We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a stop-over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for a stop-over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed on a stop-over to the Andre Rieu Concert in Maastricht after a drive down from Manchester. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was superb. Breakfast was buffet style with scrambled egg & sausage, cereal, fruit and continental choices too.
Slight criticism was no lift and the rooms would be better if there was a safe for valuables, but other than that everything was excellent. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    292
    166
    50
    29
See reviews for
185
265
23
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The rooms were clean and the shower was very good. The breakfast area was very busy and the layout of the buffet area meant it was very crowded when selecting food.
The staff were helpful and happy to book taxis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a nice ground floor room. Others in my group were upstairs and there was no elevator. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. It is not centrally located so if you don't have your own transportation (tour groups) you're done for the night when you get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awallacenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just 10 min from Canterbury a useful place to stay, rooms , lounge and breakfast area the usual Holiday Inn express standard, no lift so if you don't like stairs make sure you get a ground floor room. Recognised as a Priority Club member with a free drink although it was only half a pint. evey other Express I have stayed in its been a pint.

Room Tip: No lift so make sure you have a ground room if you have hevy bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royandwendy503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We use this hotel lobby quite frequently for meetings. The staff are never particularly friendly or helpful and getting a cup of coffee this morning was painful. Even though we are not staying I the hotel at the prices they charge coffee for meetings can rack up to quite a bit so can be a good source of income they should therefore treat all people the same.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisoncsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Allisoncsuk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is very troubling to read you were not satisfied with the level of service you received during your time at the hotel. Please be assured that we take all review very seriously and will be used to focus on improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We would love to welcome you back with a more positive experience in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Upper Harbledown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stopped for 3 nights on a coach tour.Room was very clean, nicely decorated and plenty of space.There was some night time noise from the main road which is next to the hotel.Beware of the shower. The floor is very slippery and very easy to fall over if you move about.Others on my trip reported the same.Holiday Inn really should remedy this, before there is a nasty accident. Dinner was a set menu with no choice. Food was basic but well cooked and tasty. Breakfast is self service with plenty of hot and cold food but no bacon.The restaurant decoration and furniture are basic.The bar is tiny with very little space to sit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just got back from a weekend in Canterbury which we loved although we did think that £10.50 each was a bit expensive for entry to the cathedral &, disappointingly, without paying you can't even access the grounds until after 5:00p.m.

We spent 3 nights here in room 117 on the ground floor. It's positioned at the opposite side of the hotel to the busy A2 & overlooks a narrow strip of car park that wasn't being used &, beyond that, grass & trees so there was no external noise at all. The room was very clean & comfortable with a hair dryer, kettle, tea/coffee sachets etc & even a choice of pillows. Everything worked & the lighting was good. There was an en suite shower room with plentiful hot water & a powerful shower with clean, decent quality towels. It was cleaned daily & supplies of everything topped up.

I did initially have a problem with the Wi-Fi signal for my phone whilst in the room but that was because my husband was already using two devices. Reception quickly & efficiently sorted this for us to enable a third device to work. There are also 2 PCs for guests use in reception along with free daily copies of The Independent.

We were lucky in that it was never that busy when we choose to go in for breakfast & everything was always fully stocked. For what we paid I was only expecting continental breakfast but there was always scrambled egg, beans & sausage at an acceptable temperature, certainly never cold. We didn't ever eat there in the evenings but the food I saw being served looked good & was good value too.

We found it to be a great location for accessing Canterbury & soon found our way around the town. We did get a bit lost the first time we returned. You do need to go up the opposite side of the A2 (beyond the Texaco garage which you can see on the opposite side) & come off after Sheila's Kitchen at the Dunkirk/Boughton exit following the road around to the right where you come to a brown 'Holiday Inn' sign pointing to the right. This road takes you back onto the A2 towards Canterbury where you exit at the Texaco garage.

From others' feedback it does seem that the quality of the experience is determined largely by how busy they are. There were 2 coaches in during our stay & also people using the conference facilities (available to hire) but at no time did the staff or facilities seem over stretched. There were one or two noisy guests in the corridor at 2:00 in the morning but that can happen anywhere. All in all I feel it was very good value for money & wouldn't hesitate to book there again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the left hand side of the hotel (as you face it) i.e. away form the car park at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh0reThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing