We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bloody awful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Save yourself the money and go elsewhere! Room stank of damp. Shower flooded the room. T.V didnt work. Wi-Fi didnt work. 330ml bottle of London pride cost £4.09 that works out at over £7 a pint. When i complained i got no where. Staff were ok and the food was acceptable but the management were shocking!!!! Please go elsewhere for your own sanity

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nudgerwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr White,

We appreciate that you took the time aging to review our stay with us.
I have replied few times directly to your personnel email offering compensation for your next stay as a gesture of good will and I am writing a response again for this review.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you had during your stay.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

I have personally looked in to this matters concerning your room with my housekeeping and the maintenance department.
The shower plunge hole had become blocked with hair and we have fixed it then and there. But the TV, it was working fine without any issue when we checked it.
Regarding the price of the Landon Pride, as a hotel we are selling the small (330ml) bottles because of the demand we have. Hence we don’t sell pints or larger bottles.

However, as a gesture of goodwill I would like to offer you a discounted room rate from the rate of the day for your next stay with us.
Please contact me directly for your next booking.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel car park was very busy when we pulled in, two coaches and plenty of cars, although there was still space for us, so it was little surprise that we had been allocated a family room though we had not requested one. The sofa bed is not so comfortable as a seat so we ended up reading on the bed. The bed was too soft for me - far too bouncy - and I needed to swap the firm pillow for a softer one that was supplied.

Breakfast was good value and, for us, everything that should have been hot was.

Read the website carefully for rhe instructions on how to find the hotel because it is not obvious just from the map or address.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Glad that you enjoyed our free breakfast.
Thank you for your comments about the beddings. We will definitely look in to areas you have mentioned.
Feedback from guests like you, will enable us to provide the best experience possible.
Hope to see you in your next trip to Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for ease of access to Canterbury. I hadn't realized it was on the main A2 route to Canterbury and I hadn't thought about the clients using the hotel.

As usual the hotel was clean, the staff friendly and helpful and when I asked for a quiet room the young chap on reception was able to change my room without a problem.

The price was very good for half board....but you are in the middle of no where with only a petrol station for company. Due to the location the hotel has many coaches stopping before crossing the channel so dinner was a noisy event without any chance of a quiet meal. The food was ok but nothing special and breakfast very average.

Advice for those staying ...ask if any coaches are staying and what time they have arranged for breakfast as there was no space and very little choice when I wondered down at 7.45 am


The stay was fine, but I probably would pick a more central hotel for Canterbury should I stay again mainly for location and noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.
Glad to hear you liked the friendliness our staff.
Please allow us to apologise for the challenges you had in our free express start breakfast and the noisiness in the dinner time.
We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was as is expected for a Holiday Inn Express ie functional However we were told that the bar was open to 0030. We were kept awake until 0045 by drunk people running around and knocking on doors. Additionally the breakfast buffet kept on running out of everything with one hapless man to try and restock it. Not the best experience some of it out the establishments hands

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced in particular with breakfast and the noise from the other guests.
We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Right on the A2, entrance not very signed. As you need to go through petrol station to access. But no signs before you are on top on turning. Sat nat does not pick it up as off A2. Room very comfortable. Coffee was not re-stocked. At busy times, breakfast times should be registered. Or staff should be monitoring people that are sitting at the breakfast tables for 20mins without going for refills. Not acceptable when there is a long queue. Also staff should be monitoring when stocks are low or gone. Also when there are no plates. Should be clearing tables in a more timely fashion.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anita35_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Pleased to her that our rooms are very comfortable.

We value your comments and allow us to apologize if you may have experienced any challenges during our free breakfast. Moreover, we need to comply with rules and regulations regarding signage hence the signage locations . Most of the SAT NAV pick the right location but unfortunately some does not. Further, our reception team is more than happy to help directing our guests to the hotel if contact us directly by 01227 865000.
However, your comments will enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here many a time both on business as well as with family. Still trying to find a problem with the place. The lady at reception when I checked in was very informative - really good information also about the local area. Hotel room was clean and tidy as it should be, with breakfast the next morning offering a very good choice. Free parking and internet are valued extras.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room yet. Does not matter what part of the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for complementing our breakfast, hotel facilities and amenities but most of all our dedicated employees.
Thank you for being our guest again and thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The room was nice enough...not the double i booked (but a twin), i just wish i had skipped breakfast - the hotel was busy, but even so, the hotel should have been prepared. The buffet was laid out in a u-shape, and because it was busy, became a mosh pit of pushing and spilling as people tried to dish their breakfast in the cramped area - chaos. Worse though, the breakfast was terrible, a poor selection and very poor produce - i reckon there was more meat content in the corn flakes than those sausages, and just cos it looks like coffee doesnt mean it tastes like coffee.
Hotel is fine, just give the breakfast a miss.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank ACBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.
We are so glad you liked the hotel and its aminities.
Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had during our free breakfast.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,956 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing