We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
179
317
187
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
317
187
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationdual carriagewaybeansbudget hotelthe sofa bedroad noisefree wifithe breakfast areachannel tunnelbreakfast was includedcoffee machineovernight stopquiet roomwould stay againfamily roomgood nights sleeppleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Now please don't use the Renovations as an excuse these people especially the chef as been doing breakfast for years and it shows, He has not got a clue how to administrate his buffet , refilling hot items with white plates and just chucking new on to old instead of having four extra stainless steel trays and put new produce in them and take the old away to be washed and filled, He throws the horribly cooked pasties again on top of old, (Make sure you watch him) Its absolutely disgusting, There is no help at hand total disorganisation dirty trays piling up on the bar because the racks are full, at no stage were we asked how our stay was or how we were getting on with breakfast, I shall be returning because i want to see if things have been improved.

The rooms are very tired, next door were very noisy , no patrols at night to check for disturbance

I very poor state of affairs here

Room Tip: Another hotel or the travel lodge over the other side of the road
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumptyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear HumptyNottingham,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We only paid £40 for the night, for 3 of us, including a good full English breakfast. Not to the standards of more expensive hotels, closer to town centre, but that's no complaint as the price is great. Easy to miss on the A2, so keep a sharp eye out. Rooms clean and comfortable, staff friendly, easy 5 minute drive to Canterbury town centre. I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Jonsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Pleasant check in, The staff was very HELPFULL and friendly = rating EXCELLENT!
Exceptional value for money.
To get into Canterbury you do need a car or a taxi: if you do'nt mind to walk 10 minutes ?; take the bus
((it is only a 15 minutes drive to the centre/an "Exploring Kent" day-ticket costs £10.50 for
2 persons).
We went to Broadstairs: very nice (a visit worth!) ; nice Italian icecream at "Morelli's".
Don't forget the TURNER museum in Margate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klepkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a very warm welcolme ,We arrived too late to eat in resturant , we were offered pizza , ordered 2 , should have ordered 1very tasty and very large .
Had a good sleep,
Breakfast was very nice everything we wanted ,
Last night we stayed in France at a mercure, twice the price ,
Cold reception , cold room , very poor breakfast ,
Well done holiday inn scrambled eggs the best .
We will return and recommend this hotel

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireukCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Easy and pleasant check in , warm clean and well appointed room with nice size Bathroom, Staff were polite and helpfull, Drinks at the bar were a little expensive, but the Breakfast was good, Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews