We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We went to Canterbury to see family and to have a quick look round, we stayed 2 nights in the Holiday Inn Express, we were looking for somewhere comfortable to stay close to our niece for visiting and close to other local attractions. We didn't want to spend a lot but of course we wanted a comfortable bed and good facilities. We were not disappointed, you could not say the hotel was within walking distance of anywhere but it was a good base. The room was clean, comfortable and modern, tea and coffee making facilities and no problem getting extra supplies. We had an evening meal which was surprisingly good for the money and the breakfast was equally nice, everything you needed really, not a huge hot selection (sausages, scrambled egg and beans) but all very tasty. The hotel was busy and not many staff but the staff that were there were friendly, helpful and efficient. All in all a good experience. Of course there are always a few negative points like the surrounding area, next to a petrol station and a burnt out little chef, also close to the A2, but these things did not hinder our stay. Free wifi too!

Room Tip: There is road sound from the A2 which our room was closer to so I am sure you could ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhuman700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such great things about our hotel and service.
We are truly happy to hear that you have enjoyed our clean, comfortable and modern room, Breakfast, Dinner, free WI FI and most importantly service provided by the valued staff.
Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!
We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Canterbury.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overnight stop on way to France. Originally booked into Ramada in Dover but room was flooded so they transferred us to here. Nice surprise as we discovered there was a restuarent and ee had a nice meal. The Taste of india meal is recommended. Also because we had to get up early for ferry they provided early breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as we are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding our hotel. Further, we are pleased to hear you liked the Holiday Inn Express Canterbury over Ramada Hotel Dover.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.
Look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were on a short touring holiday around Kent we hadn't booked in advance but managed to get two rooms for one night. The room and the hotel in general was very clean with all the required amenities including free Wi-Fi. We had a meal in the evening and we all chose The taste of India, which was one of the best curry meals I have tasted. The breakfast was very basic with limited choice but well cooked. The staff were very friendly and seem to be multi tasking between reception and the restaurant. I would not chose it for a holiday but ideal for the odd night stay.

Room Tip: Away from the road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richard344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are glad to see positive comments about amenities, free WI FI, cleanliness, food and our valued staff.
Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again here at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is right next to the A2 a really busy road. Even though this is mentioned on their website that is it near a busy road it was extremely noisy...all night long! So we did not get a good nights sleep it actually felt like there were no windows and you were sleeping outside this was room 112. Room clean. Breakfast could had been better not as nice as the Holiday Inn's, not enough seating area and cramped. Staff friendly. We only stayed for 1 night on our way to Dover, if you are staying here ask for a quiet room if there are any.

Room Tip: Left of the building for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaddyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.
We are so glad you liked the friendliness of the staff.
However, I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you had.
Please contact us directly when you are booking with us next time to offer something extra.
Hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is fine if you just want a place to stay overnight. Clean with friendly and efficient staff. Internet connection very good. BUT, there are so many Holiday Inn Expresses that provide a much better experience for the same price.

A few years ago this property would have rated from me a 5* rating, but its a sign of how IHG and their franchisees have improved what is on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sas600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are glad that you liked the cleanliness of the hotel, valued staff and free WI FI.
Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfil all our guest requests.
We have taken note of your valuable comments. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve. We hope and trust that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had two rooms both with sofas and stayed overnight before going to Dover for a cruise the next morning. The room was clean and comfortable with good facilities. The free in room wi-fi was very good. The room was surprisingly quiet being so close to the main road one room 30 had more sun on it and needed the fan / or the curtains pulled. TV's had the std freeview channels no movie extras. Breakfast is pretty basic which was fine as we were to eat again on the cruise ship. This is probably not some where you'd stay more than the odd night as the food side is very basic but it's an express not a full on inn so if you want that look elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark1374217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel.
Glad to hear you have enjoyed the cleanliness of the room, quietness, and facilities in the hotel and free WI FI.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.
Look forward to seeing you again here at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed overnight before going to France on the ferry the next morning. The room was clean and comfortable with good facilities. The free in room wi-fi was very good and was quicker than expected for the hotel being busy. The room was surprisingly quiet for the hotel being next to the main road to Dover. There was an adequate buffet breakfast serving a selection of items for both a cooked and continental breakfast. It can get quite busy when getting your food as it is served in a small area. You need to take your trays/plates etc to a central station when finished. Easy and quick check in / out and ideally placed for onward travel to Dover.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the room facilities, quietness of the room, breakfast and the check in/out process.
We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,017 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing