We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful building and very attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful building and very attentive staff”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have just returned from on overnight deal of DBB. From the minute we arrived through the door of the hotel the staff were friendly, attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated, warm with all the facilities you would want; one kingsized bed, one single bed, good sized TV, tea and coffee making facilites, iron, hairdrier, extra pillows and extra duvet. The bed and bedding were comfortable, and in excellent condition. The restuarant is again very well decorated, with lovely food and excellent wine and staff. We had our small dog with us who had an excellent time. The staff all spoke to her and although dogs are not allowed in the bar, there is a conservancy off the bar that dogs are allowed in, but we sat in the wonderful games room, with lovely relaxing leather chairs, and a pool table and a selection of board games, we read while the dog lay on the floor with her bone. The food was good quality, with a very well stocked buffet breakfast with everything you would have on a cooked breakfast, plus fruits, yogharts, pastries and fruit. There is a small pool, a gym and spa treatment rooms which looked good, but we didn't venture in as we got our exercise walking in the grounds watching out dog chase squirrels. There are papers to read and free WIFI which all add to a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and were very pleased with our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keskarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    509
    289
    142
    98
See reviews for
269
832
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel just after New Year. We arrived on 2nd January for two nights, a party of four. Check in took a little longer than I would have liked, but it appears that there might have been some sort of mix-up with the booking agent, the male member of staff was apologetic and polite so we didn't mind waiting a few minutes. We were lucky enough to secure one of the "privilege rooms" which was fabulous, much bigger and comfier than the standard rooms. It also had a mini-fridge and coffee machine which we made regular use of. As we stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal, we had dinner both nights in the hotel. The choice was good and the serving staff were very helpful and welcoming. The food was amazing and I would highly recommend this option. The bar staff were both helpful, polite and friendly. There are walks in and around the hotel and we took part in one of them, although due to the January weather we were not outside for long!!! The Polish map of Scotland is impressive. The pool area is a wonderful way to spend a few hours.The only criticism of this hotel is that the hotel was over chlorinated and they were not serving cocktails in the afternoon when we wanted them. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and will return :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillianb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear gillianb14,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Barony Castle.

We are in the process of launching our new cocktail menu but we want to ensure all of our staff are fully trained before we start.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I came with my daughter and little dog a couple of days before Christmas on an offer that included bed, breakfast and evening meal. It's very close to Peebles and a lovely drive up to the hotel past Llamas! We were made to feel most welcome at the reception desk and the chap was very helpful, even later coming to our room to help us figure out the tv remote! Our dog was also welcomed and that was nice. She's very well behaved and used to staying in hotels so she had a great time. The grounds were great for taking walks even in the rain. Our room was very nice and had a double and 2 singles in it. I appreciated the extra space. The pool and sauna facilities were great and extra towels are available for taking a dip. The 3 course meal on offer in the restaurant was superb, as was the service. It had something for everyone, from meats, to fish and vegetable dishes for vegetarians. The choice of wines available were also good. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed a peaceful night. The shower had plenty of hot water and toiletries were provided. Breakfast was also nice. The lady forgot to bring our tea and we saw her give it to another table by mistake but we got it eventually. I asked about vegetarian sausages and a young chap said they would have to be cooked from scratch and would take too long so I had eggs instead which were very nice. All in all I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysunshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear happysunshinegirl,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked for the overnigt stay at Barony Castle, nice grounds and welcoming staff on arrival. The stay was fine, both food and accomdation was to be expected from a 3 star hotel, aside from the beds and pillows which i have noticed that previous reviewers have complained about, they are as already stated...terrible.
On the moring of departure, an item of clothing was damaged when taking my young child to the tiolet. There had been some sort of cleaning fluid left on the floor that had 'bleached'. The management of the hotel did not take responsibility for the damage, even though there was no signage that cleaning had been taking place. This was a shame and an oppurtunity missed by the hotel to secure further repeat business, it was also an indicationor poor customer service.
Consequentkly, I can only reccomend the hotel for those whose budget prevents them from finding anything superior.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asarge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Please note - this guest knelt down on our wet public toilet floor under the urinal to assist his child and that is why his trousers were damaged.

Our floors are cleaned every two hours to ensure we maintain a high standard and at the time there was a "cleaning in progress" sign in the toilet.

After demanding we pay £50 to replace his trousers, he said to me that if we don't then he will give us a bad review on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eddleston hotels

livingston
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this very charming Hotel with my partner, where we enjoyed very good food , comfort,and swam at the crack of dawn in the hotel pool.The amenities of this hotel are generous and would get very close to 4**** staff, could not be faulted especially the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant friendly, smiley and attentive.Previous reviews claiming faults in cleanliness and slow service Pah ! did not exist. . Room at rear on the first floor we were given over looked a lawned garden and was very quiet and we both enjoyed 3 good nights sleep.
Breakfast was all anyone could wish for & the evening menu int he restaurant were varied and cooked with care and expertise my compliments to the Chef.I would return at a drop of a hat for a relaxing indulgent yet also active break in the summer months.

Room Tip: 1st floor at rear appear to be the nicest and largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear vinkat1,

Thank you very much for posting such a great review of Barony Castle. I know the team will be delighted to hear your comments when I share this with them.

We do have some great offers coming out over the next few months so keep an eye on the hotels website.

Best Wishes,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spent a lovely weekend at Barony Castle and couldn't fault the staff or the hotel! All of the staff were extremely friendly, from the reception desk who did everything to help throughout our stay including extending our stay to running down to the pool with towels that we had forgotten, to the cleaners and bar staff who were friendly and helpful. The leisure facilities were very well kept, the only downside is something that can't be helped, the jacuzzi is attached to the pool and therefore not warm at all. The games room and lounge areas were very well kept, and a nice bonus to enjoy the hotel itself.
The only downside to the hotel was the bar prices, the hotel is a taxi drive away from everything else and paying £10 for two drinks seems excessive.

A lovely stay and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear graykel,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent trip to Barony Castle. I will pass your kind comments on to the team who I know will be delighted to hear them.

We do try to keep our bar prices as competitive as possible and I personally believe they are very reasonable for a 3 star hotel in this area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,956 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
425 reviews
8.9 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
284 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Property: Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing