We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect for Canterbury and Ferry”
Review of Oakside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect for Canterbury and Ferry”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were traveling to France and stopping off at Canterbury on the way. Previously we stayed in the centre of Canterbury but found this significantly better value and just as convenient.
The B&B is excellent. The top room was perfect for us - a family of 4 inc 2 young boys.
The breakfast was top notch.
No issues at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart A, Owner at Oakside Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Oakside Lodge and hope you had a lovely time in France. Please come and stay again on your next trip to the continent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
68
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 daughters aged 7 and a half in one large comfortable room. It was clean and airy, the beds were comfortable, the surrounding was safe for the kids to run around and our lovely host answered all the kids questions with great patience and even let them help to feed the little pigs! We had a lovely time. Breakfast was nice as well. We would be happy to stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odeyaNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart A, Owner at Oakside Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the girls did too. I do hope you can stay again if in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband was booked on a photographers course at Howletts near Canterbury and needed to be there pretty early. I searched the net for somewhere to stay the night before and the reviews for Oakside Lodge were all pretty good - if only half were right we were onto a winner.
We were not let down. The rooms are extremely clean and well appointed. We had a double with ensuite - which included a bath and a great powerful shower.
As this seems to be a purpose built lodge next to the owners home everything is as it should be - there is somewhere to sit both inside - and outside in the grounds - plus a great breakfast room and plenty of parking.
Stuart went out of his way to make our stay comfortable - even printing out directions to the local pub - The Coach and Horses - which is worth a visit as we are still talking about the standard of food there!
If you want a clean comfortable stay with that little bit extra this is the place - and so near to Canterbury and so many attractions I don't think it will be long before it will be impossible to get a booking.
We would definitely return if we needed to be in the area (or even before travelling to France!)
Highly recommended

Room Tip: We were in a double on the ground floor - no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDuchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart A, Owner at Oakside Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I hope all went well at Howletts and do hope you can return whether exploring the area or before travelling to the continent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for a night following a friends wedding. Having spent many hours searching the internet for some accommodation which looked like it was worth the money we opted for Oakside Lodge and we weren't disappointed.
We arrived early as we needed to get ready for the wedding, our room wasn't ready but we were allowed to use it to change and then leave our bags there as we were going to be late back. Everything about the stay was great, the bed was comfy, the room was spotless, the shower was powerful, the breakfast was great (sourced from Stuarts own pigs) and Stuart had even layed on the sunshine for us! The views from the breakfast area are very picturesque and whilst you are there you feel as though you are in a bubble of calm. There is a bit of noise from the main road (which you can't see) but to be honest you forget about that due to the surroudings and the relaxed feeling of the place. Stuart and his partner (I believe) were very attentive at breakast and nothing was too much trouble. He really showed his passion for the business and his main aim of ensuring that you have a great stay.
We highly recommend this place whether it's for a night or for something a bit longer and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanorexic08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart A, Owner at Oakside Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Oakside Lodge and do hope you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Lovely location in wonderful surroundings. Great breakfast, great owners and very good service. Staff wonderful and attentive. Rooms ultra clean very modern with lovely views and would certainly book again. Breakfast superb. Stayed as a family and would say great value for money. Only reservations were overall finish could have been better but think this was only due to wanting to open for season and if all completed/repaired for next season this is a top place to stay for families and couples alike . Kids will love the freedom and animals .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lockwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart A, Owner at Oakside Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
I am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay at Oakside Lodge. I do hope you can come and return maybe next season and enjoy all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just got back from a stay at the Oakside Lodge and can honestly say everything was wonderful. Stuart goes out of his way to make sure your experience is a good one, I am sure if you'd have wanted something for breakfast that he had not got,he would have got it for you from somewhere if possible x A wonderful man who takes his guests opinions very seriously. We stayed in room 3,had another couple in room 2 next door, they sat up drinking and chatting and we stayed up watching telly and over breakfast we discussed whether we had heard each other due to 'mike w' comment. We had not heard a sound from each other and all had a wonderful nights sleep. Lovely place,lovely people x highly recommend x will be back x Debi x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart A, Owner at Oakside Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I really appreciate it and do hope you can return again and see the future developments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

i just want to say a massive thank you to the staff who bent over backwards to help.
we stayed for 2 nights over Easter with the two boys we had a family room which was ideal as boys were 9 and 12 (oldest boy autistic) Stewart had only recently taken over the lodge and he was so friendly and took time to be extreamly helpful with the boys by getting them involved in feeding the pigs which the boys loved..... we went for walks in the woods and even thought he was fully booked we rarely saw anyone which was good as we didn't feel we were disturbing other paying guests..... the room was v clean solid walls and doors .we were givin option for extra key if boys wanted to go back to teh room, bathroom had everythingclean towls and as a surgeston on the family room a mimi frige might be helpfull .... think Stewart was having a few problems with the wifi but don't think it could be helped, we surgest to pay cash to ease the problem we had our evening meal in a local pub which Stewart had suggested and again v nice and helpful as sometimes eating out with kids can be tricky i would defo recommend this and we would love to visit again thank you and i hope you thrive as its well desirved

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrineandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart A, Owner at Oakside Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad the boys had a nice time too. BT has sorted out wifi now and hope you will come and stay again at Oakside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakside Lodge

Property: Oakside Lodge
Address: Oakside Lodge London Road, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation, in rural Canterbury less than 3 miles from the historic city centre. With Great connections to local transport, and the HS1 to London Central less than an hour away via Canterbury West Station. (Plenty of off road parking available.) Whether you are exploring Canterbury or the surrounding towns of Faversham, Folkestone, Dover and Sandwich, or visiting the Isle of Thanet on business or pleasure, our luxury accommodation offers comfort and value at affordable prices enabling you to relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. Oakside Lodge prides itself on providing, Luxury Accommodation including; Wifi Broadband, Coffee & Tea Facilities in all rooms, 
hair-drier, all en-suite bathrooms, king-sized beds, flat screen television, and the best thing is the full English Breakfast (with our free-range bacon and sausages from our own woodland piggery). It’s the best way to start your day of adventures in Historic Kent. Enjoy woodland walks, we have extensive oak woodlands stretching to the ancient Blean Forest (The Oldest Existing natural forest in England). Bird Watching, hear the sound of the nightingale in its natural rural surroundings. Oakside Lodge provides a great place to escape the rigors of modern day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oakside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakside Lodge Canterbury/Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing