can you get a good standard of room and service, with a late bar, free wi-fi and a breakfast of cereal, yoghurts, pastries , scrambled egg , sausages and beans and toast etc for around 40 pounds for two people? Nowhere that we have found in England. Even when the budget chain hotels have their cheapest offers, you still have to pay extra for breakfast and wi-fi and for a more basic standard of room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A nice hotel but experience soured by a poor breakfast.
Probably one of the worst ive seen.
Dry scrambled eggs, beans and tiny skinless shriveled sausages, that's it !
No bacon, no fried eggs or boiled eggs etc, thought it was a one off on the first day, but no, same on second day as well.
If you do stay here eat elsewhere, the rooms are nice & the place is spotless.
You will need a car as hotel is a fair distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfcglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear cfcglen,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel and rooms. We regret to read that your experience with the breakfast selections did not match your expectations at all. Your feedback is valuable as it enables us to improve our products and services.

Again thank you for your time and we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have stayed a couple of times whilst visiting family & both experiences have been good. The staff are friendly & helpful. The rooms are clean, tidy & well maintained & the breakfast (which is free) is adequate. It is also only 5-10 minutes drive from the centre of Canterbury which is a beautiful city. Obviously it isn't the Hilton but you couldn't get much better for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing