We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always my first consideration after a long journey!”

Mercure Eddleston Barony Castle Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Eddleston
Attraction details
Saundersfoot
Level Contributor
338 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Always my first consideration after a long journey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The sauna was excellent with the capability to "add to the coals" which a lot have done away with....and the pool and whirlpool were very adequate for the needs!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    15
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Steve D - Overall excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from an overnight stay in the Barony Castle in Eddleston. The fact that we were upgraded at check in did get our stay off to a great start. The bottle of wine ( part of our package ) was waiting for us in the room and the quality of food served at dinner and breakfast was excellent. Add to this the tranquil location and it really was an enjoyable stay. The only mystery for us was why it only warrens a three star rating. I would also like to add that the staff were attentive and keen to help at every opportunity. We will return when the next opportunity arises. Thank you to all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed one night here, treat for partner and I that I purchased with Itison deal. 1st no wine in room as deal stated, then no welcome pack at check in (gives you info for pool access etc) Worse of all radiator in room noise all night got about 3 hours sleep, that was probably why the radiator was off when we went in room and room was cold! Anyway complained at check out was told someone be in touch, sent email to manager and now 2 weeks on have never had a response from anyone but now going to head office. On a positive note restaurant staff lovely and food good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Far from superior room !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My wife & I had booked a superior room only to find out that the only difference was a robe, slippers & a coffee machine constitutes superior ! Pokey little bedroom & a bathroom in which you can touch all four walls without moving - Premier Inn rooms more spacious & better.

Great locality, dog eared carpets, damp patches that have been inadequately painted over...... In short a rip off - £60 rooms being charged @ £100 tariffs.

Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Tranquil setting, perfect to relax. Great value for what we paid, would stay again. Would reccomend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyFifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercure Eddleston Barony Castle Spa also viewed

 
Eddleston, Borders

Been to Mercure Eddleston Barony Castle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing