We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to sleep do not stay at this hotel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“If you want to sleep do not stay at this hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

This hotel should not have been built. A large number of the rooms are literally just feet away from the dual cariageway A2 and the noise never relents.

I booked two rooms for two nights 4 months before our visit (on the Holiday Inn Express web site) and requested that we be allocated rooms at the rear of the hotel away from the road. Guess what - our rooms were the last but one from the road! The check-in staff were totally useless and disinterested in sorting this out as they did not want to upset the 50+ coach party also booked in to the hotel.

The room itself was very badly designed. There was a purpose built shelf for the tea and coffee maker - but no power point! There was a full length mirror with a built in hair dryer but no power socket for your own drier or hair straighteners. One power point would have resolved both these fundamental design flaws. My daughter called for an extension cable to be told they had all been let out - now there's a surprise!!

The air vents/extractor fan in the bathroom was not working - a call to reception at 3.45pm elicited the response - "maintenance have gone home"! Shoudl have gone home myself at that point!

The TVs are analogue with a bare minumum of channels. The breakfast is a joke. The food is fine but the layout is truly appalling and not surprisingly there are a large number of dropped trays and mugs - a child could tell you what is wrong with the flow. Although there is a sign saying "please put your trays here", the 50+ coach party did not speak English and the queues also obliterated the sign. I watched at least two members of staff come out of the kitchen and then amble back passing all these trays and did nothing about it - customers had to squat in reception to eat or else sit next to somebody else's trash.

Do youself a favour - book into a Premier Inn (5 foot beds, digital TV, staff who care and take notice of request) and go to Macdonalds or a supermarket for breakfast! If you can't find a Premier Inn - go anywhere else!!

I have travelled extensilvely for over 40 years and never come across such a truly awful set up - the management should be ashamed and the Canterbuty planners should be hung drawn and quatered in Cantebury Tales fashion for allowing human beings to have to try and sleep so close to one of the country's main trunk roads.

You have been warned!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
I have noted the comments and can assure that I will take necessary actions to improve all the areas mentioned by the reviewer .Feeback like this really help us to know here we are lacking and would gave us the opportunity to put right measures inorder to improve.

We only have 3 rooms out of 89 rooms which are affected by A2 traffic and the management is working on this by putting triple galzing windows to this.

The exhaust fan is on a timer syetme which come automatically on at 5:00 pm.However I will make sure all the staff are aware of this.All our room have two electrical socket points .

Our complimentary Hot Breakfast is so famous and we cater for 200 guests every day, however as the reviewer mentioned we will make sure the table are cleaned and wiped .

More seating areas are provided in our two meeting rooms when the breakfast room is full.

I will take all necessary action to improve the areas where the reviwer has mentioned .

Regards

Anoob Saban

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    292
    166
    50
    29
See reviews for
185
267
23
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

As usual the Holiday Inn express lived up to its promise of a pleasant comfortable room and stay. We were touring Kent as part of a cultural catch up and found the hotel was close enough to all parts of the eastern side of Kent. The building itself is modern and pleasantly presented and the breakfast was very good and included hot breakfast of scrambled eggs and sausages as well as the continental range. Our room rate was very competative and achieved on the internet. The staff were exceedingly helpful especially as we needed to pass a document by e mail urgently.
Well done holiday Inn Canterbury and thank you for looking after us.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnLCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 June 2010
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your feedback is very improtant to us so that we can improve our standards.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us .

I assure you that we will maintain and improve our standards and look forward to welcoming you in the near future

Kind Regards

Anoob Saban

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews we read on this site. It wasn't easy to get to because access was only from the major highway going in the opposite direction. The hotel is trying to get this changed. The desk clerk was not extremely friendly, but not unpleasant, either.

Our room was bigger than we expected. There were extra pillows on the bed, as well. Everything was clean and fresh.

We ate dinner in the dining room. At first it seemed disorganized, but once we figured out how to order it was fine. Dinner was good. Breakfast the next morning included some hot items.

We would recommend this hotel. It was comfortable and affordable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DadRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

This is a very affordable hotel if you are either visiting Canterbury or crossing the Channel and need a stop over. The hotel offers exactly the same as all other Holiday Inn Express Hotels do however it is located next to the A2 to Dover. The hotel has an agreement with a local taxis company which is almost half price to get in and out of Canterbury.
The room was clean, very good breakfast included in the rate and helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

After reading some of the comments we were a bit concerned.
However, I emailed for a quiet room and within minutes got a reply that we will have a Family room at the back. As the hotel is close to A2 there are noise at the front rooms.
The reoom was well cleaned and all amenities were adequate.
The Sofa bed for a 16 year old was also comfortable.
The Double bed was Acceptable and we had choice of Soft and firm pillows.
We stayed 2 nights and the breakfast was good as they now have a limited choice of hot breakfast and not like previuos cold continental breakfast.
The staff we met were polite and helpful.
In addition the internet in the lobby was free to use.
ADEQUATE free parking and fairly close to Canterbury.
Overall pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjulifrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

I have recently become a Holiday Inn Express convert after paying £80 upwards for hotels that offer average rooms and rubbish food. The hotel can only be accessed from the A2 travelling towards Canterbury (westbound) so you need to be on the lookout, it is in a small services that has a diner and petrol station. We arrived very late and were greeted by friendly staff who checked us in quickly, we were quite near the road and I was a little concerned about this. We were given a disbled access room as I didn't fancy climbing into a bath with a broken foot. The bathroom was large, the shower tray was a small lip with a curtain round. There was plenty of hot water and the toiletries were those squeezy type on the wall. The bed was comfy but seemed a litlle small, choice of pillows and tea and coffee facilities. There isn't a great deal of hanging space but I imagine most people are only there a few days. We did not have a problem with the tv reception and unlike other budget hotels there is a hairdryer in the room. It is also possible to borrow an iron from reception and there is the bonus of free wi-fi in reception and bedrooms. The only probelm we experienced was the window, it did not close properly which meant a very cold draught and some road noise. Saying that the traffic did not disturb our sleep and we secured the curtain to stop the cold getting in. There is a small bar area with a tv and limited menu, I am not sure what else there is nearby as you are on the A2 but there must be some good pubs in the surrounding villages.
I love HI Express breakfasts they are included in the room rate, as much as you can eat warm croissants and pastries, cereals, fruit, cheese and good hot drinks and juice.
We got an exceptional deal, £44 for 2 nights b & b for 2 of us so we didn't expect much but we would definitely stay again. I think they are currently offering 3 nights for the price of 2.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed one night as its location is excellent for our ferry crossing from Dover. We asked for a room at the back by telephone but we didnt get one. Consequently we had a sleepless night. Traffic noise is horrendous.

Our room and bathroom were extremely clean. Bed not too comfortable. We have stayed in Holiday Inn Express Hotels before in other places and they are very good for one or two nights stay. Breakfast is a continental breakfast and cannot be faulted.

One member of staff on reception at breakfast time was very friendly and efficient. The other one who greeted us on arrival was a little disorganised.

Even though convenient we would not stay here again because of the traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing