We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having past this place many times, it proximity to the very busy A2 and awkward access was not propitious. However, though the access is awkward and it is close to the A2 neither were a major issue. It was possibly fortunate that our room faced away from the road as there is no air-con so an open window was necessary for comfort. Noise intrusion from outside was non-existent though the same could not be said about the noise from the over exuberant children running along the corridor but this was short lived.

The hotel is in many ways a typical Holiday Inn Express. The public areas are bright, clean and friendly and the staff welcoming. The rooms are clean and just like any other Holiday Inn Express. The only negative is there is no lift so if stairs are a problem request a downstairs room. The building is two story so, for the able bodied, the most you may have to deal with is a single flight of stairs.

The morning buffet is slightly better than the usual Holiday Inn Express standard with the scrambled egg offering actually being very tasty.

Overall a nice place and a good halting site for those heading for a Dover ferry crossing, but not so good for those going the other way.

Room Tip: For those with a disability ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the room, public area, breakfast and the valued staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for one night whilst travelling - what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, clean etc.
However although the kitchen was closed a staff member organised a pizza to be cooked and served in the bar with no fuss making us feel welcome after a long drive. Service like this is great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed on a stop-over to the Andre Rieu Concert in Maastricht after a drive down from Manchester. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was superb. Breakfast was buffet style with scrambled egg & sausage, cereal, fruit and continental choices too.
Slight criticism was no lift and the rooms would be better if there was a safe for valuables, but other than that everything was excellent. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The rooms were clean and the shower was very good. The breakfast area was very busy and the layout of the buffet area meant it was very crowded when selecting food.
The staff were helpful and happy to book taxis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a nice ground floor room. Others in my group were upstairs and there was no elevator. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. It is not centrally located so if you don't have your own transportation (tour groups) you're done for the night when you get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awallacenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just 10 min from Canterbury a useful place to stay, rooms , lounge and breakfast area the usual Holiday Inn express standard, no lift so if you don't like stairs make sure you get a ground floor room. Recognised as a Priority Club member with a free drink although it was only half a pint. evey other Express I have stayed in its been a pint.

Room Tip: No lift so make sure you have a ground room if you have hevy bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royandwendy503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We use this hotel lobby quite frequently for meetings. The staff are never particularly friendly or helpful and getting a cup of coffee this morning was painful. Even though we are not staying I the hotel at the prices they charge coffee for meetings can rack up to quite a bit so can be a good source of income they should therefore treat all people the same.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allisoncsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Allisoncsuk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is very troubling to read you were not satisfied with the level of service you received during your time at the hotel. Please be assured that we take all review very seriously and will be used to focus on improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We would love to welcome you back with a more positive experience in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,985 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing