We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back , nice place , nice food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomson's At The Castle

Thomson's At The Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Eddleston
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our award winning chef, William Thomson is passionate about reducing food miles and strives to use locally sourced produce wherever possible. From a young age, Will showed a particular interest and capability within the family kitchen, resulting in a relative introducing him to his first professional position, apprenticed to Chef Bland at Edinburgh's prestigious Caledonian Hotel. During his time there, he was encouraged to enter, and indeed won a few competitions. Furthering his career, he then sailed the seas for six years aboard the QE2, gaining experience from world renowned guest chefs. On his return to Scotland, Will joined Rufflets Hotel in St Andrews, where his hard work and dedication was rewarded with a second rosette. Moving home to Edinburgh, he took up his first Executive Chef role looking after a large group of hotels and foodie pubs and again achieved a rosette for their flagship restaurant. Looking for his next challenge, Will joined BSKYB Scotland and Newcastle as Executive Chef with overall responsibility from staff meals to corporate and entertaining dining. Having worked with Will in the past, we were extremely happy that we were able to persuade him to head up the team here at Barony Castle. From Will "I am proud to be a member of the Federation of Chefs of Scotland and am currently working towards Barony Castle's first rosette. Having achieved "The Healthy Living Award" for our Good Life Menu, my main goal is to get the Hotel on the map in Scotland for fantastic food and service. I have a great team of chefs here at the Castle sharing the same ethos."
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Laid back , nice place , nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Drove down from south Edinburgh in about 20 mins , had to do a double-take when driving through the grounds , yes it was a field of llama . The dining areas were spacious.
Food was good , portion size about right . Ambience was laid back but not to the detriment of service. Price was what you would expect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Couscous-sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuross Head, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Lovely place to stay, staff are so friendly and helpful, will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, cant recommend it enough. Fresh, vibrant and always willing to help.. been to other hotels and none are as happy to help with issues or concerns as the barony...A young team but very mature. Credit where credits due.. No place is perfect and i most certainly will go back :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Visited Barony castle as part of a 2 night DBB package. We had a £23 per person allowance towards our evening meal on both nights so we took complete advantage of this, leaving not a penny to spare!

Booking - Make sure you book at time for your meal as it is very busy when the hotel is full.

Starters - Soup was very good. Haggis balls and mashed tatties comprised of 5 rather small deep fried balls of haggis. Although tasty enough, portion was way too small and probably cost less than £1,as opposed to the £7.95 they charged. Get the soup if you want a starter.

Mains - Salmon was delicious. A very generous portion with salad and potatoes. The Chicken Bang Bang was good too. A tangy chilli flavour and good portion. Fish and chips was fresh and the fish was huge. Only down side of this was that it was served in a horrible wicker basket. We noticed this on the first night so when we ordered it on the second night we asked for it on a plate. Saw a couple of other people asking for it to be put on a plate after struggling to get into it. Think the scampi and burger came in the baskets too, which to us, likens the food to pub grub. But we made sure we got our money worth and also ordered onion rings and garlic mash. Generous portions again.

Dessert - Only had 1 dessert over the 2 nights. Asked for raspberry and white chocolate cheesecake but got strawberry cheesecake. Would normally complain if I got the wrong thing but it was good so just ate it.

All in all, a nice meal which we enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingsusie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cheap onion rings!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Would have been a great steak meal however the steak was overcooked, medium was more like well done. Presentation was good with the exception of frozen onion rings on a £28 meal without drinks. Staff were friendly but didn't really know the menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJPEAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant review only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Have already written 2 excellent reviews for this hotel but felt I needed to comment on our most recent visit as it was very disappointing compared to our previous visits. Booked for dinner in Blue Dug to celebrate our anniversary, on arrival they knew nothing of our reservation. Last time we came to Barony Castle there was a similar problem but we gave them the benefit of the doubt. Managed to seat us, one of us had sirloin steak which was £25 and quite grisly, portion size was a let down for the price. Dessert was nothing special, one of us had the smallest creme brûlée ever at £5.25. Hoped for better value for money than this. Service just ok. Won't hurry back :(

Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaMcC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomson's At The Castle also viewed

 
Peebles, Borders
Eddleston, Borders
 

Been to Thomson's At The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing