We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to stay if you want a quiet night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a place to stay if you want a quiet night's sleep”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the University of Kent, as we were attending the university's Open Day, and booked two rooms - one for ourselves and one for our son. The rooms were large, clean and had comfortable beds. Check-in/out was quick and there was plenty of parking. The hotel is adjacent to the busy A2 (although only accessible from the Canterbury bound direction) and there was a lot of road noise to be heard from our rooms, even with the windows shut. Little had been done to sound-proof the rooms and we could hear when our neighbours used their bathroom. Our son had a young family staying in the room next to his, who were up at 6am, and he could hear the family quite clearly. The bathroom just had showers, no baths, and in both rooms the showers did not work well. Over this last month of visiting universities we have stayed in two Premier Inns and one Holiday Inn. The Premier Inns (costing a similar price) were far better. I would not consider staying in a Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We are glad you liked the room amenities, its size, cleanliness and the check in/out process.
Please accept our apologies if any inconvenience caused during your stay. Just to clarify all Holiday Inn Express hotels got only the walking shower.
However, it is unfortunate to hear that you overall experience is not satisfactory. Therefore, please contact us directly on 01227865000 to discuss this further.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    301
    176
    51
    33
See reviews for
197
272
23
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, would not stay again.
The room was on the 2nd floor, directly above the very noisy generators outside. These ran 24hrs a day. The staff also emptied the glass bins and rubbish at 6am next to the generators.
Nosiest place I have ever stayed!
Breakfast was poor, burnt fried sausages, dry scrambled eggs and beans.
Evening food wasn't much better. £5.09 a pint too!
We ordered 3 steaks and each one came with different items missing. One had no peppercorn sauce, one no onion rings and one no tomatoes. The waitresses English was so poor it was quite hard to explain what was missing.
The "free wifi" was also useless and didn't load.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.
Please allow us to securely apologize for the challenges you had in our breakfast area, dinner and the noise outside the room.
Just to clarify few things, we do not have generators in the hotel. However, it is unfortunate to hear there was a sound outside the room and we applogise. If you have informed this issue to our dedicated reception team, we would have given you a room change to rectify the noisiness as you mentioned. Moreover, we have selection of draft beers to choose from and the price rage too different.
Nevertheless, Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the internet connection has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.
We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Upper Harbledown hotels

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having past this place many times, it proximity to the very busy A2 and awkward access was not propitious. However, though the access is awkward and it is close to the A2 neither were a major issue. It was possibly fortunate that our room faced away from the road as there is no air-con so an open window was necessary for comfort. Noise intrusion from outside was non-existent though the same could not be said about the noise from the over exuberant children running along the corridor but this was short lived.

The hotel is in many ways a typical Holiday Inn Express. The public areas are bright, clean and friendly and the staff welcoming. The rooms are clean and just like any other Holiday Inn Express. The only negative is there is no lift so if stairs are a problem request a downstairs room. The building is two story so, for the able bodied, the most you may have to deal with is a single flight of stairs.

The morning buffet is slightly better than the usual Holiday Inn Express standard with the scrambled egg offering actually being very tasty.

Overall a nice place and a good halting site for those heading for a Dover ferry crossing, but not so good for those going the other way.

Room Tip: For those with a disability ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the room, public area, breakfast and the valued staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for one night whilst travelling - what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, clean etc.
However although the kitchen was closed a staff member organised a pizza to be cooked and served in the bar with no fuss making us feel welcome after a long drive. Service like this is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed on a stop-over to the Andre Rieu Concert in Maastricht after a drive down from Manchester. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was superb. Breakfast was buffet style with scrambled egg & sausage, cereal, fruit and continental choices too.
Slight criticism was no lift and the rooms would be better if there was a safe for valuables, but other than that everything was excellent. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The rooms were clean and the shower was very good. The breakfast area was very busy and the layout of the buffet area meant it was very crowded when selecting food.
The staff were helpful and happy to book taxis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a nice ground floor room. Others in my group were upstairs and there was no elevator. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. It is not centrally located so if you don't have your own transportation (tour groups) you're done for the night when you get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awallacenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,877 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
2.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing