We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect in every way”
Review of Fairydean Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eddleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairydean Mill
Ranked #1 of 2 Eddleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just perfect in every way”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We highly recommend this B&B together with the perfect hosts Mandi and David, not forgetting Pippin the Dalmation and Robert the Goose. Tea/coffee and very tasty cupcakes make for a great welcome. The rooms (especially the room downstairs) are well appointed and the showers wonderful. Freshly homemade bread, served with the well cooked, good quality breakfasts each day - absolutely perfect. We come here twice a year (our next trip is in October) and really look forward to our stay. If you are going to arrive in the dark, make sure you have clear directions as Fairydean is tucked away in a secluded, very quiet spot.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is very spacious with a superb shower room. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabaLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On arrival at the guest house we were greeted by David and Mandi who laid on tea and home made cakes. Our double ensuite room was very clean and modern. The bed was the most comfortable hotel/guest house bed I have ever slept in. The breakfasts were of a high standard as would be expected from two professional bakers. The B & B is located behind the Barony hotel (ex Black barony) near Peebles and is a little difficult to find but the effort in doing so is well rewarded.
The accommodation is part of an old mill premises which has been converted to a very high standard. It is surrounded by a wooded area and is ideally located for walking and nature watching, whilst being a short drive into Peebles. Mandi and David run a cake making/decorating business from an adjacent premises. their produce is quite outstanding.
All in all a first class stay. We are already booked in for later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Fairydean is one of the loveliest places we've stayed. It's a stunning house in a beautiful relaxing spot - it really is a perfect little b&b. The hosts are so lovely & friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are happy. The tea & cakes on arrival are delicious!! There are lovely walks through woodlands on your doorstep & Peebles is a sweet little town nearby. The rooms have everything you would need and are very high quality. The bed was really comfy too! Breakfast was delicious. It was my birthday whilst we were there and I was presented with an amazing selection of fairy cakes (with candles!) and Mandi & David even sang happy birthday. They made it really special. We can't recommend Fairydean highly enough. Thank you very much Mandi, David, Pippin and Robert the goose. We had a really lovely holiday! :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyhaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
754 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am a fan of old milss and my wife teaches cake decorating so this was jusrt meant to be!!!
A fantastic building with beautiful interiors in a great setting. Mandi and David are great hosts - a warm welcome and good chat and excellent advance information from Mandi. Breakfast was terrific I just can't think of anything that could be improved!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fairydean b&b is a great b&b with very modern, spacious and comfortable rooms in a lovely rural setting. To be greeted with tea/coffee and yummy cupcakes on arrival was superb and breakfast was tasty with nice homemade bread and good quality ingredients cooked well. Tablet in room was another nice touch. Highly recommended and will hopefully return for another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMACHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a lovely 3 days at the B&B. David and Mandi were welcoming hosts- greeted with tea and cupcakes on arrival(yummy) and had different home made bread every morning for breakfast. The accommodatin was very clean with some lovely touches. Very handy for the superb Horshoes Inn restaurant nd own the road, which Mandi booked for us. An added bonus was seeing the badgers from the house in the evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandi52, Owner at Fairydean Mill, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
How lovely to read your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Fairydean and hope you will come back to visit us again at another time of year; anyone who appreciates home baked bread will always be very welcome to make a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is a little bit of a hidden gem, located as it is behind the Barony Castle Hotel. Not far off the Edinburgh to Peebles road Fairydean Mill is in an ideal spot.
The rooms are a good size and comfortable and the property is very modern.
With delicious cupcakes on arrival the welcome is friendly without being over-bearing. A good selection of books is also available for guests as is an excellent collection of local attractions information.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,914 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,332 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Horseshoe Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairydean Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairydean Mill

Property: Fairydean Mill
Address: Fairydean Mill Black Barony, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairydean Mill is a hidden gem, nestling on the edge of the Meldons. The listed part of the property was once a Mill with waterwheel on Black Barony Estate. This has now been sympathetically extended to incorporate three beautifully appointed B&B rooms. The atmosphere is relaxed and luxurious. You may wake to the sounds of woodland birdsong and fall asleep to the music of Fairydean Burn, which runs through the garden, beneath venerable yews.Extensive cooked breakfasts each morning include freshly prepared fruit salads and freshly baked bread made at Fairydean Mill, together with a choice of cooked breakfasts, including vegetarian and healthy options.Beds have Hypnos mattresses and soft Egyptian Cotton sheets so you can be guaranteed a good night sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairydean Mill Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing