We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Holiday Inn should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very good value for money,£60 FOR 2 nights ,double room with breakfast and wifi,Very friendly and helpful staff.Rooms are clean and comfortable with a great shower.Breakfast was excellent,with plenty of choice and the staff were very attentive ,The hotel is a good location for visiting Canterbury and the Kent countryside.Would stay there again .....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AMBER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Recently had a 2 night weekend break. Rooms clean and comfortable. All hotel staff helpful and friendly. We had booked a valentines meal which was excellent. Location great for Canterbury. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Good value for money (£45 for one night double room with breakfast.) Poorly signed off main road and nearly missed; room good size, clean and comfortable. Shower worked well. Soundproofing average. Reception reasonably attentive; breakfast better than average, though plates cold. Would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bikerb2_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Thank you for bringing above mentioned concerns to your attention. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible

Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We arrived (a part of four) here on wednesday night after driving for half an hour to find it, the google maps directions coming from Canterbury are completely wrong (don't use the google map directions if coming from Canterbury as they tell you to drive down the wrong side of the A2 in to oncoming traffic), so we rang the HIE and the man kindly gave us directions over the phone and he was very helpful, and we found it straight away because of that.
The employee on the check in desk was very kind and soon enough we were in our two rooms. The room was very clean and everything seemed to be of a good standard. Although, we went to turn the kettle on, and there isn't a socket which it can reach, so you have to move the whole tray which I think is a bit silly and they haven't really thought that one through.
The room included a modern TV (which you can set a wake up time on which was very useful as we used it as an alarm) a phone which you can call guests in other rooms and reception, a desk and chair, hangers and good beds with a choice of soft and firm pillows. The wifi is also a good extra touch which worked perfectly fine.
The bathroom was also clean and modern with a door which worked as a door for the bathroom, or just for the toilet. The shower was good and also they offer lots of toiletries and other things in case you have forgotten any.
Overall I slept ok, could hear knocking on other doors and the traffic is VERY noisy, but you are practically on the A2, and I didn't really expect much more for a such a good price of £40 a night.
Breakfast is included in the price, and was satisfactory. A choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt's, toast, pastries and sausage, scrambled egg, beans and hash browns. Tea, coffee and fruit juice is also available. The lack of bacon was a little disappointing not quite sure why they don't serve it. The chef also walks through a que of people. dumps more food in to the trays while chewing gum without talking to any customers which I think is a little rude. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu had a wide range of foods for a good price.
Overall I was happy with the stay and happy with the room, the staff are friendly and helpful and for an exceptional price you do receive a pleasant stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a family non smoking room, you don't have to be in a family to do so, it just means you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyDerby524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a 3-day break on a half-board basis. If you're going half-board you have to choose from a set menu. It didn't change throughout our stay and is very limited. Otherwise the hotel was very good for the price. Rooms were clean and tidy, breakfast OK - but they do run out of certain items, location is excellent and we can't fault the service at reception from Melwyn although the waitress service was not at the same standard.
One word of warning, the internet is not good really good enough. You get a code for a day which allows one device to be connected but the broadband speed is at times so slow that its almost useless.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Now please don't use the Renovations as an excuse these people especially the chef as been doing breakfast for years and it shows, He has not got a clue how to administrate his buffet , refilling hot items with white plates and just chucking new on to old instead of having four extra stainless steel trays and put new produce in them and take the old away to be washed and filled, He throws the horribly cooked pasties again on top of old, (Make sure you watch him) Its absolutely disgusting, There is no help at hand total disorganisation dirty trays piling up on the bar because the racks are full, at no stage were we asked how our stay was or how we were getting on with breakfast, I shall be returning because i want to see if things have been improved.

The rooms are very tired, next door were very noisy , no patrols at night to check for disturbance

I very poor state of affairs here

Room Tip: Another hotel or the travel lodge over the other side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumptyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear HumptyNottingham,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We only paid £40 for the night, for 3 of us, including a good full English breakfast. Not to the standards of more expensive hotels, closer to town centre, but that's no complaint as the price is great. Easy to miss on the A2, so keep a sharp eye out. Rooms clean and comfortable, staff friendly, easy 5 minute drive to Canterbury town centre. I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Jonsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,072 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: £38 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing