We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for one night, very pleasant surroundings with everything you would want from a B&B. In addition we were able to check in when we arrived early. Nice room, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Many thanks, Stuart.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgf98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Oakisde Lodge for 1 night. The owner greeted us with a warm welcome and throughout our stay no problem was to much for him. Modern with a rustic twist, the rooms were big and very clean. The bathroom was spotless and had a very deep bath which you could adjust the temperature of the water. The grounds were great and the pigs were a nice addition to the experience. Breakfast was great, especially the bacon and sausages! Very good variety to choose from if you didnt want the cooked breakfast. The only down side was its located near a motorway which causes a little bit of noise but nothing to lose any sleep over. Overall was a excellent place and the host was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Orton nr Birmingham, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Came down to Canterbury for my eldest daughter's graduation in mid July. My youngest daughter and I stayed 3 nights at Oakside Lodge and we were well looked after by Stuart. It is in a tranquil setting, surrounded by green and home to a few pigs and swans. Our room was cosy, fantastic large shower, and plenty of choice at breakfast. Like Vicki, I was surprised when on arrival I was asked to pay immediately which I think puts you on the 'back foot' slightly but then again I think more and more hotels and B&Bs are doing this nowadays - however, I don't think it creates the first best impression! Having said that we enjoyed our time at Oakside and I would definitely go again.

Deanne

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for one night en route from Wirral to Dordogne. Room very clean and comfortable with all necessaries, well looked after by the owner Stuart and we both thoroughly enjoyed a hearty breakfast.
Will definitely stay here again when next crossing the Chanel.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HoylakeDandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Myself and my family have stayed at Oakside Lodge a couple of times. The owner is very welcoming and we had a fantastic breakfast. It was also nice to walk around the grounds. Though things such as the door fitting and the shower spraying everywhere wasn't ideal. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 212Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to our sons graduation in Canterbury. The location is pretty good although there is a lot of road noise. The place looks fairly new, very clean and attractive and the owner is very personable. However, we were a little surprised to be asked to pay on arrival before we had even seen the room or mentioned our desire for an early breakfast and departure!! About 9.30 in the evening I attempted to have a shower but this was impossible as the water was extremely hot! My husband and I both tried to sort out the controls but with no luck, we then tried to call the owner but could not contact him, so I ended up having to wash my hair in the small bathroom sink which wasn't what I wanted to be doing. Then the owner and his wife both arrived to look at the shower while I sat wrapped in a towel with soaking wet hair!!! Not my idea of fun!! They were unable to sort out the problem so with a shrug of the shoulders and an apology they left us to it. No mention of a reduction for lack of facilities, but, then again perhaps that's why we had to pay in advance?? I think the place is very nice and the owners are doing their best, maybe this is a teething problem and things will improve given time, unfortunately we would not choose to stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We've just spent 5 nights here and loved it. Our room was large and airy, fantastic en-suite and everything clean as a whistle and fresh towels every day, which doesn't happen in many B&Bs when staying more than one night.

The communal areas are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are brilliant.

Stuart is the perfect host, there when you need him but not in your face.

Best of all is the lovely location and the saddleback piggies roaming the woods!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
2.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
2.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
2.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakside Lodge

Property: Oakside Lodge
Address: Oakside Lodge London Road, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation, in rural Canterbury less than 3 miles from the historic city centre. With Great connections to local transport, and the HS1 to London Central less than an hour away via Canterbury West Station. (Plenty of off road parking available.) Whether you are exploring Canterbury or the surrounding towns of Faversham, Folkestone, Dover and Sandwich, or visiting the Isle of Thanet on business or pleasure, our luxury accommodation offers comfort and value at affordable prices enabling you to relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. Oakside Lodge prides itself on providing, Luxury Accommodation including; Wifi Broadband, Coffee & Tea Facilities in all rooms, 
hair-drier, all en-suite bathrooms, king-sized beds, flat screen television, and the best thing is the full English Breakfast (with our free-range bacon and sausages from our own woodland piggery). It’s the best way to start your day of adventures in Historic Kent. Enjoy woodland walks, we have extensive oak woodlands stretching to the ancient Blean Forest (The Oldest Existing natural forest in England). Bird Watching, hear the sound of the nightingale in its natural rural surroundings. Oakside Lodge provides a great place to escape the rigors of modern day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oakside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakside Lodge Canterbury/Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing