We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre cruise stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pre cruise stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had two rooms both with sofas and stayed overnight before going to Dover for a cruise the next morning. The room was clean and comfortable with good facilities. The free in room wi-fi was very good. The room was surprisingly quiet being so close to the main road one room 30 had more sun on it and needed the fan / or the curtains pulled. TV's had the std freeview channels no movie extras. Breakfast is pretty basic which was fine as we were to eat again on the cruise ship. This is probably not some where you'd stay more than the odd night as the food side is very basic but it's an express not a full on inn so if you want that look elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1374217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel.
Glad to hear you have enjoyed the cleanliness of the room, quietness, and facilities in the hotel and free WI FI.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.
Look forward to seeing you again here at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    294
    170
    51
    29
See reviews for
186
269
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed overnight before going to France on the ferry the next morning. The room was clean and comfortable with good facilities. The free in room wi-fi was very good and was quicker than expected for the hotel being busy. The room was surprisingly quiet for the hotel being next to the main road to Dover. There was an adequate buffet breakfast serving a selection of items for both a cooked and continental breakfast. It can get quite busy when getting your food as it is served in a small area. You need to take your trays/plates etc to a central station when finished. Easy and quick check in / out and ideally placed for onward travel to Dover.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the room facilities, quietness of the room, breakfast and the check in/out process.
We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Free internet with good reception in the room
No A/C, which in the summer may cause the room to be hot
Lighting in Lobby is from older LED lights. Although energy efficient (which I do support), it doesn't add to atmosphere. Newer LED lights with a warmer color will benefit the space.
Room is large enough
Staff friendly and very helpful
Decent breakfast
Difficult to find initially (only accessible via off-ramp of freeway)
No elevator, although for most people it won't be necessary (only two floors)
Free parking

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chv74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
It is a pleasure to hear you liked our valued staff, Breakfast, room size and the free parking.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Hope to see you soon here at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.


Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 28th July before an early morning ferry crossing. Lovely and clean, friendly staff and big portions in the restaurant. I agree with others that it's a bit tricky to get to (depending on which direction you're coming from) but I'd definitely stay again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Pleased to know you have liked the cleanliness of the hotel, dinner food and importantly our valued staff.
There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit.
Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrrived late with two kids after the kitchen had just closed. But the front staffand chef went out of their way to help us. the chef rustled up quick meal which was fab! My husband said it was one of the best pizzas and the curry I had was great too! It was hot so we left the windows opened at night. There was some road noise but it wasnt too bad and in fact my 6 month old slept through the night! The bed was comfy with nice firm pillows. the sofa bed was all made up for us. Parking was easy and breakfast was good too.
The place is a bit difficult to get to if coming from the south but the directions on the website was good so no problem finding it.
Overall great place at a great price with very helpful an friendly staff. Woul highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.
We are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the valued staff, tastiness of the food, comfortable beddings and overall stay.
We hope to have the honour of serving you again hear at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days on a bird watching trip to Kent. The hotel is not easy to get into, only being accessible from the A2 southbound and even then is not visible until you actually arrive at the exit. The greeting was very friendly and efficient. Our room was out the back of the hotel and very quiet.It was a standard HI express twin, clean and well equipped.

This hotel is a bit remote but, unusually for a HI Express, does offer a dinner service. We found the food surprisingly good and the service again friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the usual fare for this chain and the staff worked hard to keep things topped up despite the hotel being very busy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

You are initially put off by the burned out building you drive past on the way into the car park, not a great first impression!
Hotel was ok, room ok, food ok but service not great.
I was not given a receipt for my evening meal and when I asked if I could get a copy next day, or a hand written one so that I could claim my expenses I was told in no uncertain terms they couldn't do it.
When I got home I realised I had left my running shoes in my room so contacted the hotel straight away (Friday pm) only to be told I would have to wait until Monday to find out if they were there as there was no-one in Housekeeping until then

Room Tip: One that doesn't face onto the A2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mark P,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing