We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
179
317
187
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
317
187
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationdual carriagewaybeansbudget hotelthe sofa bedroad noisefree wifithe breakfast areachannel tunnelbreakfast was includedcoffee machineovernight stopquiet roomwould stay againfamily roomgood nights sleeppleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I had to travel to Canterbury at the last minute, after lots of research i could only find rooms at the Holiday inn express as it was a bank holiday weekend, all other hotels in the area were fully booked.
Hotel was easy to find, i wasn't expecting much from this hotel, but i was pleasantly surprised as the room was very comfortable, lots of space, staff were nice and had a room at the back at the hotel, so no noise at all, breakfast was simple but nice, everything you need.
Check in and check out were easy, center of the town was not to far away.
All in all, not bad for a stop over.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Kardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

The great thing about EBHI is you know what you will get - clean no nonsense rooms, a shower that works, adequate car parking and a basic but filling breakfast. The Canterbury one is no exception. A little outside the city, but at les than £100 for four of us over a weekend we were happy to accept this. Dover, Whitstable, Sissinghurst, Howletts zoo all within easy reach.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I wasnt expecting a great deal having seen previous reviews but for what we required for a 1 night stay, it was spot on. Yes, it is behind a petrol station, but you cant actually see it from the hotel - and convenient if you need petrol! Yes, it is on a busy main road, but that made it very easy to find and it is behind a large bank with all the rooms facing away from the road and we overlooked a forest, which was lovely and very quiet. It is about 3 miles from Canterbury which is fine if you have a car. We were visiting the university and very convenient for that - you still need a car though. Well lit carpark directly outside the entrance (very safe), which looked very smart. Most impressed when we got to the check in as we were welcomed by name - unusual for a large chain hotel. OK, I get the impression it caters mainly for business people in the week and perhaps we were the only family booked in, but even so, for a budget hotel, very impressive. The hotel looks very spick and span and very clean and our room, although not large (particularly as the sofa bed was already made up) was spotlessly clean and very together - everything in it's place and co-ordinated. Big plus point - directional bedside lamps! How many times do i go to a hotel with only 1, sometimes none, bedside lamp, and which cant be directed and blinds your partner! Breakfast was included and very nice. Serve yourself cold buffet, as much as you wanted - toast/muffins/danish, lots of fruit and yoghout, cheese, juice and hot drinks. OK, you wouldnt stay there for a holiday - bit soulless but would most certainly use again and highly recommended and extremely good value.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabsallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Needed a hotel at short notice which was close to Ramsgate for an early morning sailing to Belgium. The hotel is tucked away behind the Texaco Garage on A2 near Canterbury, it is quite difficult to find.

Arrived at the hotel about 10pm, the check in took about 5 minutes. The room itself was larger than average with usual features including Tea/Coffee facilities and TV with about 15 channels.

As we arrived at 10pm, we were too late for dinner served at the hotel but we were given take away menus from local restaurants.

The hotel is ideal for an overnight stay but would not stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I have stayed at this hotel for months from Oct 2007 until the present day. Why because I collect Priority Club points and it was convenient. Staff really nice. Maintenance of hotel a disaster. For a year I fill in the questionnaire reminding them but obviously nobody reads them as the stair treads are still broken after a year. Platinum level club members used to get a free drink - yes we still do but now it is water ! Tray mats at breakfast have been dispensed with and the orange juice is watered down. Over the last two weeks. I reported the pop up plug did not work. Next day it still was broken and now jammed. Took parts to reception and suggested they fixed it. Same thing happened following week. Asked TV to be tuned to channel 5. Came back and TV control now missing and TV not tuned. Next day still not done. Came back following week and now it was tuned but to channel 2. For the maintenance mans benefit counting goes 1,2,3 4 and then 5 ! Every single week of every stay they have awarded my points wrong. Every week I phone and complain to Priority Club and they blame the hotel. The best was breakfast this week when the dining room was in darkness. When I reported it I was told we use natural light. At 7.00am there wasn't any. Fawlty Towers lives again but this time for real. Wake up management the hotel is going down the drain. Next week is my last I can take it no more.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews